We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
323
326
105
35
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
326
105
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatortom hanksautographed photosmovie starsparking spacereserved parkingparking spotcharming hotelthe main streetold worldd day beachestrain stationlounge areastay there againbayeux tapestrythird floortop floor
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 805 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is located at the start of the main street and easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and the Cathedral.

The room was large by French standards however I was not sure of the African theme decode. The reception and bar areas are typical Normandy and are filled with D Day photos.

Staff (I think his name was NJ?) was extremely helpful, spoke very good English and went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.

The Wifi was dodgy and did not work the first night. The breakfast (continental) was somewhat expensive for what you get. If I was to return to Bayeux I would return to the hotel but not necessary room 2A.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 2A (with the African themed decore) which was outside of the main hotel building (not far). I would recommend you try to stay in the main building.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here five nights. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were helpful in every way. The hotel itself is in need of some attention. I love older hotels. But with an older building attention to maintenance is even more important. The physical structure needs some attention. (I do have to add that electricians and carpenters were working while I was there.)

The location can't be beat. You're in the center of town and walking distance to everything including the train station. Breakfast was great. Again, the front desk staff went above and beyond many times.

Room Tip: Check out the photos and autographs in the bar. You're in living history.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I got off the train in Bayeux looking for a D-Day tour and walked to this hotel. They were very helpful finding me a tour guide by calling 4 different places. The rooms are perfect, there is a private bar downstairs with a real fireplace. The breakfast was done up with fresh breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, meats, bread, pudding, and other things. Super happy. D. Eisenhower stayed there, Tom Hanks, and many others. Perfect for France. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This fall was the third time we stayed at Le Lion, but this is my first review of Le Lion.

This time, it was a spontaneous, last minute booking for just one night.

Looking at the previously posted guest photos I must note that we have never had problems like those shown in the photos illustrating problems with their rooms.

The first two times, 2006 and 2008 we stayed in the same room. In 2013 we had a different room. Our rooms have always been clean and nice although the hotel seems to have gone down hill, bit by bit, on each of our visits.

Our room this time, 31, was smaller than our previous room, was nice and clean but had a funky smell, probably deodorizer. The lighting was a bit dim, and the carpet was showing some wear and soil. There was a sour drain smell in the bathroom, something we had not experienced previously.

Our rooms have always been quiet.

The hotel has good amenities and free wi fi.

There is no lift and there were 53 steps up to our room.

Yes, you have to reserve for parking and it is an extra charge. Knowing what parking is like in France and Spain, especially at historic hotels, we are glad to pay for it. Even with the limited number of spaces, we have always been able to get parking here.

We like that it is a historic hotel and has been for many years. We like the view from our room and its central location.

The desk staff usually has good English and is friendly and helpful, although, like everywhere, some are more friendly/helpful than others. On our last stay, the clerk cheerfully called ahead to another hotel in their chain to make sure that our next hotel had a view room available and then made a reservation for us. We appreciated this extra help.

Breakfast at Lion is a good selection of cold cuts, cheeses, rolls, etc. On our first visit we had dinner in the dining room and found it overpriced with slow service. Since then we have walked to different neighborhood restaurants, all of which were better.

At this point we are undecided. If we return to Bayeux we may look for a different hotel, depending upon price, parking and location. Or, we may choose the Le Lion again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXANDRE M, Propriétaire at HOTEL Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions vivement, tout d'abord pour votre fidélité à l'établissement et pour votre avis.

Celui ci compte et a son importance pour nous améliorer et mieux vous recevoir.

Nous avons bien noté les éléments de satisfaction et nos marges de progrès.

Ainsi, nous sommes en train de changer les moquettes dans tout l'établissement ou encore le parquet dans d'autres chambres.

Nous regrettons le problème d'eau dans la vidange et le désagrément olfactif. Nous retenons en revanche que les parfums d'ambiance vous ont plu comme à beaucoup d'autres clients.

Il en est de même pour le petit déjeuner, qui semble t-il vous a satisfait.

J'ai fait part à mon responsable de restaurant de votre appréciation pour le délai de service. Nous nous permettons d'attirer votre attention sur les prix de notre restaurant qui, certes vont jusqu'à 56 € pour le plus haut menu, mais commence à 15 € le midi et 23 € le soir. Des menus, basés uniquement sur des produits frais, travaillés et préparés par notre Chef et son équipe.

Nous continuerons donc à travailler pour vous accueillir au mieux une prochaine fois. Nous l'espérons sincèrement.

La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were referred to this hotel by another hotel owner who was closed so wasn't sure what we would find. Wouldn't have gone anywhere else. It had a lot of charm, the staff was extremely helpful, and very convenient for us to drive to the beaches of Normandy, Omaha, etc. We did not have the chance to eat in their hotel. But our room was clean and have no complaints. We enjoy antiques and older finds. Read the previous review and I can tell you we did not stay at the same place they did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnRonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews