We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive D-Day Private Tours

Executive D-Day Private Tours
Ranked #6 of 36 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bertrand is an independant tour guide who offers private tours on the sites of the Normandy D-Day Landing Areas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

First of all, book early! You think Normandy is busy in summer alone? Wrong! We tried booking for several weeks in the months leading up to our visit and everyone was busy! And most of the reviews on Trip Advisor made it hard to pick just one guide. Bertrand was a walking history book. He put me to shame! Being a history major in college, and really into World War II history, he just annihilated me with facts. He also knew a lot of military history; I'd dare say more than my friend who was with us and serves in the US Army! It was nice to be able to see the sites because he drove. He could very easily pull over and allow us the time to take pictures. Also, he knew where he was going so that saved time and allowed us to see more of what we wanted to see. He catered our tour to what we wanted to see. We wanted to see more sites and do the museums on our own; he did that for us. The beaches at Utah and Omaha were sobering. They are also a lot bigger than you realize. It still is hard to imagine troops coming on shore with all their gear under heavy fire; you saw just how far they had to go to even get close to the dunes. Bertrand knew of a great little bakery that we got sandwiches at, and then ate on top of an old bunker by Utah! That was once in a lifetime! He also showed us the main sites, Utah, Omaha, Pointe du Hoc, etc., but also showed us just how much equipment, etc. was left in France and how the locals reused it, even today! What I think I appreciate the most was the time he allowed us at the American Cemetery at Coleville-sur-mer. He didn't rush us, he allowed us to think about all the sacrifices at our own pace. Then our friend who was with us got to participate in the lowering of the American flag at the closing of the cemetery. What an amazing day! Thank you Bertrand! We loved your sense of humor and knowledge. We hope to see you again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience: Bertrand made it very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our tour of the D-Day beaches with Bertrand was simply outstanding. I consider myself a World War II buff and well read on the war but Bertrand provided facts insights and perspectives that were invaluable. Not only is he very knowledgeable but he has a great sense of humor and makes the experience very special. Our tour was a full day starting with the german cemetery, covering all the American beaches and the American cemetery at Omaha Beach. As Bertrand drove us to all the locations we also learned a great deal about the French and he saw at several monuments for French soldiers from WWII. We strongly recommend

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Bertrand is so much more than a tour guide. His knoweldge and passion for the events that surrounded D-Day really brought history to life for me. Not only did he have a command of the key events that occured on D-Day, but also a respect for the men that lost their lives in battle.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lmvillasenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bertrand brings the experience to life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Six American travelers picked Bertrand up in a nine passenger "people mover" for what we expected to be a half day tour of D-Day sites. Bertrand spent more than 7 hours with us on this afternoon tour, showing us the sites and providing us with a comprehensive and educational experience. Bertrand made our experience much more meaningful than if we had tried to go it alone. The entire group has the highest praise for Bertrand and his ability to bring the history of these sites alive. We recommend his tour without reservation and we will be back to learn more from him in the future.

He was even a good sport about our "American" driving skills...meaning we drove a bit fast for his tastes! Thank you Bertrand for a great day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ctheworld67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, enthusatic and goes above and beyond being a tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

One of my husbands' dreams was to visit Normandy. His knowledge of WWII is vast and he wanted to visit Normandy and connect with what happened during that time. He met his match with Bertand, Executive Day Tours. Betrand was an exeptional tour guide. His knowledge of the area and the time period was exceptional. He provided photos of the "then" and we saw the "now". He adjusted the tour to adapt to our interests. Betrand made our tour of Normandy come alive. We spent one day there but definitely could have used an additional day. We will be going back and know what we want to see thanks to Betrand!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Executive D-Day Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Executive D-Day Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing