We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond bad!”
Review of Hotel de la Gare

Hotel de la Gare
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A late night, last minute booking when i was too tired after a long drive to check the room we were offered before paying. Big mistake, ghastly room,seriously over-priced. Requested double but were given a family room, so many beds squashed into it, it was almost impossible to walk around. the "en-suite shower" was a plastic box in the bedroom where toilet door should have been, Not a shower room. (of course the toilet then had no door!) I had to step out of the shower straight into the bedroom. the shower head wouldn't even attach to wall. incredibly noisy so very little sleep, if it wasn't the guests in the rooms alongside and above, it was the outside crashing and banging from 0400hrs(the trains were actually quiet). If you have to stay there get a front facing room.
Now i have stayed in cheap French hotels before and am fine with lino floors and shabby, for a quick on-route overnight stay i don't expect a lot. Here I felt totally ripped off. Keep well clear is my recommendation.

Room Tip: Never accept or pay for a room before asking to see it first, no matter how late it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We recently did a day trip to Bayeux from Caen where we were staying. We'd had a great time in Bayeux and hadn't realised the time, and it had suddenly got very late. We rushed to the train station but just missed the last train back to Caen. There were no taxi's outside of the station so we headed to Hotel de la Gare to see if we could get a number for a taxi company so that we could get back to Caen where we were staying. I think the guy that helped us was the manager. He was so friendly and called a cab for us. They had finished serving for the evening, but he offered for us to wait in the bar until the taxi arrived and poured up a large calvados each which was great, and he was very friendly and talked to us until the taxi arrived. I can't comment on the hotel as a place to stay, however felt it was appropriate to write about how hospitable the staff were, as many people say that the French are not so great on customer service - but the guy at Hotel de la Gare went out of his way to help us and to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank wendyeh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I did a day trip out from Paris as part of our Honeymoon experience and just jumped on the train from St Lazare out to Bayeux. We didn't plan, but had heard from an acquaintance that there is a hotel near the train station that had treated them very well. We were not disappointed. It is literally 50 m from the train station (a very small station -- but nice and being remodeled). It wasn't fancy, but had all that we needed. It offered reasonable rates (~40 Euro/night for room and breakfast) and the people there couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. We walked into Bayeux and it was charming -- with more shopping, restaurants, historical facts and hotels. We did a tour with the group at the hotel as this was again recommended -- and they were amazing! They spoke fluent English and the tour was in English. The tour of the Normandie coast and the D-Day battlefields was so humbling -- it is hard to put into words. It is a must see when coming to France. The proprietor is Jean Marc and he is charming. Excellent experience! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

They are located right outside the train station and they were really helpful with getting us booked on a tour and on our way. Highly recommended. We did not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

good hotel which is a good location for those who want visiting landing beaches with a very good budget. very french, please taste food there .clean and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc.lm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel was right across from the train station, and within walking distance of the attractions of Bayeux. Also, it was very close to the bus stops that go to Omaha Beach twice a day. We stayed in a room with a toilet and shower, which we got for a decent price. Be warned, however: You should NOT stay in a room with a shower unless you are very comfortable with the person you are staying with. The shower is right in the room, with only the (not-quite-transparent but almost) shower door separating you and your traveling companion(s).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank leenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perezymedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.6 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Address: 16 Place de la Gare, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Number of rooms: 283

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing