We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Provincial France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Provincial France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Hotel d'Argouges, in Bayeux, France is a charming hotel located close to the heart of the historic city center.

It is hundreds of years old yet still provides high quality accommodation and service. It is in a quiet neighborhood.

The bedroom was modest in size, but the queen bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern with all amenities.

Breakfast was a lovely buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    372
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
337
595
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We loved this hotel. Wonderful ambience. Friendly staff. Upon arrival we had drinks in the lovely garden out back and just soaked up the atmosphere. Everything was spotlessly clean. Although the room furnishings were a bit tired, the bedding was very good and there were even extra pillows. The bathroom was large, bright and seemed like it had been very recently renovated (great shower). Good breakfast. Quiet location set back from the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of September. The location is excellent (within walking distance of the town centre) and there is plenty of secure car parking inside the hotel grounds. The buildings look traditional and very stylish from the outside which immediately creates a good feeling upon arrival. The garden at the rear adds to the ambience. I stayed in a (maybe the) hotel suite which consisted of 2 rooms plus a bathroom. My only slight grouse was that the bathroom had only a bath with a shower unit fitted onto the tap and nothing to hang it on. Wifi was fine..........worked perfectly and was pretty quick. The hotel does not serve dinner but breakfast was available and was of a reasonable quality. All-in-all a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located in the town of Bayeux. Breakfast is included, and is not bad at all. In a town like this, ratings have to be taken with a small grain of salt. For example, the rooms are dark, and almost antique in their furnishings. Still, it was comfortable and quiet, and the people could not have been nicer. There is also a small but very nice garden behind the hotel. The only real complaint I have is that the
towels were very old, and didn't do much more than move the water around, and there was no shower curtain, which meant that the bathroom got pretty wet. All things considered, though, it was a pleasant experience and the hotel is convenient to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have just spent one night there with my party of 23 people as we toured Brittany in our MG sports cars. The hotel was ideally located in the town centre and has excellent car parking facilities. With very helpful English speaking staff, the delightful hotel was a haven of peace and tranquillity with a lovely garden in which to enjoy drinks before dinner. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant there is a very good one 100m away. Not the cheapest hotel in town but thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and apart from a lack of a restaurant it was an enjoyable stay.
Very quiet so we slept well, which as we are both 78 years old is a great sucess.Car parking facilities are very good and spacious. Location ideal for wandering around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent four nights here at the start of two weeks driving around France. The location is wonderful...all the sites, such as the beaches, tapestry and Caen, are very convenient. We walked to dinner every night and had no trouble driving in and out of town. Room was one flight up, which was a bit tough with our luggage as there is no elevator. No A/C either, which was a problem due to unseasonably warm weather. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt very pleased with our choice of lodging in Bayeux!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadhall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Property: Hotel d'Argouges
Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing