We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and lacking in atmosphere and charm”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overpriced and lacking in atmosphere and charm”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This small hotel is in a brilliant location for a short stop off in Bayeux. The rooms are small, basic and clean. However ... the bar which looks charming and welcoming in photos was in fact unmanned, unopened and far from cosy. Our room rate did not include breakfast and when compared with other accommodation during our trip to Normandy, I feel it was over priced. be warned - we were given 3 rooms on the top floor and there is no elevator neither was there an offer to carry our luggage. I would not recommend this hotel - when waking round town there were others that had greater charm!

Room Tip: aim for the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeyelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    294
    100
    32
    14
See reviews for
134
378
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Within walking distance from train station. Small quaint rooms - small continental breakfast, or pay a lot for hot breakfast. Quiet room, clean, small, wifi. No elevators, but staff carries luggage up to room.
Bayeux is not a very big town, so hotel is within walking distance of many cafés, Stores, mini market, etc.
Best part was taking tour of Normandy American Military Cemetery, Omaha and Utah beaches, and WW2 historical sites. Get a tour guide for sure. we recommend Katell, who is outstanding!!,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Old quaint hotel situated in the middle of town was great. The staff was pleasant and accomodating always and the morning buffet was really quite plentiful and delicious. The roomwe got on the 2nd floor did nothave much of a view,.'just the top of some building. However, the bath was large and newly remodeled. The room was clean and nicely decorated. No complaints!!
.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard. Also, be prepare to climb stairs since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pina112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Charming hotel well located in Bayeux. There is no elevator so request a room on the ground floor if you don't want to carry your luggage. Free wifi but it is spotty at times, best reception is in the main area of the hotel. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was very good. The staff were very nice and helpful in particular NJ (sp?). Many local restaurants are steps away for breakfast lunch and dinner. Great location for the D Day tours and to visit Mont St Michel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2busy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Location to not only city sites but also for great day trips to the american cemetery, german cemetery, and other local sites. The hotel was comfortable and the staff helpful. My room had a great towel warmer which allowed me to dry out my clothes after being caught in a hard rain down pour. My mother's room did not though. But she loved her room nonetheless. We found the restaurant dinner food limited but good. And the breakfast very pleasing. Especially the fresh squeezed orange juice. Make sure to reserve your car parking if you arrive by car. And if you have a large car, reserve two spots side by side. This is common in France so not to concern yourself and yes, you will pay for parking which is also common. So don't let that bother you. There is no elevator in the hotel so if you can not do stairs there is one room at least on the ground floor. I am in one of them and while the floor of my room may be cold, the room is warm with 2 heater and a magnificent towel warmer. Just wear slipper. I could not be happier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooksidePuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great stay for 4 nights. The staff here is beyond compare. It was my father's birthday, and they even set us up for a small group in the library with a cake. Couldn't have been nicer! We found the hotel absolutely charming. Our room was elegant. We paid for a parking spot. (You do everywhere in France) It was a great base for the D-day beaches, Mont Saint Michel, and the tapestry. The food in their dining room was excellent. I'm puzzled by some of the comments. If you want free parking and a washcloth, stay in the US. If you want old world charm and excellent service, stay at the Lion D'Or.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The good:

Location

The bad:

The parking lot is tiny, if you want a space, you have to pay for it.
No elevator
Hotel smells of whatever they served for dinner each time you walk through the door.
No ice available
2 small bath towels and two hand towels were provided, no washcloths.
No a/c
The bathroom floor is so cold that it feels like you are being stabbed with each step you take.
No shower curtain, shower head is about 5 feet high, fine for me, not so much for my other half who is 6'3
They give you actual keys, which you are supposed to turn into the desk each time you leave.
If you go out at night, be prepared to be back by 11 or they lock the gates.
Room was cute and had bed and breakfast type of feel, but it stunk. It smell like it was full of mildew.
Two twin beds pushed together to make a king sized, oh how I love sleeping on the crack.
The walls are thin and the floor creaks, we were able to hear the people above us walking around most of the night.
The wi-fi is awful. It goes on and off and you have to keep signing back in. The username and passwords are random letters, numbers and characters. Its a pain.

The ugly:

Lets start with my favorite:

Around 1:30 a.m. the fire alarm starts going off. a few minutes later there is a knock at our door, due to no peephole, we open it. There stands a man wearing all black, does not identify himself, but barges into the room to ask if we are smoking. We assure him, we are not. He then says he is going to check the room and goes into our bathroom. He tells us that because someone took a hotel shower, we caused the fire alarm to go off. This makes no sense as it was a 5 minute, lukewarm shower. This situation scared us both, we had no idea who this man was (and still really don't) but for him to barge into our room with no apology was extremely inappropriate.

We took a 2 hour day trip to another city, but I wasn't feeling well so we drove the 2 hours back so I could rest. We got up to the room only to find that some type of construction was being done below us. They were using a jack hammer and drills pretty much non-stop. We ended up having to get up and just go wonder around the city as the noise was more than I could handle.

And finally, the first night we got there, we were celebrating a birthday. We asked for 4 glasses and ice from the front desk, they wouldn't give us either. We asked for 4 champagne flutes and they didn't want to give them to us unless we bought the champagne from this.

Needless to stay, we will never being staying at this place again and would recommend other to stay away!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dshatch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXANDRE M, Propriétaire at Le Lion d'Or, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Google Translation
Il semble vraiment que votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel ne vous ait pas plu.

Nous le regrettons vivement et vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

Nous tenons tout de même à vous préciser certains points :

Le gardien est présent toute la nuit et ferme la porte au retour des derniers clients puisque notre parking est gardé et fermé. Il est au service des clients qui souhaitent à tout moment de la nuit aller et venir au dehors et au-dedans de notre établissement.

Votre chambre a été refaite entièrement au niveau de son mobilier, dont le lit qui est tout neuf, tout comme les linges de lit La salle de bain a été refaite récemment également.

L’ensemble des lits de l’hôtel ont été changés en 2013 et cette année.

Les services de l’hôtel comprennent autant de serviettes que vous le souhaitez avec une base de deux par personne. Il suffit de nous le demander et vous les mettons en chambre.

Tout comme les verres, seau à champagne, glaçons etc…autant sont fournis en fonction des demandes en chambre et pour des bouteilles achetées à l’extérieur de l’établissement. Nous mettons même des bouteilles au frais très régulièrement

Pour l’alarme incendie, il est toujours délicat de déranger les clients dans ces moments là. Et encore plus en pleine nuit. L’alarme indiquait votre chambre, c’est pour cela, que notre responsable s’est permis de vous déranger mais en respecter les règles d’usages.

Pour le bruit du parquet,, oui il y en a un peu, mais quel établissement ancien n’en a pas, l’hotel datant du 18e siècle !

Nous avons changé la moquette dans l’ensemble des parties communes, épaisse, elle permet de masquer les éventuels bruits. Surtout, elle donne une belle luminosité et un beau caché.

Nous vous adressons une nouvelle fois nos plus vifs regrets sur votre insatisfaction et continuerons à travailler au bon accueil de nos clients, afin de les satisfaire, comme d’autres qui en ont d’ailleurs témoigné dans leurs avis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Property: Le Lion d'Or
Address: 71 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing