We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great staff, average location”
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great staff, average location”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting the D Day beaches and Mont. St-Michael. The staff were great with advise, helping set up tours, providing a safe for our lap top, and many other items. Katrina at the desk and others were extraordinary. We did not use the restaurant, although it looked nice. The only item lacking was the location, you are about 3/4 mile outside the center of the village. Fine if you are driving or being picked up by tour companies, but a bit too far to walk, as the village / city is a great place to wander around and see the sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    288
    123
    30
    5
See reviews for
200
184
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If you are touring the Normandy battlefields, this hotel is a good choice for you. It is clean, quiet and central to the battlefields, although it is a little walk into the town. The restaurant is good with some excellent choices, all understandable in English. The breakfast is substantial and good. It is on the route of coaches of travellers but this does not inhibit the smaller groups in any way. I would recommend this Novotel immediately, the rooms are fairly spacious, the bathroom and shower also. The beds are one of the most comfortable of hotel chains I have stayed at save perhaps the Mercure chain. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ww1guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been in several Novotel hotels and this one needs a facelift soon. However, service was good and we enjoyed a good night sleep. Room size was on the small side with all basic conveniences. Downtown Bayeux is 15' walk or 5' by car. If you plan to visit D-Day Beaches and towns this is probably the best town to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelandfood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is a convenient location when visiting the beaches of Normandy. I was generous in giving it four stars - it's more like 3.5. The rooms are smallish; the lighting is poor for reading; there's a tiny desk in the room; free wifi; no safe in the room; there is a refrigerator; and the step-in tub/shower is more than 26" high - quite a leap to get in and out. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

There are restaurants about a 10 minute away and there's also a market nearby.

The breakfast is fresh and nicely presented. Dinner was also pretty good.

Again, it's a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This Novotel is an average hotel at best. The restaurant serves overpriced reheated meals and room cleaning can't even be bothered to place the throw pillows back on the bed, the wi-fi is crappy too, but at the end of the day this hotel is clean and comfortable enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift and private office otherwise you will struggle to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnoamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
649 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We used Bayeux as our point of departure for touring the Normandy Beaches. It was a good choice. This hotel is easy to find and provides easy driving access to the beaches and the town. Parking was easy out front of the hotel. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was quite good. We were just a few minutes drive from the museum with the Bayeux tapestry. It is worth a morning side trip to visit the tapestry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying at a Novotel hotel. The room was very clean and nice. The only complaint I have about it is that the toilet room is in a weird place - right next to the main door into the room. The space between the toilet and the swinging door to close the toilet room is too minimal - even for a fit person, one has to squeeze to the side of the toilet to get this door closed.

The room was clean, the free internet service was great, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff were always very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rika06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing