We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay During Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Ranked #11 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay During Christmas”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We booked 2 rooms and spent 3 nights at this hotel as a base to visit cities in Belgium, Brussel and Brugge. Was initially confused by the GPS' instruction to keep left and turn right to get to the hotel though we already saw the building and had to make another round to get to the hotel from the highway. The road leading to the hotel during the early evening was jamed with cars as the hotel is located right across the train station. It took a while to get through the traffic before we could reach the entrance of the hotel to unload our luggage. Got to be patient as we saw a traffic police pulled up next to a car to book a driver who just arrived in front of the hotel.

Parking in the huge carpark is aorund 20 euro per night. Parking off street is free from 7 pm to 9 am. We manage to park along the street very near the hotel and were given rooms where we could see our car from the hotel windows.

The hotel has a lovely lobby and a nice lounge for guests to rest and chat. Checking in was a breeze and front desk staff English speaking, pleasant and friendly. Rooms are modern and big with toilet separated from the bathroom. Beds were firm and comfortable and everthing was nice and clean. Microwave oven and a small fridge are provided and some simple cooking is possible. This hotel was like a home away from home for us.

The Suite Box in the room was a wonderful distraction for our children who enjoyed the free movies, internet, TV programs and wifi is free in room. Unfortunately, the suite box in one of our rooms didn't work and the hot water was very slow. The staff could not do anything that evening during the holiday seasons but promptly changed 2 of our rooms early the next morning. They were apologetic and gave us some free drinks from their cafe. Breakfast was good and nutritional. Do note that Suite Novotel has no restaurant in the hotel.

Right across the hotel is the busy train station and further ahead is a huge shopping mall with restaurants, shops and supermarket. Walking further down the road is the city centre but shops were closed on Christmas Day.

We really had a great time staying at this hotel for the 3 nights during Christmas and would certainly come back again should we visit the city in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    705
    155
    35
    23
See reviews for
425
433
116
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a three day break in Europe for a bit of Christmas shopping. We spent two nights in Lille and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Suite Novotel.
I chose it as it was affordable and had great reviews (Something i learned to check after a bad experience in a 5* hotel in Rome last summer) and was close to both the Eurostar station and the shopping drag and Christmas markets. The pictures featured on the internet don't really do it justice, the orange really isn't that gaudy. The check in was pleasant enough. We arrived at 10am and there wasn't a room available for us to check in to, but the reception staff were only too happy to store our bags. We took a seat in the cafe which surround the reception area and made ourselves two cups of coffee from the breakfast buffet. An hour later a room was ready for us, though sadly we were charged €6 for the two coffees -I guess it's fortunate for me they didn't see the breakfast croissant I wolfed down with it

Once in our room I marvelled at the enormity of facilities available. So numerous were they that I double checked the booking with my credit card bill. It's not very often you find so many extras for no extra charge. This is where I take my hat off to Novotel. It's these simple things that made me feel welcome and instantly satisfied with my hotel choice. The room was spacious with a king sized bed that we specified AND a comfy couch/single bed on the other side of the room by a desk, chair and two full-length mirrors. Between the two beds were cleverly storable, sliding partitions which were on runners and slotted neatly into the walls when not in use. We stayed on the 10th floor with a view of office buildings and a motorway (the choice was that or the Eurail station (and for those of you who read my review of the Radisson Blu in Rome, you know I wasn't going to choose that option!) But I needn't have worried, all the rooms are soundproofed. The windows were the equivalent of quadruple glazed, having modern pvc double glazed windows set in place with a 6" void between them (both able to be opened if so desired).

Things got even better. The bathroom was a pod behind saloon doors, not everyone's ideal, but private enough for families not to feel invaded upon. Despite the bathrooms small dimensions, they'd managed to design it in such a way that it actually felt spacious. It had a separate bath and shower, and vanity lighting around the mirror above the sink. Nothing was awkward and everything spotlessly clean. The shower pressure was adjustable. And a long, hot power-shower was just what the doctor ordered after a couple hours sat next to loud student-types who were getting into the festive mood with G&T's on the Eurostar at 8am.

The bed was solid, comfy and made with crisp, fresh bedding. The room was equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and sink, and complimentary coffees and snacks. The tv was mounted on a tv cart with a keyboard and mouse for those who are more computer-savvy than I am, which made for a nice movie in bed with the mrs. Speaking of movies, did I mention the free movies available? Over 40 top titles in English, or dubbed into various European languages. Easy to access and completely free of charge. Dozens more tv and radio channels including news and sports. I was a very happy chap after all the shopping, dining and sight-seeing had been done!

Add to this free wifi and the Novotel Suites Lille is a surefire winner. If like me, you weren't convinced free wifi is a selling point in hotels, be prepared to be proved wrong. I was surprised how relaxing and satisfying it is to keep loved ones up to date with my experiences at the end of each day, rather than try to remember everything for those repetitive conversations the next time I visit each of them. Additionally checking in online and finding bespoke things to do in the area is much easier when you're using the personal apps everyone has stored on their phone these days.

In all, staying at the Novotel Suites proved to be a relaxing and surprisingly pampered experience. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend to a friend. Well done. I wish more hotels would follow your sterling example.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-Guy-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

It's the second time we've stayed here. Good clean hotel in a fairly good location. Only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Lille. Double and two twin beds in room, so good value with young children. I love the brakfast concept, Fruit crumble!! Maybe not to everyones taste, but it makes a change from the usual euro-drab. Children love the English language Disney films on-demand. Fridge & Microwave in Room. Parked in underground for €30 weekend rate, Fri to Sunday, not too bad. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_UK_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Booked with Eurostar for a last minute 3 day city break to Lille as our Christmas Market trip to Valkenburg in Holland was cancelled due to tour operator went into administration. The hotel is very conveniently located above the eurostar station and only 5-10 mins walk to the Gare du Lille Flanders station (where we got the train to Bruges) & christmas market. The hotel itself is very neat and everything you can ask for...... free Wi-Fi & movie. The rooms are spacious, separate toilet and bathroom. Even thought there's a highway outside our window but because of double glazing - we cannot hear any traffic noise!!

The breakfast is pretty cool & brilliant - just what you need on city breaks..... Fab coffee, choice cold cuts, yoghurts, cereals and loads of bread rolls and croissants. Also facility to make soft boiled eggs....... all self-service!!

Please do go to Rue de Gand - the restaurant street - but do book if it is on the weekends - delicious food!

Enjoyed our 3 days there!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linalou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Right by Lille Europe station (where all the international and the majority of the intercity trains go via) and only ten minutes easy walk to the Grand Place (basically the centre of Lille) it really couldn't be better placed if you're looking for somewhere for an easy to reach quick break - particularly with kids.

I think they are slightly stretching things to call the rooms 'suites' - our room had a sliding screen to separate our three year olds bed from our area and had a kitchen 'area' (well, a tap, microwave and small fridge!) but it wasn't two separate rooms and no sofa etc. Also didn't feel the double-glazing was as soundproof as some hotels - though it was surprisingly quiet at night given it's right by a railway station. Having said that, the rooms are a good size, have a bathroom with a separate shower and overall it worked well for us. Other plus-points is that WiFi is free and - not sure if this is normal - they gave us a code so we could watch all the movies for free as well.

Would stay again quite happily.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Almost on top of Eurostar terminal - so very convenient for those arriving by train.

Love the extra space and basic facilities, such as mini fridge, microwave and kettle. Meal making facilities are a bit of a joke (there isn't even cutlery), but you can heat up simple meals (sold in lobby, where you can also purchase a plastic cutlery set). Nice touches such as herbal teas and mini apple pies for a D-I-Y breakfast if you need to rush in the morning.

The staff could do with a little training though - a chambermaid knocked and stormed into our room with her key without waiting for a response and just happily headed to the bathroom to replace a hand towel and walked out again. Ten minutes later, when she tried to come in again, I had to say No, and hung out the "Do not disturb sign" (not sure how much good it would have done had I not been around though).

Nevertheless, would happily stay there again if visiting Lille.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We had a brief stay and were very happy with the hotel. The room was great with a trundle bed under the main bed making up a 4th sleeping spot. Breakfast was perfect and the kids boxes were well received.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 107 in Lille
1,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Grand Palais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lille
Crowne Plaza Lille
#26 of 107 in Lille
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel

Property: Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Address: Boulevard de Turin, 59000, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lille
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#3 Business Hotel in Lille
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 126 inviting 30 m² suites. Enjoy our free unlimited Suitebox service, which includes WiFi and hardwired internet, calls to landlines within France, video and music on demand, music, photos and more. Located in the city centre, across from Lille Europe station and not far from Lille Flandres station. 24 hour services including Boutique Gourmande refreshments, fitness area, business corner. Bar, free massages on Thursdays and public outdoor pay car park. Accessible facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Lille Europe Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Europe
Suitehotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing