We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment!”
Review of La Ferme des Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Ferme des Mares
Ranked #128 of 488 Hotels in Basse-Normandie
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real disappointment!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were so looking forward to staying in this hotel from the excellant reviews however we so incredibly disappointed! We arrived after an 8 hour drive and initially we very pleased with the look and location. After ringing the bell 3 times we were greated by the chef who showed a non interested attitude and informed us there was no room in the restaurant that evening for dinner - we had not pre-booked however if this is required I feel it should say so on the hotel information. The attitude was not at all helpful or sympathetic and we had to ask where the nearest restaurant was, which was located a 10 mins drive away - not far but when you have been travelling for 8 hours and were looking forward to staying and relaxing in this hotel it was utter disappointment! In all the service was not customer focused and we were made to feel very unwelcome! Rooms nicely done but small and basic, and very hot! Even though the weather wasnt! I wont be staying there again and would not recommend it either - poor!! such a shame!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vick_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gérant at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that you had hoped it might be.

I remember greeting you last Saturday and regret that I was unable to take your restaurant booking for that evening. We always give preference to our hotel guests for a table in the restaurant when they book their room with us directly; it’s true that room only bookings via commercial websites don’t leave us that option and, as last Saturday was particularly busy, our small restaurant does fill up rather quickly.

I do hope that you’ll reconsider staying with us in the future – we have many more spacious rooms than the small one you booked and it would be a pleasure to be able wish you ‘bon appétit’ in our restaurant

Kind regards
Mike ALLEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    30
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
82
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We found and booked this hotel via the Logis website and chose it based on its location (only 1 hour from the boat at Cherbourg) and the excellent rating for its accommodation and food. We were not disappointed. Our sat. nav. took us straight to the front door, much to our surprise as it's in a quiet little hamlet which is definitely off the beaten tourist track. The hotel is a refurbished traditional farmhouse, with the original outer wall and inner farm buildings, with some unusual old features in the central courtyard. The owner speaks a little English, but more than we speak in French, so we managed to all make ourselves understood in the end. The accommodation was lovely. Our "room" had 2 bedrooms and a beautiful bathroom (as well as a separate loo and hall), all with a quiet views over the courtyard or pond beyond. The quality of the refurbishment was of a very high level and we commended the owner on her work as we understand how difficult, timely and costly doing up an old building can be.

The restaurant is open to the public, and it appears to be a well-known haunt as there were a good number of beautifully dressed locals at the beautifully dressed tables. With our two young children (3 and 6) and holiday clothes we felt a little loud and shabby, but we weren't made to feel this way in the slightest. And although there is no children's menu the chef was good enough to make a simple dinner for them that they gobbled up without complaint. As for my husband's and my own dinner, it was simply amazing. It was the first time I had had such exquisite food in France despite travelling there many times. The chef is very very talented. The meal's taste, contents, presentation and seasoning were all utterly perfect and imaginative. I wish I'd ordered two of my desert as my children scoffed down most of it due to its high chocolate content. Local produce appeared to be a part of each of the menu items, particularly seafood, all of which was delicious. The wine list was also very good.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30, and the choices were a bit limited. However, this is a small hotel, so we were happy enough with what we had.

After our overnight stop at this hotel it was easy enough to get back onto the motorway that took us down to the Loire Valley (Saumur) in about 4 or so hours.

I would definitely recommend this as a stop on the way to or from the Cherbourg ferry as a treat at the start or end of your holiday. For us it was a fantastic way to start our holiday in France and I would do it again gladly.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors, but it looked like accommodation was only on floors 2 and 3, so ask about ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This is our second visit to this amazing place. Once again we have enjoyed every moment of it : the scenary, the sevice and lots more.
It is a converted farmhouse which is run by a very friendly couple (who can speak both English and French very well). The husband is originally from the UK and is a great chef who was trained in France. The food quality is astounding and we would highly recommend eating here
It's located near all of the interesting parts of Normandy so you will not be bored as there is plenty to do. We love it here and we shall not hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanjua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Visited the hotel restaurant on 3 occasions whilst staying in St Germain. The food was fantastic and the owners were charming and helpful. I can recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basse-Normandie hotels
13.6 mi away
La Villa Julia
La Villa Julia
#1 of 3 in Agon-Coutainville
160 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
275 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jersey
Hotel Jersey
#2 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
257 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brit Hotel Cote Des Havres
13.0 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme des Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme des Mares

Property: La Ferme des Mares
Address: 26 rue des Mares | Saint-Germain-Sur-Ay, 50430, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 488 Hotels in Basse-Normandie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Ferme des Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Ferme des Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Des Mares France/Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing