We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
323
326
105
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
326
105
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatortom hanksautographed photosmovie starsparking spacereserved parkingparking spotcharming hotelthe main streetold worldd day beachestrain stationlounge areastay there againbayeux tapestrythird floortop floor
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In October we stayed here for 3 nights.
A nice, small hotel with friendly staff.
Beds are comfortable, wifi is very good, breakfast in
the hotel was good. The woman at the front desk helped
us find a wonderful tour guide for the Normandy beaches.
The battlefields are near by with great museums nearby, also.

Lion d'Or is a very famous hotel which has had many well known
guests over the past 70+ years. From General Eisenhower to
Tom Hanks. Pictures all over the lounge area.

Our only complaint was no elevator. For an old guy with knees
reaching their million mile check up it was a bit of a problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first or second floor. Don't forget the ground floor is 0.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troytraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is absolutely charming, the staff extremely helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast buffet delicious. The only reason I don't give it a perfect rating would be due to the fact that the rooms could use a facelift! I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location, friendly people. The lounge and fireplace are great. Nothing really POPS about this place, the room is a little small, bed not super comfortable, and to be honest, it was a little pricey for what we got. Bayeux is a competitive region and I know I could get something better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovecorndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed at Le Lion d'Or on a weekend trip to tour the d-day sites. The location was perfect, quiet since set off the main street but in the middle of town with tons of restaurants and shops nearby and parking available. The hotel itself was nice, clean and lots of character. The breakfast buffet was simple but good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you have stayed at other establishments that use the "Logis de France" brand, you will know what I mean when I say that this place is a little quirky. A little collection of antiques (including an old telephone switchboard) in the lobby gives you an idea of what to expect when you arrive, and I can only imagine what Channel 4's "Hotel Inspector" would have to say.

For all that, we got a warm welcome, and were well looked-after, even when my son was unfortunately ill during our first night. We had a spacious and comfortable room with reasonable facilities - albeit up three flights of stairs with no lift. The reward for that climb was a great view over the hotel's courtyard towards the Cathedral. The courtyard itself provides parking and means that the hotel is set back from the road and therefore quiet.

We did not use the restaurant (apart from breakfast), as the menu did not float our boat and the town (which is on the doorstep) offers plenty of choice. Breakfast was good, but not exceptional. The hotel bar makes a comfortable spot for a night cap if your are returning from eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews