We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
52
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening meal en route delicious food croissants cup of tea first stop memorable stay glass of wine comfortable accommodation wonderful view first class fruit madeleine wines paris dieppe garden
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

What a wonderful discovery this B & B is! Highly recommended to us by our son and daughter-in-law, it surpassed even their seemingly excessive praise. The greeting was warm, including a cup of Earl Grey and shortbread biscuits on our arrival; the rooms were cool, comfortable and tastefully decorated (we stayed there on our way down to visit friends in the Lot and also on the way back, so had two different rooms); the evening meals were absolutely superb, as were the plentiful drinks, and on both occasions Peter and Madeleine were the perfect hosts, facilitating the gelling of all their guests into one big, friendly whole. It was the perfect start to our holiday, and the perfect finish.

The positioning of the house is wonderfully convenient for us, as we sailed from Newhaven to Dieppe, so only had a half hour drive to get there, and the views from the back of the house were wonderful. A walk to the nearby Chateau was a bonus for us on the day of our return to England, especially as Peter and Madeleine so generously invited us to return to the house after the walk for a cup of coffee and use of their "facilities" (loo!). We really can't recommend this Chambre d'Hote highly enough. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was our third stay at this charming and well appointed French Bed and Breakfast. As usualy we received a warm welcome from Madelaine and Peter along with my preferred greeting when in France- a mug of English tea! Madelaine is an excellent cook, and Peter a retired wine buyer and so 10 of us sat down to a superb four course dinner accompanied by a selection of equally superb wines. Rooms are tastfully decorated and spotlessly clean. Though the owners are English, the house and garden are typically French. Located a few minutes from the main Rouen-Calais motorway and some 2 hours easy driving from the channel ports at Calais (even less from Dieppe and Le Havre) its for us the ideal stop either on our way out or back from holiday. Its also ideal for longer stays whilst exploring the area . All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my girlfriend. It is a stunning location with beautiful views. Madeleine and Peter were superb hosts and made us feel very welcome, serving food and wine of the highest quality. I cannot recommend it enough and I am already planning my return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Arrived on Saturday afternoon and warmly greeted(but not over the top) by Peter and Madelaine who showed us around our gite and the wonderful gardens. madelaine than told us they were going away for the week and we had the garden to ourselves! Garden is an understatement.About 30 yards by 30 with trees bushes flowers and the most amazing view across the valley.Added bonus is that they feed the birds and I was able to carry on with what I do at home! The gite itself is lovely and has everything one could want and I mean everything.It is also lovely and cool if it gets too hot outside(we had 6 days of sun!). The Persian cat was a welcome visitor(I have one) as was the cockerel.Madelaine and Peter can be justly proud of what they have achieved. Dont go further than the bar in the village for cheap 3 course lunch-12 euros for 3 courses inc wine .There is also an excellent restaurant 100 yard sfurher on.t

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalOdorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

On our arrival, soaked to the skin, after cycling 20 miles from Dieppe, we were greeted by Peter and Madeleine, who offered tea or something stronger, turned on heating in our lovely rooms and tumble dried our wet clothes. After a shower we went downstairs to share time before dinner with other guests and enjoyed canapés and an aperitif, and some pleasant conversation!
Dinner...well don't get me started. Cordon bleu food prepared by Madeleine and served by Peter, along with great wines incredible value. Great nights sleep and a French breakfast then time to say goodbye. A lovely couple, hospitable, and with a great sense of fun. May have to do the route the other way just to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenrotherwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews