We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous hotel, wonderful owners, perfect”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gorgeous hotel, wonderful owners, perfect”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband, son and I just returned from a trip which included Normandy. This hotel is unbelievable! It is named after the owners' daughter and her 18th birthday party was being held while we were there. The owners actually invited us in to the party for cocktails and we chatted with them for a while. Rooms are so comfortable and beautiful! We had a view of the Cathedral which is illuminated at night. Wonderful breakfast each morning! You can tell the owners put alot of thought into everything! Terrific location and really cute boutique attached to the hotel. Staff goes out of their way to assist with dinner reservations etc. If you are going to Normandy this is the place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Room 302 is large with a beautiful view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
215
551
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Villa Lara is a fabulous little hotel with superb staff! The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the staff make you feel like family. The comfie living room/bar area is a great place to have a cocktail and unwind while making new friends and sharing tales of your travels. Breakfast is lovely and again the staff are terrific and will make you eggs to order or make your child a hot chocolate. This hotel is located in the heart of Bayeaux and is definitely THE place to stay if you visit the area. Morgana and Jessica are both so wonderful, helpful and humorous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jroach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are seasoned travelers. I found Hotel Lara on Trip Advisor and everyone is right. It is absolutely perfect--the location, the physical surroundings, and most of all the people. In particular I want to commend Morgana, Jessica, and Francois. We really got to know Morgana the best because she works all the time. She was fantastic in every single way. Professional, helpful, kind, knowledgeable. She took the time to figure out what we wanted to do and she was constantly volunteering to help us. The hotel is gorgeous. Our room had a balcony with a view of the cathedral. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The bed was super comfy our room was huge and the rooms are quiet. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfasts were awesome and I wish I could remember the name of the chef to also commend her. This is a FIRST Class hotel all the way. This is what a boutique hotel should be. GO GO GO to Bayeaux. The people are awesome, the small village is charming and welcoming, and this hotel seriously rocks. They even have parking! They even have a delightful small, warm inviting bar! The hotel has been completely refurbished--even the stairs have big windows, carpetting and fresh paint and art! Unbelievable. Whoever owns this knows what they are doing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terese C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wonderful time there with the most beautiful room as well as wonderful service. The concierge went way beyond the call of duty when we had to return home because of a death in the family. They couldn't have been nicerr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savtarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our family (parents and teens) travels regularly in the US and Europe and Hotel Villa Lara is absolutely our favorite small hotel stay! Modern, beautifully decorated, attentive staff, outstanding location, and a charming bar/breakfast space. We chose two rooms (corner suite with a view of the Bayeaux Cathedral) that were uniquely styled and very spacious. Great fabrics and artwork abound in the rooms and the public spaces throughout this boutique hotel. We were also directed to two excellent restaurants by the concierge who booked both (L'angle Saint Laurent and LaRapiere) for us ahead of our arrival. We were in Bayeaux to tour the Normandy D-Day area. We chose Overlord Tours (also excellent) and were pleasantly surprised to learn they pick up all their customers in the square just outside the hotel. It was a quick 2 night stay and we look forward to returning to this exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euro for a room with a view of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This little Hotel is fabulous. It is perfectly situated in the small historic town of Bayeau and is a wonderful place from which to spread out to see the sights of Normandy and surrounds. . We were so surprised by the lovely spacious room with sitting area and Balcony overlooking the old town square and Church. Because the Hotel is newish, it is fitted with all of the comforts one comes to expect from 5 Star Hotels. Perfect bedding and amenities. Very nice Buffet Breakfast. The Owner is charming and she supervises an extremely capable and friendly Staff. All in all, it is one of the best Hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

Room Tip: We had a fabulous corner room overlooking the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarmaTo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I feel in love with this hotel. The rooms & bathrooms are up to date & perfect! The staff friendly, the hotel is in walking distance to all thimpngs. Take the train in from Paris then walk or take a very very short taxi ride to the hotel. You will want to stay awhile

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flyshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing