We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #3 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A great comfortable room in a good location 5 minutes away from the town centre and the tapestry. We had a fabulous view of the cathedral from the bathroom! William is a great host and sat and chatted to us over breakfast, after making me scrambled eggs and bacon. Bayeaux is a good base for the Eastern D-Day beaches Gold Juno and Sword, Arromanches and Pegasus Bridge.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
200
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Traveling with friends, and we all felt it was the perfect place. Warm, friendly, and informative host, delicious breakfast, and great location. Lovely garden to sit in and enjoy wine and cheese before heading out for an evening meal at one of the many restaurants. The Bayeux Cathedral is lit at night, what a sight! Easy drive to Normandy, and short walk to the Tapestry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and were so impressed by the host, Will. We were very warmly greeted, and the following morning at breakfast had the pleasure of talking with Will over coffee as if we were old friends. We had an excellent meal that he had prepared, with eggs, bacon, croissants, jams, yogurt, and orange juice. The warmth of the stay is what made it so great; unfortunately we didn't sleep well on the beds, which is the only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5, but the room was spotlessly clean, the house was perfectly quiet, and the location was great. At night we could see the illuminated cathedral out our bathroom window. If you're the kind of person who can sleep anywhere and on any kind of bed, definitely stay here. It was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov_2_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband, son, mother and I stayed at La Tour Louise for five nights in July. We absolutely loved it! It is just an easy ten minute walk from the train station and only a few minutes walk into town. Will, our host, walks up each morning to collect the croissants and baguette for breakfast which includes a wonderful spread of yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal, fantastic coffee, a selection of jams made by his mum. If you are still hungry, he will whip up some scrambled eggs. We often lingered over breakfast to enjoy the conversation with Will or simply to look at the lovely garden. The rooms are spotlessly clean and elegantly furnished right down to the beautiful cups and saucers. The Bayeux Cathedral is only a few hundred metres away and the view of it from the bathroom window is spectacular. The 200 year old smooth stone stairs feel almost silky underfoot and are wide and easy to walk up. Will is the perfect host - friendly, thoughtful and helpful. After a day of war museums, shopping or tapestries we loved coming back our peaceful, elegant room and reviving with a glass of our Calvados and orange juice aperitif!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely and all have views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a charming house, but the highlight is your host, William. He provided great suggestions and made several calls to obtain reservations for us at great restaurants. We were there during the VE celebration and the Holy Day, so many restaurants were booked. Convenient parking, close to the train station and all the Bayeux sites. D-Day beaches and museums are close by. Walk to everything in town.

Room Tip: Our room was on the Courtyard. Quiet. But I do not think it matters because the town and area are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

La Tour Louise is a great place to stay in Bayeux! It was very reasonably-priced and quite comfortable. The room was great, the bathroom was clean and had a fantastic view of the cathedral, and there's even desk fan to keep the air circulating at night if you get hot. There is a flat-panel TV mounted on the wall as well, though I didn't really use it much at all.

The owner of the guesthouse, Wil, is a really nice and helpful guy. He goes out of his way to accommodate his guests' needs. The breakfast is an extra fee, but I thought it was worthwhile. There's a croissant, French bread, jams, fruit, tea or coffee, and Wil will even make you scrambled eggs and bacon.

The location of La Tour Louise is great. It's one block away from the cathedral. From the train station, it's an easy ten-minute walk to the guesthouse. All in all, I thought it was a wonderful place to stay. Be aware, though, that you may have to walk up two flights of stairs to get to your room. Wil will, of course, carry your luggage to your room. However, if you have trouble with stairs, this is probably not the place for you to stay.

Also, I think there are only 3 or 4 rooms in total, so you should book really early if you want to stay here.

I was really happy with my stay. I spent 3 nights here and La Tour Louise was exactly what I wanted (a cute, non-generic, French guesthouse that was very convenient to everything). Thanks, Wil!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ThetaSigma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Bayeux, in Normandy, is a picturesque town which offers some excellent dining choices, has an impressive cathedral, and a museum which houses the famous Bayeux Tapestry. It is also a short drive to the Normandy Beaches.

We stayed at a gem of a bed-and-breakfast, the La Tour Louis Guesthouse. The multi-story, historical home is well situated on a residential street with ample parking available. There is a lovely garden, and the rooms have been modernized (without losing their historical charm). Our room was large, bright and airy, and well-appointed. We even had a view of the cathedral from our bathroom window.

The host, Wil, is friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. An added bonus ---he speaks excellent English. We would highly recommend a stay at his property.
Karen L
June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Property: La Tour Louise
Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing