We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quiet night”
Review of Kanai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanai Hotel
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good for a quiet night”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a mainstream little hotel, which provided me for what I wanted. A good night of sleep. Its location in the centre, near the metro is a good reason to go back there when in no need of luxe.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    283
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
266
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Arrived at the Kanai for a two night stay, hoping to see a few sights in and around Lille. We got there at 1pm, carried our luggage up to reception, and the receptionist, Sophie I think, was busy having lunch, so said our room wasn't ready - although I did state I'd be arriving at midday on the check in form. No worries we could leave our luggage with her, it would be safe as she is always in the reception area and they also have security cameras. Felt assured by this, tucked our stuff in the corner under the camera, and went off for two hours to explore a bit. Upon returning we went to our room (4th floor, luggage all the way up), which was very small. Before unpacking I went downstairs (3 flights), to check, as I had paid for the superior room. Oops, their mistake, and we were moved to the room I paid for (2 floors down). Not much bigger, but it didn't cost a lot. We then opened our bags, and discovered my husband's laptop was missing. Searched all about, couldn't find it, tried to get help from reception. They were very 'surprised' and reasonably unhelpful - Sophie seemed to spend a long time on the phone chatting while the elder lady, who had no English, just kept holding her hands out in the wonderful French way that means "You have your problems, I have my problems. This is your problem." Sophie eventually gave us directions to a police station that didn't exist. We found one eventually, and three hours later were back at the hotel. Still no news on the security camera footage (and still none a month later, despite reassurances from Sophie she would get back to us) - it's pretty clear the camera doesn't work. On check out she offered us a free breakfast - we were clearly on our way elsewhere. Seems odd that if nobody else was in the area and she was there the whole time that she wouldn't know what happened to it... but clearly this is my problem! Very very dodgy.
The hotel was also very noisy... thoughout the night I was woken by our room door rattling, as it 'wooshed' everytime somebody entered our floor. I could hear the gentleman next door everytime he rolled over, and the noise of showers and flushing toilets was in all the walls.
I really liked what I saw of Lille (in the time I wasn't at the police station or in reception), and would definitely return - just never again at this venue! All the free breakfasts (too little too late) and cheap but dodgy rooms are not worth the headache of a stolen laptop. I really think that had Sophie been bothered to get up from her lunch for a minute and check us in, none of this would have happened. Shocking experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlittle3
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

very strange, this is so tall and skinny it's as if you have stepped into a wardrobe off the street. I liked it tho, it gave it a unique feel. It's right in the town centre and not far from the main train station, just head toward the big church.
The décor was cool, v modern and sleek, all purples and browns. The beds are quite big and v comfy. quite basic, no mini bar which wouldn't have gone a miss when I woke up in middle of night v thirsty and tap would only run lukewarm!
Lots to eat at breakfast (pain au chocolats, cerals, meats, yogurt, bread and fruit) and you get 10% off local restaurant. Man at reception very chatty and helpful. It did us fine for the one night we were in Lille.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlittle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We rented the last 2 rooms available - 1 superior and 1 privilege. The superior room was just big enough for the king sized bed, and the shower stall was small. The privilege room was very spacious and had a modern, larger shower stall. For 10 euros more, spring for the privilege room. Rooms were clean and modern. Toilets were attached to the wall, not the floor, so they did not feel very secure. Beds were very comfortable, but pillows were very flat. No alarm clock in the room so make sure to bring your own. We did not eat at the hotel, but chose to walk across the street to one of two pastry shops for a take-away breakfast (3 croissants for less than 2 euro). One of our rooms was 2 floors up from the pedestrian street with all the shops. There was a lot of noise in the early morning when the street sweeper and delivery trucks came through that even the double paned windows did not block out. The other room was 3 floors up from the other street, and also had street noise. Be prepared to lug your luggage up several winding flights of stairs. This hotel is conveniently located to shops, restaurants, tourist sites, and the train stations (10 minute walk - don't bother with the metro or a taxi, but get a good map as the roads are confusing). Granted this hotel does not have as many amenities as other fancier hotels, but it's more than adequate, and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eloisetarkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We found the location of this hotel to be perfect, easy walking distance from both stations, in the central shopping area but with several local bars, short walk to Grand Place and only 10 minutes walk to the old town.

If you don't like stairs then this is not the place for you - even reception is one flight up and some rooms have extra stairs to/from the corridors. That said it was very clean, comfortable and we found the staff to be very helpful, even without much English. Due to the location - it can be a bit noisy at night.

For local drinking - the Tudor Inn is only metres away, open late. We made this our local! Also try the Paon d'Or further up Rue de Bethune.

For dining - you must visit the Rue Gand in the old town. We ate there three nights in a row - Au Vieux Louis, Le Connivence & another Flemish restaurant - all very good. Also there is a Corsican restaurant towards the end of Rue de Monniare which was good. Local / regional restaurants & food were better than any international cuisine (italian/japanese)....

Beer is mostly (totally!) Belgian and therefore excellent. Quality of wine varied...

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

The location of this hotel is fantastic - just off the main square; perfect for the Christmas Market. Despite it being so close, it was not noisy due to decent double glazing. The view across the rooftops, although not exactly picturesque, was really characterful.

We travelled with another couple, whose room was ready first, so we waited in theirs whilst our was being made up. Really nice room, decent size, good size bathroom - things were looking good...

Sounds ideal, doesn't it? Our room was ready withing 30 mins and we were given the key to our room, at the top of the hotel. Okay, a turret room, might be a wee bit smaller we thought, but very French. The room was indeed small, tiny in fact. Barely enough room to squeeze past the bed to the miniscule bathroom. Okay, we thought, small, but clean, and that was a cool view across the rooftops. Just time for a quick pee before hitting the shops. On flushing the loo, the entire contents of the French sewage system spewed out of the shower. Absolutely disgusting. Needless to say, we went down to reception, who were less than helpful. Firstly, denial - impossible this could happen, the problem had been fixed. No they didnt have anothet room for us, they couldnt get a plumbet to fix it, it was saturday, dont you know! Maybe they could get a cleaner to clean it later that afternoon. They seemed offended that we were at all perplexed by the sitiation. If we booked out to anothet hotel, we would be charged in full. No discount, no apology, nothing.

Avoid like the plague (or you may find it coming up the drains!).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — unsanitary plumbing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jiggs_Stortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This hotel really gives value for your money! I have seen much more expensive "design hotels" that are less stylish than Kanai, and definitely less friendly.

We stayed in a standard room in the top floor. There is no elevator, but if you don't mind that, it is a fantastic place to stay! The views over the pedestrian streets and rooftops are absolutely charming. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable.

Also the breakfast they serve for 8 euros is well worth the price.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, style, quietness, breakfast, views from the room.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 107 in Lille
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 107 in Lille
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hotel Lille Center Grand Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanai Hotel

Property: Kanai Hotel
Address: 10 rue de Bethune, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our hotel in a pedestrian street in the center of Lille, only a few steps from the famous Grand Place and 5 minutes walk from the TGV station Lille Europe and Lille Flanders station.Its contemporary comfort, its many amenities and convenient location will satisfy your business trips or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kanai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanai Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing