We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Normandy!”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best hotel in Normandy!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in Bayeux for our 25th wedding anniversary and Villa Lara is by far the best accommodation we have stayed in. The owners upgraded us to a suite and they were very helpful, warm and inviting during our stay with providing directions and restaurant suggestions! Jessica at the front desk is marvelous and she made our stay memorable and special. The suite had a view of the Bayeux Cathedral and a lovely footbridge over the nearby river. If you can pick just one place to stay in Normandy, this is definitely the right choice!! We will be coming back again and again.

Room Tip: I think this hotel makes every room a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
215
550
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We only stayed for 1 night but I could have stayed for a month, everything about this hotel is perfect, from the moment we arrived the staff were charming, the room was just beautiful and the bed, well it was on a par with the best bed I have ever slept in.Fabulous location overlooking the cathedral, secure parking, excellent breakfast, can't wait to go back!
This hotel really does have customer service as a priority, so refreshing. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a poor room as they are all front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodqueen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The "Hotel Lara", my very first overnight stay (September 2013) in the Normandy Region of France was, without a doubt, the most delightful {boutique} hotel in every way I can think of. Very sadly, I was only there for one special night, yet I had an upstairs room with a perfect large balcony (chairs for 2) overlooking the little cross-over bridge. A gorgeously huge Weeping Willow tree was the beautiful "front"-drop for Bayeux's famous and picturesque Gothic Cathedral, sitting dramatically beyond, less than a mile away...Heavenly!
It was, thankfully, not destroyed by the Germans in WWII, near the Normandy beaches! Although I didn't have enough time to go inside, it is famous because of the medieval tapestry that resides within the church. I so wish I could have stayed there a week! All rooms are delightfully decorated differently but mine was in deep pink hues. The bath had both full tub and separate shower; it was all very "spacious" and fairly new!
The Hotel Lara derives its name from one of the owner's daughters; my private guide told me this lady is an excellent business woman; it was obvious.
The dining area was gorgeous and I've never had a more enjoyable breakfast chatting with fellow Americans who ALSO loved the hotel. I simply cannot say enough good things about the Hotel Lara... It is pricey and well worth every Euro--I cannot wait to stay there again, one day!!! Signed, an extremely happy guest from Austin, Texas...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnraug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The employees are all so nice and helpful. The hotel is spotless and in a perfect location overlooking the cathedral. The breakfast was great and our first night we ate in the bar area (bc we were too tired to venture out) from room service menu. Probably the best salad nicoise I ever had. Wish I had dinner there again About 20 minutes from Omaha beach and the American cemetary and an hour and a half to Mont Saint Michel and Honfluer A must stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyJetCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A hidden gem of a hotel slap bang in the middle of the old centre right next to the beautiful stream.Its close to the tapestry, restaurants and the amazing cathedral. Great service. Delicious breakfast. Rooms have been beautifully done and all fit with the modern cons. This hotel was a reason why Bayeux was the highlight of our French trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent two days at this hotel and could not have been happier. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, all of their recommendations were spot on and the central location means you can walk to everything in town. The Bayeux tapestry, the bistros and brasseries are all musts, and just strolling through town to visit the shops was extremely enjoyable. Our room, 106, had a beautiful view and was elegantly appointed with plenty of room for our family of four. If you are in Bayeux (recommended) then this is the place to see. English is spoken as fluently as French and it is hard to imagine being welcomed more warmly!

Room Tip: Room 106 has a great view and is very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at our travel agents recommendation and she hit it right on target. A quaint French hotel with all the modern amenities. Perfect location close to everything. Front desk couldn't be nicer. Free wifi. Just perfect. Within walking distance of the tapestries and the church. D-day memorabilia.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrubin1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing