We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cudos to Wil for his helpfulness and graciousness"”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

La Tour Louise is a family home that has been converted to be a guest house. The room we had was spacious, clean, and the bed very comfortable. It was exceptionally warm in August '13, so the provided circulating fan was put to good use. Wil, the proprietor, provided a "save" for us when he found a last minute seat for an all-day D-Day beaches tour after my previous arrangements fell through. The breakfast was great, including eggs and bacon if you desired, in a lovely garden-facing small dining room. Wil could not have been more accommodating. And the room rate was the best we had in France! We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatatrip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for La Tour Louise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tour Louise. We were in a very nice room with a large bathroom that looked out over the Bayeux Cathedral. The bed was comfortable (the best sleep of the trip). The owner (Wil) was friendly and spoke very good English. Breakfast (a small extra charge) was also good (the best scrambled eggs and bacon we have had in a long while) and the company at the breakfast table interesting.

The guest house is a short walk from many restaurants and from free 24-hour parking.

I highly recommend Tour Louise and Bayeux as a base for travels to the D-Day memorials and to Normandy in general.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troubleand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A great comfortable room in a good location 5 minutes away from the town centre and the tapestry. We had a fabulous view of the cathedral from the bathroom! William is a great host and sat and chatted to us over breakfast, after making me scrambled eggs and bacon. Bayeaux is a good base for the Eastern D-Day beaches Gold Juno and Sword, Arromanches and Pegasus Bridge.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Traveling with friends, and we all felt it was the perfect place. Warm, friendly, and informative host, delicious breakfast, and great location. Lovely garden to sit in and enjoy wine and cheese before heading out for an evening meal at one of the many restaurants. The Bayeux Cathedral is lit at night, what a sight! Easy drive to Normandy, and short walk to the Tapestry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and were so impressed by the host, Will. We were very warmly greeted, and the following morning at breakfast had the pleasure of talking with Will over coffee as if we were old friends. We had an excellent meal that he had prepared, with eggs, bacon, croissants, jams, yogurt, and orange juice. The warmth of the stay is what made it so great; unfortunately we didn't sleep well on the beds, which is the only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5, but the room was spotlessly clean, the house was perfectly quiet, and the location was great. At night we could see the illuminated cathedral out our bathroom window. If you're the kind of person who can sleep anywhere and on any kind of bed, definitely stay here. It was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lov_2_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband, son, mother and I stayed at La Tour Louise for five nights in July. We absolutely loved it! It is just an easy ten minute walk from the train station and only a few minutes walk into town. Will, our host, walks up each morning to collect the croissants and baguette for breakfast which includes a wonderful spread of yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal, fantastic coffee, a selection of jams made by his mum. If you are still hungry, he will whip up some scrambled eggs. We often lingered over breakfast to enjoy the conversation with Will or simply to look at the lovely garden. The rooms are spotlessly clean and elegantly furnished right down to the beautiful cups and saucers. The Bayeux Cathedral is only a few hundred metres away and the view of it from the bathroom window is spectacular. The 200 year old smooth stone stairs feel almost silky underfoot and are wide and easy to walk up. Will is the perfect host - friendly, thoughtful and helpful. After a day of war museums, shopping or tapestries we loved coming back our peaceful, elegant room and reviving with a glass of our Calvados and orange juice aperitif!

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely and all have views of the Cathedral.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a charming house, but the highlight is your host, William. He provided great suggestions and made several calls to obtain reservations for us at great restaurants. We were there during the VE celebration and the Holy Day, so many restaurants were booked. Convenient parking, close to the train station and all the Bayeux sites. D-Day beaches and museums are close by. Walk to everything in town.

Room Tip: Our room was on the Courtyard. Quiet. But I do not think it matters because the town and area are...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing