We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmm... depends what you're looking for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir des Doyens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir des Doyens
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Mmm... depends what you're looking for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September and it was certainly memorable. The location is fine to walk into Bayeux - we did it a couple of times a day and it took about 15 minutes. Just remember to take a torch at night, since the lane past the church has no street lights.

Rosemary is charming and really keen to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The food at breakfast was very good, but the seating enforced by the Colonel is a bit like a boarding school and we didn't enjoy it.

As a previous reviewer has mentioned, staying here is a bit like staying with your grandparents. Everything about our room was tired, in need of a refresh and certainly in need of a good clean. The shower room had dead flies on the window ledge, mould in the corner of the shower and I wrote my name in the dust on the dressing table. Our bed creaked incessantly. I think we may have been unlucky - my husband saw one of the other rooms which he said looked much better.

Some might find the set-up charming and quirky, we thought it was past its best - but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently returned from our holiday in France and spent 3 nights at Manoir des Doyens. Rosemary is a charming lady who could not do enough for us. She recommended restaurants in Bayeaux, where we enjoyed some delicious food.Rooms were basic but comfortable and breakfast was sufficient (reasonable rates). Location was great for seeing the WW2 museums, graves and beaches.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank magf121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Rosemary made us feel very welcome and gave us suggestions on how to plan our day. When we arrived, she showed us the amazing room of maps and information on the D-day beaches that her husband had created. The property was well maintained, beautiful, confortable, and clean. There was lively conversation at the breakfast table, and the location was perfect. She also has an English book library of books you can borrow. This was especially nice for our American family because the hosts and the other guests spoke English. Our favorite part was the adorable but fat ducks waddling around the property. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supernana_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed with Rosemary and the Colonel for 3 nights while in Bayeux and really enjoyed our time there. A very quaint and charming setting set on the edge of town in the very tiny village of St. Loop Hors. I suppose you could easily walk in to Bayeux but I would not want to try to find my way back in the dark. Our room was very nice and comfortable. This place is beautiful and historic and by no means fancy but very cozy. Kind of what it would be like to stay at your grandmother's house if you had an English grandmother that lived in Normandy, France. Breakfast consists of a variety of freshly baked breads and croissants served with butter and Rosemary's incredible homemade jams along with coffee or tea. All of the guests were English or Americans in their fifties to sixties so being in our early forties we were the babies of the bunch. We met some wonderful people and Rosemary and the Colonel have so many fascinating stories to tell. It can be hard to tear yourself away from the breakfast table to get your day of sightseeing started. Last but not least, this place was an incredible bargain. I believe that we spent roughly 55 euros/night. If we are ever in Bayeux again we won't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trishkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

We just retuirned from a 2 week stay in France and Belgium, during which we stayed with Rosemary and the Colonel for four nights: Definitely a highlight, if not THE highlight of our trip. Just a couple of clicks off the Bayeux ring road (near the Battle of Normandy Museum) in the small village ot St. Loop Hors, this classic Norman farm compound is a wonderful refuge to relax after a day of touring. The rooms are large and comfortable and Rosemary makes everyone feel like family from the moment you arrive. I certainly plan to join the large number of guests who come back over and over.

For a base from which to tour Normady, what more could you ask? The inn is located 2 just of fthe N13 motorway, within a half hour of all of the D-Day sites, an hour and a half from Mont St. Michel, an hour from Cherbourg and Barfleur, and 5 minutes from Bayeux's Cathedral and the Tapestry museum (don't miss it!).

Be sure to visit the Colonel's map room (in one of the old barns) before taking off to explore the D-Day beaches.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jhe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

what can we saw about Rosemary and her charming farmhouse
it was a picture perfect setting, quiet, old home with great british owner It is close to all the D-day beaches, If you have car you can drive to all the areas and return back to this b&b and relax. The town has allot eateries
and wonderful place to walk around. Rosemary has small museum herself with allot of information on the battles etc. Mr Chilcott used to run tours to the sites however his illness has slowed him down and he no longer does the tours. However, their are others in the area that can provide the service. We had car and toured all the sites on our own. It is very simple to do the beaches on your own and at your own pace. We stayed three nights. Rosemary's tea is wonderful, she was the best hostess we have meet in all our vacations to europe. The rooms were clean, large, and very beautiful views from all the rooms. It's kid friendly with some farm animals, and gardens. Rosemary offered us fruit, and teas when we finally arrived late in the evening. The drive from Paris was fabulous and you can make a quick stop at Giverny.

  • Liked — owner, peace quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tumbleweeds02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile De Bayeux
Campanile De Bayeux
#10 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir des Doyens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir des Doyens

Property: Manoir des Doyens
Address: Chemin des Mares | St. Loup Hors, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing