We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best tour with 13 year old!”

Dale Booth Normandy Tours
Ranked #3 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for a fully private, guided D-Day tour, where history is told with knowledge and passion;then book a tour with Dale Booth Normandy Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best tour with 13 year old!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We traveled with our 13 (almost 14) yr old triplets. summer of 2013. This was a fantastic tour with great detail that was explained clearly and interesting. Dale drew pictures in the sand that helped us all visual what was going on. We loved the lunch that was served in an old house. This was definitely one of our top highlights of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bucket List must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I took our 3 boys (18, 14, 11 years old), to Europe this summer. We spent 6 days in Paris, 3 days in Rome, and went on a Royal Caribbean Cruise to Sicily, Athens, Turkey, and Crete. By far, all 3 boys felt the highlight was Dale Booth's Normandy tour. We saw Omaha Beach, Utah Beach, had a private lunch at a museum and finished with a visit to the American Cemetery. Dale used laminated pictures and delivered a focused intriguingly detailed account of the D-day events. He was very pleasant to talk with, down to earth, and we felt safe in his hands. The boys especially loved going in the bunkers which very accurately mimic the Call of Duty video games. I would highly recommend for everyone to consider this tour!! I would also recommend it for families with children 10 and up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Partyof52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
484 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am writing this as the Rememberance Day ceremony takes place at the Menin Gate, where the bodies of the men from Britain and the Commonwealth who died at the battles of the Ypres Salient and who were never identified or buried are commemorated. It is difficult to believe that only a few short years later, the whole tragedy were to be repeated, and more 19 year olds would be slaughtering each other, each convinced of the righteousness of their cause. I was visiting France with my wife and grandson, and as A levels were looming, we wanted to experience some of the D day landings ourselves. As we prepared for the trip, we researched guided tours and had the great good fortune to stumble on one of the very best, Dale Booth's Normandy Tours. Dale has consumate presentation skills, and with his knowledge and clear storytelling, often drawn from first-hand interviews with veterans, weaves a compelling and moving account of the events of the airborne and beach landings on the day itself. He is unafraid to offer challenge, even to some of the best known writers of the period, and has an eye for telling and unusual detail, making complex events understandable, often at variance with the cinema versions. From the moment he paused in Angoville au Plain, where the medics, Robert E Wright and Kenneth J Moore, 101st Airborne Division tended to over 80 dying and wounded causalties, including Germans, in the early hours inside the local church,its floor awash with blood, Dale was able to educate and inform us throughout his exhaustive day tour of the American sector. We spoke afterwards of his vigour and enthusiasm, as he sketched out the perimeter and firing positions of various Widerstandnest on the sandy beaches of Utah and Omaha, or his amusing description of the attempts by a very brave Ranger to scale the long ladders provided by the London fire bridgade, wildly swinging back from the precipitous cliffs at Pointe du Hoc. We were staying at " La Heroulliere" Dale's beautiful home with his charming and attentive wife, Debbie, in the pretty little village of Pretot Sainte Suzanne, and continued our discussions around their dining table late into the night. His inspired approach encouraged us to visit the neglected British and Canadian sectors ourselves, including Pegasus Bridge and Juno Beach, the latter where we truly felt that we walked the sands with those who had fallen.
In General Eisenhower's own words the Great Crusade began on this longest day, and for those who intend to visit on the 70th Anniversary next year, Dale is your man. Excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Understanding the destruction of Hitler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A day with Dale brought to life the contents fifty or so history books, biographies and memoirs, numerous films and TV shows and countless stories from participants and observers.
Our family of 17, ages from 1 to 70, met Dale and his colleague at the German Cemetary at the appointed hour. (A logistical achievement of an order of magnitude similar to the erection of the Mulberry Harbors). Off we went to Sainte-Mere-Eglise then to the beaches and finally the American Cemetary.
All questions were answered and all requests were honored. The information imparted by Dale was complete and understandable for all. If you want to understand the enormity of the effort, the intracacies of planning and preparation and the bravery and sacrifice of those who participated, Dale is the one with whom to see Normandy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay and Lil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Wow…would do it all over again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Dale provided an excellent tour. His level of knowledge was extremely detailed. We especially enjoyed the way he sketched the battles in the sand at Utah and Omaha beach. Dale will give you the truth - good, bad or indifferent - not a Hollywood version of the D-Day invasion. In fact, he corrects the Hollywood versions. He has interviewed many D-Day veterans first hand, which makes his insight even more compelling. We did the one day tour of the American sites on a day trip from Paris, but I would gladly return to do the same tour again and learn about the British and Canadian battles. The emotional impact was deeper than I ever anticipated. Expect to have lumps in your throat and knots in your stomach - especially when you visit Angoville au Plain. This tour was one of the best experiences I have ever had. After the tour, my husband and I both thought Dale should charge twice what he does for the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dale Booth Normandy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dale Booth Normandy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing