We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't know how much I didn't know!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Day Landing Tours

D Day Landing Tours
Ranked #9 of 36 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Follow in the footsteps and visit the Battlefields made famous in The Longest Day, Band of Brothers & Saving Private Ryan with native English speaking guides. Whether you are interested in the American, British or Canadian Sectors we are able to offer a private in depth, detailed historical tour with a fixed or tailor made itinerary to suit your needs. We specialise in detailed tours, but can offer sightseeing tours as well, with pick up from Normandy and Brittany.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I didn't know how much I didn't know!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Eric's D Day tour was well worth the investment of both time and money. His passion for WW II history and his ability to speak at length about the different battles left even a teacher speechless. Eric is a master storyteller and helps history come alive by telling stories about specific individuals and what they encountered either on Omaha Beach, Utah Beach or in Sainte-Mere-Eglise. Furthermore, he even gave us pointers on how we could further our education by going to specific museums or visiting certain cemeteries.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LMC535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

We are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours. We are also glad that the extra information that was given enabled you to go off and explore more by yourselves.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“D-Day with Eric (American Highlights Tour)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The booking process was very easy and straightforward. Michelle did a good job getting us both the required paperwork and also answering a few questions regarding what to expect during the tour.

The tour was an exceptional experience. Eric warned us earlier in the day that he believed a good tour had more detail as opposed to more stops. Please see my comment below regarding this. We began the day with a 40 minute drive to St Mere Eglise during which Eric filled us in on some background and gave us an overview of our day. He told numerous stories at each stop, many details which can't be found in other books I've read. We took his advice and spent 45 minutes at the Airborn Museum, it was well worth the time. Following the museum we drove to Utah. During the drive Eric described the battle for Normandy that followed D-Day, including a few stops among the hedgerows to give us an idea of the battlefield conditions and defenses the US troops faced. We then stopped at Utah, Pont Du Hoc and Omaha. During each stop, Eric described the strategy employed by both sides and overviewed how events unfolded during the invasion. I thought his description of the events at Omaha beach was particularly good. All active duty military could benefit from understanding the lessons learned from the series of events that caused Omaha to be the bloodiest fight of the day. We ended the day at the Normandy American cemetery. After spending the day with Eric this was a very emotional and powerful way to complete our tour.

Another great part of this tour was the number of stories Eric told from the German perspective. I had never really considered this before and found it very enlightening.

I would definitely recommend using Eric as your tour guide with one exception. If you're looking for a one day tour that hits as many sites as possible, this isn't it. If, however, you value the depth of the experience this is the tour for you. Eric told so many stories with such detail he brought the scenes to life.

One tip: Prepare/dress for the weather the best you can. You don't want to miss out on this once in a lifetime opportunity because of bad weather! We were out on the beach in the wind and rain, but it was worth it.

Thanks again, Eric! Matt S and family

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MattS_and_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Matt and family

We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments so quickly online.

Your in depth review will no doubt help others to choose if we are the right company for them

Eric also enjoyed guiding you, your wife and young children last week, and I hope the ghastly weather was not too much.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day guiding you again.

Sincerely,

Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulconbridge, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Detailed Personal Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Despite some very cold weather we found Eric's trip exactly what we were looking for:- very detailed knowledge of the battle events and the localities that gave us a clear picture of what it must have been like to take part. Many of his anecdotes are not to be found in the vast literature of the battle. i would reccomend without reservation anyone who wants a very personal tour for a small group. Geoff, Steve and Ben Reynolds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 470geoffreyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Geoff, Steve and Ben

We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Even though it was a bracing December day we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
Your kind words and compliments enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again. (Hopefully in warmer weather)

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trip of a liftime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We could not have asked for a better tour than to spend the day with Eric. We took this tour over a year ago, still talk about the impact it had. Eric took such good care of the three of us. Wealth of knowledge.

It was a pleasure dealing with Michelle and Eric. I hope to someday go back again and would only contact them!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickSolvang_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Moreover, we are grateful for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

We look forward to the pleasure of one day touring with you again.

Sincerely,

Eric & Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“American Highlights Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having efficiently made our booking with Michelle, Eric took me and my family (2 adults, 2 older children) on a private full day's tour - American Highlights - on 11th December 2013. We toured Omaha and Utah beaches plus the surrounding areas including Pointe du Hoc, St Mere Eglise and Colleville US cemetry.

The detail we received was incredible, delivered in an enthusiastic and passionate manner, with some humour, some sadness, but always with full respect for all servicemen from all sides who gave so much.

Not knowing really what to expect from the tour, we were deeply moved and humbled by the vivid stories, events and locations. It was a real eye-opener for our teenage children who sadly are no longer taught this history at school

Everyone should make the effort to take a trip like this, and the good thing is that Eric and Michelle allowed us to build an itinerary to suit us.

We can't wait to return one day to do the British & Candian sector tour with Eric

Thanks again
Richard J (Brisbane)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDayLandingTours, Owner at D Day Landing Tours, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Richard

We would like to thank you for choosing to tour with D Day Landing Tours whilst visiting Normandy and for taking the time to share your comments online.

Thank you for your kind words and compliments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued clients are entitled to expect from our tours.

Eric enjoyed his day with you and looks forward to showing you more on your next visit.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Michelle Le Doux - Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D Day Landing Tours also viewed

 

Been to D Day Landing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing