We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel is Good”
Review of Novotel Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bayeux
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Novotel is Good”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good hotel, comfortable rooms, good food. Wifi was somewhat anemic, and it is quite a walk to the center of town. All in all good value for the money. Friendly staff, nice swimming pool, plenty of parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    293
    128
    31
    5
See reviews for
202
191
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a general touring base for this area of Normandy area it is fine , easy to get parked and get onto the main roads. As a base for Bayeux itself, it's a bit far out for just nipping not town, each walk is a bit of an expedition especially if it's rainy.
Rooms are a bit basic , but good bathrooms.
Reception staff q nice.
Breakfast was mixed, first day was totally disorganised and running out of things (complained at reception but no follow-up from them)but ok other days.
Annoying incident : had seen people eating in bar area. When we asked to do same, we were refused. I think I can guess why.
Q thin walls and quite a bit of noise from reception.
We had two rooms and I was v disappointed with room allocated to my sons at top of stairs.
Won't come back, will try in town next time.

Room Tip: High floor away from stairs / lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here two nights while I was touring Normandy. It was very near the British cemetary and the Normandy Battle Museum. It is also just a roundabout exit away from all the D-Day beaches and tours. The staff was very very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and basic. The only thing is there was little soundproofing for the hallway so I could hear people slamming their room doors and talking in the hall. It didn't bother me but light sleepers might want to bring earplugs. Free parking and breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globe_trotter818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our room was clean, nice and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is well situated with just a 10-15 minute walk into Bayeux and good road connections for sightseeing in Normandy. Breakfast was very nice. The staff were very polite and helpful, they spoke excellent English but helped us practice our French as well!

Room Tip: Room 121 at the end of the first floor corridor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiloh,Illinois
Level Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I’ve stayed twice at this hotel once in June of 2004 and now in July 2014. Enjoyed both overnight stays. Pros: Large comfortable room, air-conditioning, very friendly staff, free parking. The hotel is also very convenient as a base to explore Normandy’s historical sites and a quick 3 minute drive or 20 minute walk to a café or bistro for lunch or dinner. Cons: Really none except I’d plan on eating off site. We did have breakfast there which was the standard fare. Don’t expect a Marriott level of comfort and services just a nice hotel to relax at after a long day of exploring. Will stay again next time in Bayeux

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdc3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Comfortable but basic room. Breakfast choices limited and because the big groups raided the food in the part reserved for private guests, things ran out very quickly. Excellent location and good parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a trip through France. At first glance this is not a great hotel, but once inside it's not bad at all. The rooms are of good size and have very comfortable beds and are very quiet. I especially like the toilet being outside of the main bedroom area in a separate lobby. The hotel is very convenient for town, the sites and the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bayeux

Property: Novotel Bayeux
Address: 117 rue Saint Patrice | Rond Point de Vaucelles, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayeux
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bayeux 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bayeux hotel is located between Caen and Cherbourg, 0.6 Miles (1 km) from the famous tapestry, the old town and close to the landing beaches. It offers 77 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant and a bar, as well as 4 fully-equipped conference rooms for meetings and seminars. This hotel is perfect for both business travel and family vacations to Normandy. Facilities include free car park, swimming pool and landscaped. LED TV 40 "with 50 channels including BE IN SPORT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bayeux Hotel Bayeux
Bayeux Novotel
Accor Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing