We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room 101”
Review of Kanai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanai Hotel
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay in room 101”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We booked in for two nights at this hotel in the middle of Lille's pedestrian shopping centre. It was a great location and I liked the hotel's pared down modern style. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful in general. However we paid extra for their top category privilege room and were put in room 101 for the first night. It was a large room with a big bathroom but when we opened the 'windows' they opened directly onto a corridor and the cleaner's cupboard and laundry room filled with junk. Truly bizarre. I was then woken up at 5am by someone doing the laundry and turning lights on out there, forcing me to get up and ask them to close the laundry room door so I could get some sleep. Not great. It was also extremely noisy. We then had to take a cold shower as there was no hot water for some reason.
We asked to be moved and were put into another privilege suite although this was much smaller. This looked out onto the street and had good double-glazing as it was extremely noise there on a Saturday. Again our evening shower was cold. That night's sleep was relatively undisturbed and the next morning we did finally get a hot shower. We did get some money off but I wouldn't stay here again. Too noisy and no hot water still make it expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    283
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
266
20
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We were really surprised at the star rating of kanai as the standard was much like a 3 star.

Its in a brilliant location, very near to the tourist office,a metro station, cinemas, restaurants and Place du charles de Gaulle. Approx 20min walk to the Eurostar station too.

Kanai is above shops and theres no lift which may be a problem for some. The decor is contemporary and looks newly done, all areas are clean.

Our room was lovely with a view out to a bustling pedestrian street which takes you to restaurants and the tourist office. Other reviews have said rooms are small but ours (211) was plenty big enough and not cramped at all. We had no disruptions from neighbours or the street outside. All fittings appeared new and the bed was really comfortable with crisp linen. The shower room was clean and very nice too, and everything worked perfectly.

The breakfast at 8 euros each per day was fine, cereals, breads, yoghurts, fresh croissants etc. We thought it a bit expensive until we went out to a very local boulangerie for breakfast and found that we spent more for less food.

The cost of this hotel was such good value considering its great location, practicality and comfort.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we`d definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of lighting outside our room bearing in mind there`s lots of stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlotticento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed at Hotel Kanai for three nights and we couldn't have asked for a better location. All the main sights are within easy walking distance and the Grand Place is just around the corner. The hotel room was clean and we had an excellent shower room. Our room was small but we were hardly in the hotel so it didn't bother us at all.
One word of warning if you are driving, parking near the hotel can be difficult as they don't have a car park of their own. We managed to get parked on the street as parking in Lille is free in August. During other months it might be harder to find a space.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Amytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We spent two nights in this great hotel. Room was very nice, clean and spacious. We had room nr 110, which is very recommendable. On the frontside, first floor. We could not believe that this hotel only has two stars. We asked the receptionist and she said that it's because the rooms are not all the same. We had one of the best rooms.
The location is great, you can walk everywhere in Lille, including the two train stations.

  • Liked — location, room
  • Disliked — sounds from the street
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We stayed just the one night, and despite a wee mix-up (one double bed not two twins!) it was easily sorted despite the language barrier.

Close to the centre of town, the hotel is small but cute, newly refurbished and with a great bathroom. The beds were super comfy and the linen was nice. There was a TV but dont watch it, go and explore instead!! We didnt have the breakfast that was available (for an extra cost), prefering to source our own while exploring the town, but I'm sure it was fine.

Affordable and pleasant, I'd happily return!

p.s. there are no lifts so you might be walking up a few flights, but with all the yummy food on offer this may be a good thing!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank hmpUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 107 in Lille
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 107 in Lille
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hotel Lille Center Grand Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanai Hotel

Property: Kanai Hotel
Address: 10 rue de Bethune, 59800, Lille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our hotel in a pedestrian street in the center of Lille, only a few steps from the famous Grand Place and 5 minutes walk from the TGV station Lille Europe and Lille Flanders station.Its contemporary comfort, its many amenities and convenient location will satisfy your business trips or relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kanai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanai Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing