We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. November 2 and 3. Liked it. Good location to see all the sights of Normandy beaches the Tapestry and Sainte Mere Eglise. Headed to Mont St Michel from here. We ate breakfast in hotel and liked it. McDonalds is really not that much cheaper plus you have to leave hotel and deal with traffic etc. Ate dinner on Sunday night as many restaurants in Bayeux are closed Sunday. Fine meal at a reasonable price. Plenty of parking. Front desk and all staff helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    281
    119
    28
    5
See reviews for
196
176
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a typical Novotel. If you've stayed in one before, then you know what you'll get here (comfortable beds and clean bathroom and bedroom). There's an in room safe (big enough for a laptop) and a mini fridge (might be an exaggeration--it will take hours for anything to be chilled). It took us about 10-15 minutes to walk into town, and there's a grocery store just a few minutes walk away (on the way into town). If you're taking a D Day tour, this is a great hotel option. We took taxis to and from the train station, and the fare was around 7 Euros. We also took a taxi to Place du Quebec to join our Overlord Tour, and the fare was about 5 Euros. The hotel is happy to call a taxi for you, and taxis were waiting at the train station to take us to the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights is September[and have stayed here before]. Not cheap but prices vary depending on the day of the week or season. Great location for mooching around Bayeux and will appeal to Tapestry seekers and D-Day sights. Quiet and comfy rooms and plenty of car park spaces. Staff very friendly--professional and speak good English for those who need it. It has a Bistrot on site which is OK---though a 15 minute walk in to town will give you more options. That said, Bayeux isn't great for night for nightlife or good restaurants, Breakfast,like, most Novotels I think is expensive ----if all you fancy is a coffee and a pain au raisin,better walk to the Leclerc supermarket[10 mins] and buy your breakfast and take back to room and use their tea/coffee facilities. Overall a very nice, if a little pricey hotel [for us] but for the US Punters and our friends from Japan---probably seems a good deal.

Room Tip: rooms at the back [big surprise!] are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel was very conveniently located. We were easily able to walk to the town center without sounds of crowded streets keeping us awake at night.
Our beds were comfortable and bathroom was very clean. The staff were very friendly and eager to accommodate. Breakfasts were enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Novotel. The hotel was affordable, but had the small extras like, a tea pot for boiling water and a small refrigerator in the room. The continental breakfast was quite good. The hotel is a short walking or driving distance from the town center. As mentioned elsewhere Bayeux is a great place to use as a base for visiting the WWII Normandy sights. The cathedral is beautiful and the Tapestry exhibit is not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Ok so not as good as other Novotels we have stayed in whilst visiting France and maybe not worthy of 4 stars but it's the only hotel where we can get interconnecting rooms for the kids as we don't like sharing in a family room!!
Staff are extremely friendly. Location good if you don't want to be right in the centre of town. Rooms quite basic but have free wifi and the bathrooms are very nice. I would still use Novotel as generally they are consistent..

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

A little disappointed with my stay. Hotel is a little dated and lacking in comforts normally found in 4 Star hotels. Wifi log in was tedious, breakfast was uninspiring and hotel bar lacking in range on offer. Staff were pleasant. Really only a 3 star basic hotel at best.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank citywest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing