We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My 18 year old daughter and were doing a two day DDay sites tour and used this Hotel as our base. It is a sort of "faded glory" place in the best sense of the word. It has its own courtyard and car park off the Main Street. The rooms are spacious, have modern bathrooms and the staff is courteous and helpful. We especially enjoyed the beautiful back courtyard where we enjoyed a late afternoon aperitif among the flowers. The only drawback for us was no elevator. We over packed so our over sized American suitcases gave us quite a work out. The breakfast was extra but well worth it. The breakfast room was beautiful and the breakfast well laid out and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the main hotel. Try to get one that is above the ground level. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel d'Argouges. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from the train station, and located near many of the town’s attractions. Our room was comfortable and well maintained, the price was right, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent three nights here recently. A really beautiful Hotel, with real charm and ambience. Our room was very good, and the bathroom large and very clean with a wonderful shower. Ideally placed in Bayeux for a walk out in the evening around the town. This is the second time we have stayed here. My only comment would be it is a little lacking in atmosphere. The front line staff were not that friendly, by this I mean they did not speak to us at all about our stay, just said the normal good morning greeting and then goodbye when we went out. Deathly quiet in the breakfast room, which I found rather offputting. But overall, the hotel is absolutely lovely, but I would not class it as particularly friendly. I have made this judgement after then moving on to stay in other hotels in Brittany and seeing very friendly staff. So to summarise, a great hotel but did not feel that welcome.

Room Tip: Stayed in a three bedded room which was lovely with a wonderful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loversofgoodfood047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dargouges, Front Office Manager at Hotel d'Argouges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our hotel and your room.

However, I was suprised to read your comments regarding the welcome which you did not find warm. Our staff has always a habit to provide the best welcome and take care of our guests during their stay in out hotel. The remarks are furthermore always positives in this way. I apologize that you have had another impression during your 3 night stay at out hotel.

I will definitely tell your remarks to our front desk staff because for me it's important that clients are welcomed warmly at our hotel during their whole stay.

I hope you spent a nice stay in Bayeux and Normandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Hotel D`Argouges which is just off one of the key "old city" streets of Bayeux (which means most city attractions are in walking distance). It is in a very pleasant setting well back from the street (therefore quiet), the assistance from the staff was at all times excellent, rooms were pleasant to stay in, breakfast was good and the whole experience made one want to return - almost just for the hotel if not what the rest of Bayeux had to offer - which is a lot!
Staff helpfulness and the gardens / ambiance of the hotel itself were the "standouts" of the hotel.
Price was "value for money" - but not cheap

Room Tip: No tips - just stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

More like a cozy B & B, this charming hotel is just off the main street. It's a delight. Breakfast was good; the rooms were comfortable and clean, price reasonable, and we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a superior room and not much more money. Bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Everything and everyone was wonderful...The hotel was a fantastic historic building. There is a garden behind the hotel accessible to guests. It is beautiful, quiet, and peaceful. I was impressed with the gardens along the driveways that housed beautiful flowers as well and useable vegetable plants and fruit trees. The staff walked us to our room and explained the lay of the land giving us maps to find our way around the town and also get to the Normandy Beaches. Recommendations for dinner were yummy!
Centrally located...a definite must stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen71249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 great nights. The service makes this place truly stand out. We had trouble with our rental car and Marjorie from the hotel called them for us. She was so professional and made our problem disappear. Thank you again Marjorie!

The rooms are good for being built in the 1700. However, the bathroom had a rain shower, very new! The breakfast had huge cups of coffee that were refilled constantly in a beautiful ballroom. The outside had amazing gardens. I would definitely stay here again because of the service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing