We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to see Bayeux attractions, cycling base.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best way to see Bayeux attractions, cycling base.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was the BBC home base during WW2. The bar is full of pictures from WW2 era.
Nice, simple, french country hotel that is perfect for seeing the Bayeux tapestries (a must), cathedral, WW2 museum and local history museum. Great place to bike from into the countryside.

Restaurant breakfast and dinner is quite nice. Wine selection quite nice for being away from a major city. Be patient with the bar service. Reception staff doubles as the bar staff.

Agree with other com mentors...no AC in May/June is not a problem. No elevator isn't a major drawback either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethR157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    278
    96
    30
    14
See reviews for
122
356
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is not bad, but it's better days are past. While Eisenhower may have stayed here, we think there are better choices for us. Our room was up three flights of stairs, as there is no elevator. The building was built as a hotel, I believe, but our room had little sound proofing. We heard two different neighbors using their bathrooms in the evenings and mornings. The bed was not as comfy as in other European hotels we've visited, too soft and sages. You get the picture. On the plus side, our room was larger than many, and bright, breakfast was good, and the staff were friendly and eager to please. But this didn't make up for the ordinary accommodations. I'll close with a comment on location. If you want to be in the tourist area, this is a good place. Several bars and pizza places right outside. But that is not our thing, so it was not a plus for us. We loved Bayeux, however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerotech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel recommended by the local tourist office in Bayeux. The town presents a great light show at night and there are plenty of local street cafes in the area. You can also find free parking on one of the many side streets. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a beautiful courtyard for relaxing after a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for two days at Le Lion d'Or as our home base for the Normandy coastline. We stayed in the family suite and the accomodations were average. The location is perfect close to the main street in town and the Bayeux tapestry museum. We were a little disappointed to pay for parking in the lot but it also provided peace of mind to know that the front gate was locked at 11 pm each. The staff was helpful each time we approached them for various items (another roll of toilet paper when there wasn't enough to get us through the night, more towels required for 3 people staying in the room, directions to the beaches, etc). We went into this understanding knowing we were not staying at the Four Seasons so again, the accomodations met our need and from what I understand were considered similar to what various friends had shared about their accomodations. Experience Normandy and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagspacked2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

For options in Bayuex, this Hotel is great. Great location right in the heart of the main street, short walking distance to main city sites and train station. There is no elevator which isn't an issue for me, however some might need it. The room was nice, clean, good view of the courtyard. No a/c which also wasn't an issue we stayed in early May weather was in the 60's August might be different. The "king" bed was just two twins pushed together. The breakfast was a bit over priced for what was offered. Staff was friendly and spoke English which was helpful. Overall I would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamron801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excellent rooms; excellent service; excellent restauration. Very convenient for seeing the town. I will go there again, as would our friends. Bayeux is a very interesting, historical town and everything is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Worth spending extra on chambre superieure. Overnight stay so did not use swimming poolor fitness ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This small hotel is in a brilliant location for a short stop off in Bayeux. The rooms are small, basic and clean. However ... the bar which looks charming and welcoming in photos was in fact unmanned, unopened and far from cosy. Our room rate did not include breakfast and when compared with other accommodation during our trip to Normandy, I feel it was over priced. be warned - we were given 3 rooms on the top floor and there is no elevator neither was there an offer to carry our luggage. I would not recommend this hotel - when waking round town there were others that had greater charm!

Room Tip: aim for the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeyelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Property: Le Lion d'Or
Address: 71 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful setting, this former 18th-c coaching inn brings out best in comfort : 31 rooms shaded by blinds.Cosy and modern, with ochre hues, deep club chairs, Contemporary terrace furniture.Private parking, closed at night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lion d`Or Hotel Bayeux
Le Lion d Or Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing