We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La tour Louise, Bayeux France”
Review of La Tour Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tour Louise
Ranked #3 of 31 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Outstanding! Our host, Wil,made us feel so welcome. From helping with our luggage to dining recommendations, breakfast offerings and touring advice, we could not have asked for a better host.
We trained from Paris. A short walk and we were in old town Bayeux and checked in. Our room was immaculate and well provisioned, with an impressive view of the Notre Dame Cathedral and the town. From there it is an easy walk to all the attractions, restaurants, shops and the Saturday market. The Normandy beaches are a short ride from town and our tour there was a very moving experience.
We were delighted with our choice of La Tour Louise!

Room Tip: Wil will do his best to accommodate any need. Rooms are very pleasant and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed two nights and after coming from stays in places twice as expensive, we arrived at one of our all time favorites. The location is perfect in the center of town with a superb view of the cathedrale just out the window. The cathedrale and tapestry are just a few minutes walk, as are the other historic areas of town. The room we had on the third floor was an average size, and the bathroom is good sized. Everything was super clean. The breakfast was wonderful, and really one of the best we had on our trip. You can have the usual croissant or fruit as well as eggs and bacon if you like. The breakfast is a real bargain. Wil is really a wonderful host: there if you need him, not there if you want to be on your own. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked the third floor because the view of the cathedrale, especially at night, was so dramatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 for about four days. The guesthouse is ideally situated for visiting the normandy landing beaches and other such sites. The town of Bayeux is lovely and from our room we had a great view of the Cathedral which was all lit up at night. It was an easy stroll into town in which there were a number of lovely little restaurants. The Bayeux tapestry is about a five/ten minute walk.

The host Will was very helpful and informative. Breakfast was always really good and we were offered poached or scrambled eggs each morning. Plenty of teas, fresh bread, pastries and fruit. The room itself was very comfortable and cosy. I would definitely return to the Guesthouse if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danzinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at La Tour Louise Guesthouse for two nights at the end of September and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The Guesthouse is ideally located, within a short walking distance to many popular tourist sights in Bayeux as well as to several fine restaurants. Our double room was quite spacious, with a very comfortable bed. The house itself has real character. We experienced a true feeling of tranquility while there! Wil was the consummate host, going out of his way to make us feel at home. He was also a source of much local information and helped us plan our routes out of town for day trips. And did we mention the breakfasts? Well beyond the usual fare we had become used to while in France! We would recommend Tour Louise Guesthouse without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob and Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at La Tour Louise with the view of the Cathedral from our bathroom and meeting Wil's parents too. Wil is a wonderful host, engaging without being intrusive. He gave us some good restaurant recommendations and even helped to make bookings.We had the large bedroom with a spare bed in the connecting room.Rooms and bathroom were clean and well maintained.This charming guesthouse was within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Just as we were heading off for St.Malo I dropped a stack of new Euro dollars ( !,000 Euro)in the bathroom.
Wil found it and took all the trouble to track us down at St Malo ( 2 1/2 hrs drive away) to inform me about it. Had he not contacted us i would not have been any wiser because we had made several stops where I could have dropped it!
Our grateful thanks to you Wil - your honesty and integrity are much to be admired.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the spare bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felizglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is simply a great place. The rooms are spacious (including the bathrooms), particularly compared to most of the hotel rooms we encountered elsewhere. The breakfast is excellent, with good variety. The location is pretty central, with the Cathedral just about a five minute walk away. Wil, the host, provides the right amount of attention to his guests' needs. The price is fair. This is what a B&B should be.

Room Tip: The double room on the second floor is quite nice, and avoids having to go up to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRDEagan_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at. We stayed 3 nights. This is a quaint building near the Bayeux Cathedral. We had a great view of the Cathedral from our room on the top floor. We booked the largest of the rooms and were really pleased by the size (it was 2 bedrooms) with an en suite bathroom. The bathroom had a stall shower which was large with good water pressure. There was also an electric outlet in the bathroom so you could actually use a hair dryer in the bathroom.
The owner, Wil, was very accommodating and helpful. The room had unexpected amenities like a small refrigerator, bottles of water every day, coffee, tea, electric kettle.
We chose to have breakfast at La Tour Louise. We had the best croissants in France. Wil offered a full breakfast, not just croissants and coffee or tea. He did not have the tea I wanted, but went out and bought it so I could have it the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Louise

Address: 4 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: £83 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located 5 minutes away from the Cathedral, La Tour Louise is in the heart of your activities in Bayeux . Sandrine and Laurent will welcome you into their home, where their four guest rooms will offer you all the comfort needed for a wonderful stay . They will be available in this friendly and family atmosphere to give you their best recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your La Tour Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais De La Tour Louise Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing