We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel in great location”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here five nights. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were helpful in every way. The hotel itself is in need of some attention. I love older hotels. But with an older building attention to maintenance is even more important. The physical structure needs some attention. (I do have to add that electricians and carpenters were working while I was there.)

The location can't be beat. You're in the center of town and walking distance to everything including the train station. Breakfast was great. Again, the front desk staff went above and beyond many times.

Room Tip: Check out the photos and autographs in the bar. You're in living history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I got off the train in Bayeux looking for a D-Day tour and walked to this hotel. They were very helpful finding me a tour guide by calling 4 different places. The rooms are perfect, there is a private bar downstairs with a real fireplace. The breakfast was done up with fresh breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, meats, bread, pudding, and other things. Super happy. D. Eisenhower stayed there, Tom Hanks, and many others. Perfect for France. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This fall was the third time we stayed at Le Lion, but this is my first review of Le Lion.

This time, it was a spontaneous, last minute booking for just one night.

Looking at the previously posted guest photos I must note that we have never had problems like those shown in the photos illustrating problems with their rooms.

The first two times, 2006 and 2008 we stayed in the same room. In 2013 we had a different room. Our rooms have always been clean and nice although the hotel seems to have gone down hill, bit by bit, on each of our visits.

Our room this time, 31, was smaller than our previous room, was nice and clean but had a funky smell, probably deodorizer. The lighting was a bit dim, and the carpet was showing some wear and soil. There was a sour drain smell in the bathroom, something we had not experienced previously.

Our rooms have always been quiet.

The hotel has good amenities and free wi fi.

There is no lift and there were 53 steps up to our room.

Yes, you have to reserve for parking and it is an extra charge. Knowing what parking is like in France and Spain, especially at historic hotels, we are glad to pay for it. Even with the limited number of spaces, we have always been able to get parking here.

We like that it is a historic hotel and has been for many years. We like the view from our room and its central location.

The desk staff usually has good English and is friendly and helpful, although, like everywhere, some are more friendly/helpful than others. On our last stay, the clerk cheerfully called ahead to another hotel in their chain to make sure that our next hotel had a view room available and then made a reservation for us. We appreciated this extra help.

Breakfast at Lion is a good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, rolls, etc. On our first visit we had dinner in the dining room and found it overpriced with slow service. Since then we have walked to different neighborhood restaurants, all of which were better.

At this point we are undecided. If we return to Bayeux we may look for a different hotel, depending upon price, parking and location. Or, we may choose the Le Lion again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXANDRE M, Propriétaire at Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions vivement, tout d'abord pour votre fidélité à l'établissement et pour votre avis.

Celui ci compte et a son importance pour nous améliorer et mieux vous recevoir.

Nous avons bien noté les éléments de satisfaction et nos marges de progrès.

Ainsi, nous sommes en train de changer les moquettes dans tout l'établissement ou encore le parquet dans d'autres chambres.

Nous regrettons le problème d'eau dans la vidange et le désagrément olfactif. Nous retenons en revanche que les parfums d'ambiance vous ont plu comme à beaucoup d'autres clients.

Il en est de même pour le petit déjeuner, qui semble t-il vous a satisfait.

J'ai fait part à mon responsable de restaurant de votre appréciation pour le délai de service. Nous nous permettons d'attirer votre attention sur les prix de notre restaurant qui, certes vont jusqu'à 56 € pour le plus haut menu, mais commence à 15 € le midi et 23 € le soir. Des menus, basés uniquement sur des produits frais, travaillés et préparés par notre Chef et son équipe.

Nous continuerons donc à travailler pour vous accueillir au mieux une prochaine fois. Nous l'espérons sincèrement.

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were referred to this hotel by another hotel owner who was closed so wasn't sure what we would find. Wouldn't have gone anywhere else. It had a lot of charm, the staff was extremely helpful, and very convenient for us to drive to the beaches of Normandy, Omaha, etc. We did not have the chance to eat in their hotel. But our room was clean and have no complaints. We enjoy antiques and older finds. Read the previous review and I can tell you we did not stay at the same place they did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnRonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed with family in December - reviews of previous occupants paint a very false picture. Over priced and lacking any charm. May have been exclusive in the sixties, seventies, eighties and nineties - certainly not now. Avoid the hotel! Smells of damp, carpet is worn and coming Apart, especially on stairs. No kettle, cup or anything else to have a cuppa with. Breakfast is a joke. If you are not early then selection is so poor staff have to go to the shop to restock. Bread was rationed, oranges ran out twice. Overpriced for what you get. More choice and better food in town. Television channels were not what was advertised and information guide in room contradicted what was available. Staff member didn't know how to fix or work problem out. Would not recommend to anyone. Better facilities at other end of town. Restaurant was closed and even if open so over priced you wouldn't eat there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful small hotel with more history than you could ever imagine! The lounge is lined with autographed photographs of many famous people. The layout of this charmer is unique and each room is different ! We had a suite like room with a charming appeal. The town outside was Medieval and a great spot to hang out in with great dining before going on a 30 minute ride to Normandy beach! A short walk to the train station takes you back to Paris! Loved it there

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In October we stayed here for 3 nights.
A nice, small hotel with friendly staff.
Beds are comfortable, wifi is very good, breakfast in
the hotel was good. The woman at the front desk helped
us find a wonderful tour guide for the Normandy beaches.
The battlefields are near by with great museums nearby, also.

Lion d'Or is a very famous hotel which has had many well known
guests over the past 70+ years. From General Eisenhower to
Tom Hanks. Pictures all over the lounge area.

Our only complaint was no elevator. For an old guy with knees
reaching their million mile check up it was a bit of a problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first or second floor. Don't forget the ground floor is 0.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troytraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Address: 71 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing