We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful service”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with wonderful service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at and we would highly recommend it. We stayed here for 3 nights the first week of November. Jessica checked us in and informed us we had been upgraded to a junior suite as we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. The hotel lobby, sitting area with fireplace, breakfast area and hallways are immaculate. The décor of the hotel and rooms is superb with fine attention to detail. For example we spoke with the owner about how much we loved her hotel and that we had noticed that the mini fridge in the room was even silent. She shared that they chose from 3 different refrigerators and chose these for the quiet they offered within the rooms. This attention to detail and care for the comfort of her guests illustrates the experience we enjoyed. The room had a hallway, a closet, a safe, a large, clean bathroom with a luxurious shower, a large bedroom with a comfortable bed and high quality linens, a mini-fridge, desk, a separate sitting room with a clean and comfortable couch all surrounded by large windows that opened and provided a view of the cathedral, stream and courtyard. The blackout curtains blocked out all light and provided a sound night’s sleep. The room was very quiet and we heard minimal to no sound from adjacent rooms. We heard no noise from the room above. The parking was free, gated and easy to come and go out of. The staff were wonderful with special thanks to Jessica. The value was excellent. I can’t say enough about this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
215
549
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. The rooms are very nicely decorated and spacious. We stayed an extra night because we didn't want to leave. The staff were very helpful and professional. The only small drawback was it was a bit hard to find because of a faulty GPS (hint drive over the bridge that doesn't look like it is for cars) but when we called the great staff stayed on the phone and navigated us right to the front door. A really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, beautiful room, secure car park, and great service!! We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a junior suite with an amazing view of the cathedral. The room was immaculate and so comfortable we didn't want to leave!
The service was very personal and helpful. Jessica was a wonderful help in securing dinner reservations, changing room reservations, and provided any information we needed.
One of our nicest hotel experiences!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
230 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My twelve night stay at this hotel was one of the nicest hotel experiences in my life. I learned from the owner/manager that this hotel was newly built about two years ago. Their decorator did an awesome job. The hotel has all the modern amenities that one can expect, but it still has an old world charm. Our room with a king size bed was spacious and it had a balcony. The hotel has a comfortable lounge with a fireplace and a small bar. I stayed at the hotel with my wife to visit the various WW2 sites in Normandy. Front desk staff had no trouble speaking English. All normal service was performed pleasantly and efficiently, but the extra service that I saw and experienced is worth mentioning. I saw a front desk staff person in the hotel parking lot helping someone program their GPS! I had an issue with my rental car that required me to speak a lot to the rental car French staff. When the conversations exceeded my knowledge of French, the manager helped me with the rental car company. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The location of the hotel is excellent as well; it is in a quiet secluded area and yet is within easy walking distance of a main street with lots of stores and pastry shops.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Bayeux cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtrodgers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Villa Lara is about the prettiest hotel in the town of Bayeux. The staff was most helpful. A mishandled wakeup call was made right with a complimentary breakfast. The hotel was recommended to us by friends who had stayed the year before. We would definitely recommend the Villa Lara to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is immaculate ... Beautifully decorated with such attention to detail. The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay extra special. They even opened the restaurant early for breakfast as we needed to leave early morning. Highly recommended ... Private secure car-park, great view of the cathedral, in the centre of Bayeux and convenient to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1KateCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Great room and service! Great location. Couple little things though, breakfast should be included at these prices, $18 euros per person is a bit extreme. Adding conditioner to the bathroom would be nice too. Otherwise, a near perfect stay! Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing