We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An insightful, historic tour of D-Day sites”

Normandy Sightseeing Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.58*
and up
Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites
Ranked #5 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
388 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“An insightful, historic tour of D-Day sites”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Sunny was a knowledgeable tour guide. She picked my wife and I up in a van with several other people at our hotel in Bayeux. We spent the day visiting the German cemetery, Sainte Mère Eglise and Airborne Museum, Utah and Omaha beaches, Pointe du Hoc, and the American cemetery at Colleville-sur-Mer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    43
    12
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I went on the Omaha beach sector half day tour which consisted of a visit to point du hoc, Omaha beach dog sector (Featured within saving private ryan) and the american war cemetary at Omaha. Omaha beach is one of five invasion beaches within normandy. Two being American and 3 being used by Commonwealth forces.

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful and really set the scene for each location. He displayed amazing knowledge of the battles within normandy and the strategic and political context.

Point du hoc is amazing with full access to the real bunkers and gun emplacements for photos. The location where the Ranger battalion scaled the cliff is also accessable.

Omaha Beach is an amazing sight as it demonstrates the huge challenges the allies faced during the initial stages trying to gain a foothold within france. It was a privelage to visit these sights.

Because there is so much to see I would recommend a full day tour or more to make the most of the region.

Helpful?
Thank Diverderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible tour guide with deep knowledge”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We attended the half-day tour hosted by Jean-Francois. He was an incredible guide, sharing his extensive knowledge with us every moment. While we travelled between sights in the van, Jean-Francois gave us great details on the history of Normandy and continued with amazing stories at each of the sights. Highly recommend this moving day seeing the sights of Normandy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRealo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We did two tours a full day of Mont St Michel and a half day of the American D-Day tour. Our tour guide Romain, was great. He was very knowledgeable and very attentive to my husband's needs as he was having difficulty walking. We enjoyed both tours and would recommend this to our friends and family.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Germaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Half day tour was Excellent”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had Meg as our tour guide. She picked us up at the train station on time at 8:30. She spoke excellent English, but gave a French perspective about her family during World War II. We visited Pointe Du Hoc; Omaha Beach and the American cemetery. A very informative, emotionally powerful tour. HIghly recommend. Wish we had gone for the full day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nhhomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Normandy Sightseeing Tours also viewed

 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Normandy Sightseeing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing