We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Argouges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel d'Argouges
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fabulous old building that has maintained its charm whilst feeling very clean and sufficient for the modern traveller. Staff were superb and went out of their way to be helpful-very smiley folk who immediately put us at ease, despite my lack of French. Really relaxed atmosphere--seemed family run with a very personal touch. I didn't take the optional breakfast but it looked very good for a continental--instead I had coffee in the lovely intimate garden to the rear, complimentary refills were a nice touch. I would recommend this Hotel every time. If it had slightly more facilities, perhaps a pool it would definitely get 5* status!! Great value.

Room Tip: Our view of the rear garden was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    364
    67
    15
    6
See reviews for
329
583
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having spent 2 weeks in the Dordogne with my husband and parents we were homeward bound and organised this hotel very last minute for one night only, so that we could go to see the Bayeux Tapestry and the Normandy Landings beaches. It was by far the nicest place that we stayed on our trip to France. The location is perfect for exploring Bayeux and the welcome we received when we checked in was exceptional.

Our rooms where in a separate building at the side of the main hotel, which were originally the stables and maids quarters when the house was a private home. The rooms were decorated beautifully and the bathrooms very plush with lights that came on automatically when you walked in the room. The bed was so comfortable - it was the best night's sleep we had in the time we were away. The only down-side was that the room was very warm with no ability to cool it down other than opening a window which then meant that there was quite a lot of noise early in the morning from bottles being thrown in the bins at the back and people talking - but that wasn't a major issue for us.

Breakfast was excellent and all the staff extremely friendly, helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We would all thoroughly recommend this hotel, and in fact plan to go back to see more of the area at some stage - definitely using Hotel D'Argouges as our base.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I found this place thanks to Tripadvisor. It was everything the reviewers said it would be. The photos posted from other travelers were spot on. I loved the flower gardens and overall care of the property was superb. The room (28) we had was cozy and all we needed. The bathroom was newly remodeled. If there is a next time, I would ask for a higher room so we could open a window since there is no air conditioning. Luckily it was cool and comfy. I would have loved to have more time to play with the 2 adorable French bulldogs on staff! They were so well-behaved!

We opted for the morning breakfast. Here is where my review isn't as positive. We went into the dining area and it felt chaotic and slightly unorganized. There were a lot of people, which I understand however the waitress/coffee attendant approached us and seemed a bit frazzled. First, we speak very little French, and I said that to her. She asked us something more than once - which turns out she wanted to know our room number. We got that straightened out. It came time to find our way to the breakfast area, which had a nice mix of this and that. It appeared to have fresh eggs out but there was no way I was going to ask how to operate the appliance to prepare the egg. The attendant was not approachable at this point. Then came time for me to ask for cream for my coffee. The young lady was making her rounds table to table with the coffee pot. I asked for cream, she replied in French to me again. I had no idea what she was saying but she pointed in the next room. What would have been the harm in her simply bringing it to me? My husband went searching and found the cream. I was slightly embarrassing because clearly everyone else knew what she was saying. We loved the property and the kind lady who checked us in on the first day. You can take a chance on breakfast, however have your French ready!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room #28, I would choose higher so you can open a window as there is no air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanofPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I drove from Paris to Normandy for an overnight stay during the Easter holiday. It is a beautiful building just a few blocks from the center of town. We had a room on the second floor in the back. There is no elevator due to the age of the building so you will have to lift your luggage up the stairs.
Our room was large and the bed was wonderful. We slept with the window open and listened to the gentle sound of a spring rain as we slept. The bathroom was modern and we had no issue with hot water.
On Sunday morning, we had a lovely breakfast and then went to mass at Bayeux Cathedral

The staff was helpful and friendly and we were very satisfied with our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for the second time. Lovely building and setting and very friendly staff. Do wish they would put a kettle in the room with tea and coffee though - every hotel has this facility. Even the ferry cabins have this facility!! And why no shower when there is a bath? (Well there is a shower fitting on the tap but no screen). Still, a very pleasant place to stay and recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nlansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were welcomed into this hotel as if we were guests of the owners not just tourists. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast selection and setting were both nice. The outdoor patio is beautiful and inviting. The location is right by the market and all the old Bayeux places but you don't hear the noise because the home is set back into its own alcove. Will stay here anytime I visit Bayeux in the future.

Room Tip: A room looking out at the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1950Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I had lovely 2 days in this well located hotel with a pleasant and peaceful garden with seating.Easy walk to reach the main points of interest in Bayeux.Hotel staff were very welcoming and kind, breakfast is modest but sufficient.I recommend this hotel when visiting Bayeux and surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Argouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Argouges

Property: Hotel d'Argouges
Address: 21 rue Saint Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Argouges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel d'Argouges is situated in the town center of Bayeux. Close to the Cathedral and to the Bayeux Tapestry, this 3-star hotel has a garden, a bar, a free private parking lot and free WIFI access in the rooms. Ideally placed to visit landing beaches and Normandy, the hotel of Argouges in Bayeux offers you all the comfort and the surroundings of a private mansion of XVIIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Argouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Argouges Hotel Bayeux
Hotel Dargouges
Hotel d Argouges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing