We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Villa Lara is a fabulous little hotel with superb staff! The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the staff make you feel like family. The comfie living room/bar area is a great place to have a cocktail and unwind while making new friends and sharing tales of your travels. Breakfast is lovely and again the staff are terrific and will make you eggs to order or make your child a hot chocolate. This hotel is located in the heart of Bayeaux and is definitely THE place to stay if you visit the area. Morgana and Jessica are both so wonderful, helpful and humorous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jroach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are seasoned travelers. I found Hotel Lara on Trip Advisor and everyone is right. It is absolutely perfect--the location, the physical surroundings, and most of all the people. In particular I want to commend Morgana, Jessica, and Francois. We really got to know Morgana the best because she works all the time. She was fantastic in every single way. Professional, helpful, kind, knowledgeable. She took the time to figure out what we wanted to do and she was constantly volunteering to help us. The hotel is gorgeous. Our room had a balcony with a view of the cathedral. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The bed was super comfy our room was huge and the rooms are quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfasts were awesome and I wish I could remember the name of the chef to also commend her. This is a FIRST Class hotel all the way. This is what a boutique hotel should be. GO GO GO to Bayeaux. The people are awesome, the small village is charming and welcoming, and this hotel seriously rocks. They even have parking! They even have a delightful small, warm inviting bar! The hotel has been completely refurbished--even the stairs have big windows, carpetting and fresh paint and art! Unbelievable. Whoever owns this knows what they are doing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wonderful time there with the most beautiful room as well as wonderful service. The concierge went way beyond the call of duty when we had to return home because of a death in the family. They couldn't have been nicerr.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savtarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our family (parents and teens) travels regularly in the US and Europe and Hotel Villa Lara is absolutely our favorite small hotel stay! Modern, beautifully decorated, attentive staff, outstanding location, and a charming bar/breakfast space. We chose two rooms (corner suite with a view of the Bayeaux Cathedral) that were uniquely styled and very spacious. Great fabrics and artwork abound in the rooms and the public spaces throughout this boutique hotel. We were also directed to two excellent restaurants by the concierge who booked both (L'angle Saint Laurent and LaRapiere) for us ahead of our arrival. We were in Bayeaux to tour the Normandy D-Day area. We chose Overlord Tours (also excellent) and were pleasantly surprised to learn they pick up all their customers in the square just outside the hotel. It was a quick 2 night stay and we look forward to returning to this exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euro for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This little Hotel is fabulous. It is perfectly situated in the small historic town of Bayeau and is a wonderful place from which to spread out to see the sights of Normandy and surrounds. . We were so surprised by the lovely spacious room with sitting area and Balcony overlooking the old town square and Church. Because the Hotel is newish, it is fitted with all of the comforts one comes to expect from 5 Star Hotels. Perfect bedding and amenities. Very nice Buffet Breakfast. The Owner is charming and she supervises an extremely capable and friendly Staff. All in all, it is one of the best Hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous corner room overlooking the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarmaTo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I feel in love with this hotel. The rooms & bathrooms are up to date & perfect! The staff friendly, the hotel is in walking distance to all thimpngs. Take the train in from Paris then walk or take a very very short taxi ride to the hotel. You will want to stay awhile

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank flyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have been meaning to write about Villa Lara since I left, 18 months ago. I spend about 4 weeks a year in Europe, and this is the best hotel experience I have had in Europe. Perfect location! Great rooms! Super friendly staff! It was priced more that other hotels in Bayeux, but it is worth every Euro. If you go, try to get a view of the Cathedral. The views from our balcony were amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExcelsiorTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 22 in Bayeux
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £133 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing