We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quaint Hotel with Polished Staff”
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel d'Argouges. The staff was exceptional and the breakfast was quite delicious. The hotel is peaceful and well located in the town. The outdoor garden is quite lovely and you can have wine or snacks out there. There are two adorable dogs that our family enjoyed playing with. My only complaint would be that the pillows were not great. The bed was standard - nothing wrong with it, but not super deluxe. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoowabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Argouges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was the second occasion I has the pleasure of staying here. The apartment this time in the main building was much nicer than the room I had in the other building and stayed cooler as well. As to be expected in these older vintage homes, the lack of air conditioning can cause the room to be a bit warmer than you like for sleeping but if you keep the shades drawn during the daytime it helped. The staff is very sweet and helpful. The gardens in back is lovely both stay and night for coffee tea or wine! The apartment was perfect for our traveling family, this time with two of our children, ( teenagers) and my husband and I. I would stay a third time if returning to Bayeux!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaacitelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay - lovely hotel with lots of character. Excellent location in the city. The only negative was that there was no lift and there were stairs up to the front door as well as stairs up to your floor. We had heavy bags and felt that there should have been staff to help with the luggage.

Room Tip: No swimming pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It was not a TA recommendation, but from a friend who had stayed here previously. The staff was excellent, the location was excellent and for being in the middle of the city, you heard no outside noise. The breakfast was very good and their lounge was very welcoming with a good wine selection. Be careful though, if you like to take baths, only a few of the guest rooms have bathtubs, so be sure and state that at the time of your reservation. I got lucky!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our 4 night stay at the charming Hotel d'Argouges was one of the major highlights of a very long 5 week European holiday. My wife and I were based in Bayeux to undertake a very personal D Day pilgrimage. From the moment we arrived we experienced such warm and excellent hospitality and service from all staff. No request or query was too much trouble, especially for Marjorie and Hannie (this included ferrying our very heavy luggage to our room on the first floor until we returned to check in). The ladies took a genuine personal interest in our day's events and are excellent ambassadors for the hotel and also for Bayeux. Our room overlooked the beautiful garden at the back and it was so relaxing to return there each night after a day's touring. The modern bathroom was probably one of the best we have ever encountered in all our travels. Enjoying the wonderful buffet breakfast each morning in the spectacular traditionally furnished breakfast rooms was a sheer delight and a treat for the eyes. The overall ambience of the hotel is refined and elegant and yet very friendly and personable. We truly believe this hotel deserves a higher rating. We will definitely return to stay on our next trip to France. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear garden.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at the Hotel d'Argouges. It was a charming place with excellent and very knowledgeable staff. The backyard garden was peaceful and a wonderful place to just enjoy some nice weather. Our room was wonderful and the bed was the most comfortable bed we had on our entire 2.5 week trip in Europe. We loved every aspect of our stay and would stay again! As we left, we both agreed we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brittney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our second stay, and we will be booking again for next year. Perfect location in Bayeux with safe on-site parking, lots of restaurants and shops close by and easy walk to the British Cemetry. Hannie and Marjorie on reception go beyond to help and were so helpful with navigating us around on June 6th when the major roads were shut (they even went to the Town Hall to register us for the car pass for June 6th driving - it was waiting for us when we checked in). The Hotel is hidden away and the driveway opens up to a magnificent building, rooms are clean and traditional with ultra-modern bathroom - cleaned every day and we so appreciated coming back after a long, hot day to find chilled bottled water and glasses waiting for us. Breakfast has everything you could want - with copious amounts of coffee being topped up to wake me up. The garden is so relaxing and ended off each night perfectly with a night cap and chatting to either Hannie or Marjorie. Oh and, the amazing little dog Surie..... loves a tickle in the sunshine. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Room in the main building - - to truly enjoy the atmosphere
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £81 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing