We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular property and service!”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, beautiful room, secure car park, and great service!! We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a junior suite with an amazing view of the cathedral. The room was immaculate and so comfortable we didn't want to leave!
The service was very personal and helpful. Jessica was a wonderful help in securing dinner reservations, changing room reservations, and provided any information we needed.
One of our nicest hotel experiences!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

My twelve night stay at this hotel was one of the nicest hotel experiences in my life. I learned from the owner/manager that this hotel was newly built about two years ago. Their decorator did an awesome job. The hotel has all the modern amenities that one can expect, but it still has an old world charm. Our room with a king size bed was spacious and it had a balcony. The hotel has a comfortable lounge with a fireplace and a small bar. I stayed at the hotel with my wife to visit the various WW2 sites in Normandy. Front desk staff had no trouble speaking English. All normal service was performed pleasantly and efficiently, but the extra service that I saw and experienced is worth mentioning. I saw a front desk staff person in the hotel parking lot helping someone program their GPS! I had an issue with my rental car that required me to speak a lot to the rental car French staff. When the conversations exceeded my knowledge of French, the manager helped me with the rental car company. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The location of the hotel is excellent as well; it is in a quiet secluded area and yet is within easy walking distance of a main street with lots of stores and pastry shops.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Bayeux cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Villa Lara is about the prettiest hotel in the town of Bayeux. The staff was most helpful. A mishandled wakeup call was made right with a complimentary breakfast. The hotel was recommended to us by friends who had stayed the year before. We would definitely recommend the Villa Lara to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is immaculate ... Beautifully decorated with such attention to detail. The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay extra special. They even opened the restaurant early for breakfast as we needed to leave early morning. Highly recommended ... Private secure car-park, great view of the cathedral, in the centre of Bayeux and convenient to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1KateCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great room and service! Great location. Couple little things though, breakfast should be included at these prices, $18 euros per person is a bit extreme. Adding conditioner to the bathroom would be nice too. Otherwise, a near perfect stay! Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Raoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hands down, the Villa Lara is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed -- and we travel a lot! My husband and I, and our daughter, son-in-law, and two teenage grandchildren stayed four nights in early October -- FABULOUS!! We cannot say enough about the entire hotel, amenities, staff, and location. The rooms and bathrooms are large; there are an abundance of electrical outlets to recharge phones and cameras; beds and pillows are so comfortable; towels and robes are large and fluffy; great Wi-Fi; room refrigerator was refilled every day with complimentary bottled water, Perrier, and soft drinks; delicious gourmet breakfasts were impeccably served; and all the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We were sad when our lovely visit to Bayeux and the Normandy Beaches was over. Thank you Rima, Jessica and Alexandre :-) We will be back!!!Also, we booked the Churchill Hotel Shuttle to Mont Saint-Michel and highly recommend this day trip.

Room Tip: Our family was in two rooms on the troisième étage (4th floor) facing the beautiful Bayeux Cathedral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grama1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Normandy. Hotel staff is very lovely and helpful. Parking is free. Room was very nicely decorated. Hotel does not have restaurant for evening meal and no room service on Monday night. Highly recommend as place to stay in historic Bayeux and as a place to visit WW II sites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maevecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £142 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing