We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Book now, pay at stay
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile De Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$374/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
310
322
104
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
322
104
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatortom hanksautographed photosmovie starsparking spacereserved parkinghistoric hotelparking spotthe main streetlovely hotelold worldlounge aread day beachestrain stationbayeux tapestrythird floorwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here five nights. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were helpful in every way. The hotel itself is in need of some attention. I love older hotels. But with an older building attention to maintenance is even more important. The physical structure needs some attention. (I do have to add that electricians and carpenters were working while I was there.)

The location can't be beat. You're in the center of town and walking distance to everything including the train station. Breakfast was great. Again, the front desk staff went above and beyond many times.

Room Tip: Check out the photos and autographs in the bar. You're in living history.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I got off the train in Bayeux looking for a D-Day tour and walked to this hotel. They were very helpful finding me a tour guide by calling 4 different places. The rooms are perfect, there is a private bar downstairs with a real fireplace. The breakfast was done up with fresh breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, meats, bread, pudding, and other things. Super happy. D. Eisenhower stayed there, Tom Hanks, and many others. Perfect for France. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This fall was the third time we stayed at Le Lion, but this is my first review of Le Lion.

This time, it was a spontaneous, last minute booking for just one night.

Looking at the previously posted guest photos I must note that we have never had problems like those shown in the photos illustrating problems with their rooms.

The first two times, 2006 and 2008 we stayed in the same room. In 2013 we had a different room. Our rooms have always been clean and nice although the hotel seems to have gone down hill, bit by bit, on each of our visits.

Our room this time, 31, was smaller than our previous room, was nice and clean but had a funky smell, probably deodorizer. The lighting was a bit dim, and the carpet was showing some wear and soil. There was a sour drain smell in the bathroom, something we had not experienced previously.

Our rooms have always been quiet.

The hotel has good amenities and free wi fi.

There is no lift and there were 53 steps up to our room.

Yes, you have to reserve for parking and it is an extra charge. Knowing what parking is like in France and Spain, especially at historic hotels, we are glad to pay for it. Even with the limited number of spaces, we have always been able to get parking here.

We like that it is a historic hotel and has been for many years. We like the view from our room and its central location.

The desk staff usually has good English and is friendly and helpful, although, like everywhere, some are more friendly/helpful than others. On our last stay, the clerk cheerfully called ahead to another hotel in their chain to make sure that our next hotel had a view room available and then made a reservation for us. We appreciated this extra help.

Breakfast at Lion is a good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, rolls, etc. On our first visit we had dinner in the dining room and found it overpriced with slow service. Since then we have walked to different neighborhood restaurants, all of which were better.

At this point we are undecided. If we return to Bayeux we may look for a different hotel, depending upon price, parking and location. Or, we may choose the Le Lion again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXANDRE M, Propriétaire at HOTEL Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions vivement, tout d'abord pour votre fidélité à l'établissement et pour votre avis.

Celui ci compte et a son importance pour nous améliorer et mieux vous recevoir.

Nous avons bien noté les éléments de satisfaction et nos marges de progrès.

Ainsi, nous sommes en train de changer les moquettes dans tout l'établissement ou encore le parquet dans d'autres chambres.

Nous regrettons le problème d'eau dans la vidange et le désagrément olfactif. Nous retenons en revanche que les parfums d'ambiance vous ont plu comme à beaucoup d'autres clients.

Il en est de même pour le petit déjeuner, qui semble t-il vous a satisfait.

J'ai fait part à mon responsable de restaurant de votre appréciation pour le délai de service. Nous nous permettons d'attirer votre attention sur les prix de notre restaurant qui, certes vont jusqu'à 56 € pour le plus haut menu, mais commence à 15 € le midi et 23 € le soir. Des menus, basés uniquement sur des produits frais, travaillés et préparés par notre Chef et son équipe.

Nous continuerons donc à travailler pour vous accueillir au mieux une prochaine fois. Nous l'espérons sincèrement.

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were referred to this hotel by another hotel owner who was closed so wasn't sure what we would find. Wouldn't have gone anywhere else. It had a lot of charm, the staff was extremely helpful, and very convenient for us to drive to the beaches of Normandy, Omaha, etc. We did not have the chance to eat in their hotel. But our room was clean and have no complaints. We enjoy antiques and older finds. Read the previous review and I can tell you we did not stay at the same place they did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnRonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed with family in December - reviews of previous occupants paint a very false picture. Over priced and lacking any charm. May have been exclusive in the sixties, seventies, eighties and nineties - certainly not now. Avoid the hotel! Smells of damp, carpet is worn and coming Apart, especially on stairs. No kettle, cup or anything else to have a cuppa with. Breakfast is a joke. If you are not early then selection is so poor staff have to go to the shop to restock. Bread was rationed, oranges ran out twice. Overpriced for what you get. More choice and better food in town. Television channels were not what was advertised and information guide in room contradicted what was available. Staff member didn't know how to fix or work problem out. Would not recommend to anyone. Better facilities at other end of town. Restaurant was closed and even if open so over priced you wouldn't eat there.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews