We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations met: a pretty basic dive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appart'City Lille Grand Palais
Ranked #95 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Travelling as a family group including 2 small children on a Eurostar weekend break, this seemed like a good place for a basic overnight stay. Bought along with Eurostar tickets, it was certainly very cheap. We were just looking for somewhere with basic facilities for simple self-catering, that would sleep 2 adults and 2 little boys.

The staff were pretty surly. We arrived just after noon to drop our bags to discover that reception was closed for a 3 hour lunchbreak between 1200 and 1500 (not mentioned when booking). Extra charges (6 euro total) were requested for storing bags - I've never been asked to pay for that before.

I would concur with other reviewers that the thin-mattressed beds were not comfortable and the shower did not function well. On a muggy midsummer night we had to choose between darkness or ventilation + road noise, since the curtains only covered the non-opening glass part of the window. The kitchen was patchily equipped (nothing to drink out of other than a wine goblet or a cereal bowl). I've never stayed anywhere before where you have to take your own rubbish down to the basement garage...

However, the area wasn't that bad, and it was maybe a 15 minute walk to the stations and 5 mins to metro at Grand Palais. We enjoyed watching Phineas and Ferb in German on the TV. On future trips would seek out different accommodation though.

Room Tip: 317 is right by the stairs - avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Unfortunately I didn't read any reviews before I booked this hotel. Thank god we only needed to stay the one night. The hotel is very far from city centre and in an area which didn't make you feel very comfortable. There's no info on car parking so we just parked in any old place, the only advantage about this hotel is that we didn't pay for any parking, we just left it on the curb. The bed is a sofa bed, as hard as a rock, there were stains on he sheets, and the duvet wasn't even in a slip but just covered by two sheets, the duvet had dirt stains on too. DO NOT look down the back of the sofa bed, what I saw was absolutely disgusting and not something I want to mention again, its just a shame I dropped something down there in the first place. The shower has black damp stains everywhere and it leaks. You also need to take your own rubbish out or you will get charged. I mean I know its cheap for the price but there is a certain level of cleanliness that needs to be obtained to even keep this hotel/doss house open.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodenstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Bed quality? Forget it!!!! It's a sofa bed that's so uncomfortable I might need a replacement spine! Receptionist is a real piece of work. As unhelpful as you can possibly imagine with the charm and manor of a caveman.

Under no circumstances book this place even if you are on a budget. Please have some self respect and pitch a tent somewhere which believe me is much more comfortable than this god forsaken hovel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is honestly one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in for this price range.

Pros:
- none

Cons:
- expensive for what it is
- far from the city center
- room smelled REALLY bad
- dirty
- extremely low quality bed ("canapé lit"...).

Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espinozr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was my third time staying here . It is clean reasonable quiet . They need to check their maintenance more often . Annoying that their were no bedside or ready lights , it is operating theatre or complete darkness.

Room Tip: Dont go for 117 or 119 noisy air conditioner , apartments on street side ,(odd numbers ) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanbond2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We got there and checked in with a woman who spoke English but wasn't very friendly, there was a noticeable difference when she realized we didn't speak french. The rooms were....eh not the greatest, there were spots on the floor, a hole in the bedroom door, and it didn't smell very good. The beds were not comfortable at all, and the toilet didn't seem to work very well, but for a short stay like ours it didn't bother us since we were always out walking around since the hotel itself was in a good central location for things.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Arrived at 12.45pm only to find that the reception is closed between noon and 3pm (maybe we should have read the smallprint) so that put us in a bad mood. When we eventually got in, the room was adequate, with its own mini-kitchen, and the bed was good. It's located near a convention centre on the outskirts, about 5 minutes walk from the Metro (2 stops to Lille Railway Station in the centre) or about 30 minutes walk (20 minutes to the Musee des Beaux Artes). If cost is an issue this would be OK. There is parking on the street, if you can find a space, or underneath the hotel for about 6 euro a day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
Appart'City Lille Euralille
#3 of 3 in La Madeleine
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Lille Grand Stade
#3 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
125 reviews
Flandre
Best Hotel Lille/Gambetta
NordHotel Citotel
#89 of 106 in Lille
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Lille Grand Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Lille Grand Palais

Address: 19 rue Berthe Morisot | Boulevard du Président Hoover, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Lille Grand Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Appart'City Lille Grand Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart`City Residence Lille Grand Palais Hotel Lille
Appart City Residence Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing