We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming place to stay in Bayeux”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great stay for 4 nights. The staff here is beyond compare. It was my father's birthday, and they even set us up for a small group in the library with a cake. Couldn't have been nicer! We found the hotel absolutely charming. Our room was elegant. We paid for a parking spot. (You do everywhere in France) It was a great base for the D-day beaches, Mont Saint Michel, and the tapestry. The food in their dining room was excellent. I'm puzzled by some of the comments. If you want free parking and a washcloth, stay in the US. If you want old world charm and excellent service, stay at the Lion D'Or.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The good:

Location

The bad:

The parking lot is tiny, if you want a space, you have to pay for it.
No elevator
Hotel smells of whatever they served for dinner each time you walk through the door.
No ice available
2 small bath towels and two hand towels were provided, no washcloths.
No a/c
The bathroom floor is so cold that it feels like you are being stabbed with each step you take.
No shower curtain, shower head is about 5 feet high, fine for me, not so much for my other half who is 6'3
They give you actual keys, which you are supposed to turn into the desk each time you leave.
If you go out at night, be prepared to be back by 11 or they lock the gates.
Room was cute and had bed and breakfast type of feel, but it stunk. It smell like it was full of mildew.
Two twin beds pushed together to make a king sized, oh how I love sleeping on the crack.
The walls are thin and the floor creaks, we were able to hear the people above us walking around most of the night.
The wi-fi is awful. It goes on and off and you have to keep signing back in. The username and passwords are random letters, numbers and characters. Its a pain.

The ugly:

Lets start with my favorite:

Around 1:30 a.m. the fire alarm starts going off. a few minutes later there is a knock at our door, due to no peephole, we open it. There stands a man wearing all black, does not identify himself, but barges into the room to ask if we are smoking. We assure him, we are not. He then says he is going to check the room and goes into our bathroom. He tells us that because someone took a hotel shower, we caused the fire alarm to go off. This makes no sense as it was a 5 minute, lukewarm shower. This situation scared us both, we had no idea who this man was (and still really don't) but for him to barge into our room with no apology was extremely inappropriate.

We took a 2 hour day trip to another city, but I wasn't feeling well so we drove the 2 hours back so I could rest. We got up to the room only to find that some type of construction was being done below us. They were using a jack hammer and drills pretty much non-stop. We ended up having to get up and just go wonder around the city as the noise was more than I could handle.

And finally, the first night we got there, we were celebrating a birthday. We asked for 4 glasses and ice from the front desk, they wouldn't give us either. We asked for 4 champagne flutes and they didn't want to give them to us unless we bought the champagne from this.

Needless to stay, we will never being staying at this place again and would recommend other to stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dshatch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXANDRE M, Propriétaire at Le Lion d'Or, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014
Google Translation

Il semble vraiment que votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel ne vous ait pas plu.

Nous le regrettons vivement et vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

Nous tenons tout de même à vous préciser certains points :

Le gardien est présent toute la nuit et ferme la porte au retour des derniers clients puisque notre parking est gardé et fermé. Il est au service des clients qui souhaitent à tout moment de la nuit aller et venir au dehors et au-dedans de notre établissement.

Votre chambre a été refaite entièrement au niveau de son mobilier, dont le lit qui est tout neuf, tout comme les linges de lit La salle de bain a été refaite récemment également.

L’ensemble des lits de l’hôtel ont été changés en 2013 et cette année.

Les services de l’hôtel comprennent autant de serviettes que vous le souhaitez avec une base de deux par personne. Il suffit de nous le demander et vous les mettons en chambre.

Tout comme les verres, seau à champagne, glaçons etc…autant sont fournis en fonction des demandes en chambre et pour des bouteilles achetées à l’extérieur de l’établissement. Nous mettons même des bouteilles au frais très régulièrement

Pour l’alarme incendie, il est toujours délicat de déranger les clients dans ces moments là. Et encore plus en pleine nuit. L’alarme indiquait votre chambre, c’est pour cela, que notre responsable s’est permis de vous déranger mais en respecter les règles d’usages.

Pour le bruit du parquet,, oui il y en a un peu, mais quel établissement ancien n’en a pas, l’hotel datant du 18e siècle !

Nous avons changé la moquette dans l’ensemble des parties communes, épaisse, elle permet de masquer les éventuels bruits. Surtout, elle donne une belle luminosité et un beau caché.

Nous vous adressons une nouvelle fois nos plus vifs regrets sur votre insatisfaction et continuerons à travailler au bon accueil de nos clients, afin de les satisfaire, comme d’autres qui en ont d’ailleurs témoigné dans leurs avis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Lion d'Or for the second time recently for five nights. The carpets on the main and first floors don't match. There's a musty smell to the place. The carpets are stained and ripped in places and the fabric lined walls are stained as well. If these things bother you, don't stay here.

We, however, did not mind these things and looked at the hotel as it was: like going back in time. The hotel is peaceful and quiet since it's set back from the main street, We were able to keep the windows open at night and hear the birds chirping and the cathedral bells chiming in the distance. It was a lovely stay. Our only mishap was the last night when the fire alarm went off for no apparent reason - at 1:00am. We were assured there was "no problem" but it was hard to go back to sleep after the noise.

Food: The hotel has a restaurant which we ate at one morning for breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet only and is charged to your room. There's good cold cuts, breads and juices on the buffet and overall it was really good. We did not dine at the restaurant for dinner.

Car Park: The hotel parking situation is a bit tricky. I don't think cars were ever intended to park in this courtyard, but they make it work. We had to pull the car out of our assigned place to load it up in the morning and to get in to the passenger side of the car (they park you really, really close to one another). Parking was 9 Euro per night and can be reserved when you reserve your room.

Location: The hotel is ideally situated on the main street of town, close to a ton of restaurants and close to the excursion departure location, There's also a small supermarket down the street and self-serve laundry facilities down the street as well. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmbonin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

It's not trying to be anything other than an average hotel. Yes it's old and decor is tired, but staff are very friendly and it does what it says on the tin. If you want to use their car park €9 per day/night, book in advance as there are only 15 spaces. Be warned, no lift, so be prepared to carry your bags. I'd use it again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DRMster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The helpful staff and charming ambience of the hotel was a big plus. The breakfast buffets were outstanding and featured some special dishes created by their chef that you don't see in the typical buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently stayed at Le Lion d'or with our two adult sons and their partners while visiting the Second World War sites. The Hotel is set in a charming courtyard, with off road parking. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was a high-light of everyday with a wide choice of extremely delicious food, a marvellous juicer & fresh warm pastries & croissant from the bakers. The rooms are simple in décor, but attractive, and very good value for money being right in the centre of Bayeux. We would definitely stay there again when we next visit Bayeux.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is located at the start of the main street and easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and the Cathedral.

The room was large by French standards however I was not sure of the African theme decode. The reception and bar areas are typical Normandy and are filled with D Day photos.

Staff (I think his name was NJ?) was extremely helpful, spoke very good English and went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.

The Wifi was dodgy and did not work the first night. The breakfast (continental) was somewhat expensive for what you get. If I was to return to Bayeux I would return to the hotel but not necessary room 2A.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 2A (with the African themed decore) which was outside of the main hotel building (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Address: 71 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £58 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing