We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The rooms, the food, the staff, the bar, the view- everything was truly first rate. Bayeux is centrally located for touring all the Normandy beaches and WW II historical sites. The room we had was a junior suite and was large even by Americans standards. Owner is lovely and quite helpful in securing reservations for dinner and making recommendations.
A wonderful experience. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank swissmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Lara Hotel and enjoyed it very much. We originally had a reservation at Hotel Churchill, but they closed for renovations and moved us next door to the Villa Lara. Luckily for us, both hotels have the same owner. Villa Lara is new and luxurious with a most comfy bed. But it is the view out of the huge picture window in our bedroom that is the reason to love this hotel so much. One has a perfect view of the magnificent Bayeux Cathedral. Also, the staff is very responsive and hospitable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I can highly recommend this small hotel. It is located in the center of Bayeux, France and is it so convenient to walk to everything from the hotel. It is situated in a lovely street along the River Aure. This is truly a remarkable hotel within this historic city of Bayeux. Villa Lara is close to wonderful restaurants all over the historic center and the hotel staff is quick to stir one in the right direction and reservations if needed.

The owner and her staff have understood that they have a unique opportunity to greet and care for those who come to Normandy to visit the historic sights of D-Day and World War Two. We traveled from Indiana with a WWII D-day veteran and his wife who led us on a pilgrimage of his tour of duty, the place he was wounded and captured by the Nazis and more. Coming “home” each evening to the Hotel Villa Lara made the mind-boggling tour a healing balm for resting hurting hearts and weary feet. The comfort of the rooms created a restful solace before gathering with companions in the hotel bar for an evening cocktail and then a walk to dinner.

This medieval city is the home of William the Conquer. The magnificent Cathedral’s towers are a joy to see from our room especially at night. We were there in August and the Cathedral was aglow with wonderful colors from a light show. This is truly an ancient settlement. The Cathedral has recorded its first pastor was established in the year 440. The city of Bayeux boasts an ancient artifact from William’s time. It is a 230 foot tapestry is thought to be made in England in the year 1070. One can see a tapestry from commemorating events leading to the Norman conquest of England which is housed within walking distance from The Villa Lara.

If you are lucky enough to be in Normandy and need a lovely place to call home, I hope you are fortunate enough to find a room in the Hotel Villa Lara.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast before you leave for the day! Also our room had all the things one might ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Villa Lara and it was lovely! The hotel staff was warm, professional and polite and the room we had was beautiful with a view of the cathedral. Our room was also large with every modern feature of a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world. There was complementary parking in the back of the hotel too. A full breakfast was served in the morning and it was everything you would want to load up on a cold November day for visiting the sites of Normandy. Though we only stayed one night, we wish we could have stayed more. We'll be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Be sure and request a room with a view of the famous Bayeux cathedral. At night, it's better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I turned up at this Hotel in the middle of the night (about 12pm) having taken the last train from Paris to Bayeux. I was there to do a D-Day tour with Normandie D-Day Tours (see separate review) and Guillaume of that company recommended that I stay there.

I was exhausted when I finally got into my room and I was in for a magnificent surprise. The room kept going and going. There was a big bedroom and a big lounge/TV room and a massive bathroom - featuring a shower that is big enough for two, three or ten (if that is your thing). I found out on check out when I asked whether all the rooms were the same that I had booked the Junior Suite - and I recommend fellow travellers do the same.

The bed was very soft and the pillows were so good that I didn't even take the pillow I had brought from home out of my bag.

My tour was due to start with a 9am pickup the next day and I slept so well I only woke up at 845am. Cutting it close but I was sure it would be ok the following day. It wasn't and I did it again!

I didn't try the restaurant - sadly going to the dodgy pizza place nearby instead - but I am sure it is in keeping with the rest of the Hotel and is a beauty.

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful and I can't wait to go back there again.

It is without doubt the best regional hotel I have ever stayed at (anywhere) and it also puts some of the big city "luxury" hotels to shame.

PS. When I booked in the staff member showing me to my room said that the minibar was free. I was sure that he was making a mistake because of language differences but when I checked out I said that I had a bottle of water and, indeed, they said it was part of the room price. I have never seen that at any hotel before as they usually gouge you massively when you have had the courage to take a chocolate or drink from the area of temptation they put in your room. If you go there you had better check because I am not sure if it applies to all rooms but it was a very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shehadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Villa Lara is an outstanding hotel, well located in a pretty little town. The rooms and the overall hotel are of the very highest standard. The staff are excellent and have a very good command of English (one at least is American by birth). The hotel is located about 200 yards from the building holding the tapestry, and about a kilometre from the Cathedral. There are a number of eating locations (of all sorts) within 2 or 3 minutes walk, and there is secure parking. It's not particularly cheap but is certainly worth the money. We only stayed one night, but if I was spending some time in Basse Normandie there is where I would base myself.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting the areas and the D-Day sights. Hotel Villa Lara is fantastic. It's a small hotel with big style and fabulous service and very reasonable prices.

We stayed in a Deluxe room with shower and King Bed. Finding hotels in Europe with a King Bed is a feat in itself, but Villa Lara had true King beds, not just two small beds pushed together like some hotels. Our room was huge, very pretty and comfortable, with a seating area in addition to the bed. The bathroom was also large, but only had a shower, no tub. Everything in the bathroom and bedroom was very new, felt recently updated and modern. The shower was large enough for two.

There were lots of closets at the entry, a mini bar, safe and tv with movie channels etc. The bed was great, very comfy, the sheets were quite nice, soft pillows and warm. The room was very light and bright with lots of windows that opened to a courtyard.

Our room was a bit warm, even though it was quite cold outside we could not seem to turn down the heat so we left the windows open at night. Other than that, everything was perfect.

The lobby is quite charming and feels life a private home. There is a bar and lounge area as well. The breakfast room is fantastic and the breakfast is wonderful. In the morning they had a full spread of fresh baked goods, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, yogurts and they made eggs to order. We had some of the best eggs we have ever had, the coffee was also excellent, it was like getting a freshly prepared breakfast at a home.

The staff of fabulous, friendly and helpful. They helped us confirm our tour pickup and gave great recommendations for local dining.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to this area.



Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AdventureTravelerEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £142 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing