We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to spend time in Normandy”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend time in Normandy”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family (six of us,including my 83 year old Father) Stayed here for three nights in the middle of April and just loved this place. It was right in the heart of Bayeux. Everything was first class. The breakfast was amazing! The staff was excellent and saw to it that all our needs were meet.
We spent a week in France,three nights in Paris and three nights in Bayeux. This was by far the best part of our trip. This place was highly recommended by our tour guide, Paul Woodadge, D-Day Historian. All well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
212
538
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I cannot think of a better base for touring Normandy than the Hotel Villa Lara. Every single member of the staff we interacted with were warm and helpful. Our room was easily the loveliest of our two week visit to France, with a large walk in shower, spotless bathroom, comfortable bed, black out curtains and and an amazing view of a lovely little square and the cathedral. We had a junior suite, only because the hotel was otherwise fully booked when we reserved. I did find a great rate on the internet, but would have probably booked a lower category room if one had been available. I'm so glad it wasn't! The room featured a separate sitting room with floor to ceiling windows and a view of the square and cathedral. The bathroom was newly redone, clean, modern and had a fabulous rain shower. The bed was dangerously comfortable.

The hotel is an easy walk to everything to see in Bayeux. Great dining options are all around you as well. I really wished we had stayed longer here, as both the hotel and the adorable town were hard to leave and were the highlights of our two week trip around France.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visited Bayeux this spring and spent several days Villa Lara--I've traveled a lot and stayed in many hotels--BUT this is hands down the best I've stayed in--wonderful rooms--mine had a balcony overlooking a small square--huge well appointed bathroom--superior breakfast and a nice quiet place to wind down at the end of the day--numerous good local paces to eat within a short walk--I wish I could have stayed longer

Room Tip: get balcony if possible--great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjhasselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife Karen & I had the pleasure to spend two night as part of our six night stay in Normandy at Villa Laura during the recent 70th D-Day Anniversary. Every aspect of the stay was terrific and I'll touch on the following elements about Villa Laura and how it exceeded our expectations: Staff. Room, Location & Parking, Food & Bar, Wifi,  & Fitness Center.  Villa Laura is #1 on our list next time we are back in Normandy.

Staff

The team at Villa Laura could not do enough for you. From the first moment when we checked in after a 7 hour flight from Chicago and 3.5 hour drive from Paris they were helpful, courteous and definitely projected a unique service mentality that is not often found in properties today; even  4 & 5 star. This approach did not waver during our two days in Bayeux and they did everything; even some very little things to make our stay in Bayeux most enjoyable.

Room

We had a wonderful one bedroom suite at Villa Laura. Though not huge, each room was sufficiently proportioned and it could not of been more comfortable. The shades and window treatment did it's job at night and during the day the view was beautiful overlooking the cathedral across the street.

Location & Parking

The location; both within Bayeux and it's central Normandy location could not be beat. The hotel was just steps away from the Bayeux Tapestry and the tourist center and numerous activities were on a lovely pedestrian friendly street just through a passageway at Hotel Churchill. We took advantage of both. 

Bayeux is a fabulous location for jumping off to any of the D-Day beaches or for that matter any part of Normandy. Since we had been in Normandy one time prior we decided to try three different locations and hotels and were happy we did; even with driving 850 kilometers in our rental car. If there was one location to choose for several days in Normandy it would be most likely Bayeux due to it's central location and Villa Laura.

Parking could be challenging in Bayeux and this property takes care of this issue. They have a secure parking lot accessible via key car that was wonderful

Food & Bar

We did not have any meals at the property, but their breakfast buffet was pleasant. Service was good and the room was sunny and intimate and gave me a chance to visit with other guests. If I could make one suggestion it would be to expand the buffet selections as though more than sufficient an expanded selection would be more in keeping with the property.

We did not take advantage of the bar,, but a brief check out of the facility seemed to indicate it was both comfortable and more than sufficient and other guest seemed  to be enjoying the bar very much.

Wifi

Wifi was part of the purchase price and the service was excellent. Never had slow service, used it many times for many purposes and it never failed.

Fitness Center & Amenities

It was wonderful for a property this size to have a fitness center. Thank you for this. The fitness center had more than sufficient cardio equipment; though a few very low cost items would make the center even better. The center was beautiful with art on the wall,, but the floor was wood and not conducive for any stretching. A few floor mats would be a great addition. Also, I do not recall any weight training equipment in the center. This would be nice too. 

Summary


It's impossible to go wrong at Villa Laura.  Both my wife Karen, who does all our travel research and myself would strongly recommend and find it hard to believe there are any disappointing elements you would have in a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakester20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

At the risk of repeating what has already been said, we too wish to say how much we enjoyed this hotel. It is perfectly located and is very close to the Bayeux Tapestry, the Cathedral, the Office of Tourism, and Bayeux's main shopping street. Best of all, a number of the D-Day Tours meet just around the corner. Guests have access at no cost to a private locked parking lot next to the hotel but best of all is the hotel itself. It is very clean and delightfully decorated, the breakfast is varied and delicious and each and every staff member was pleasant and helpful. It is obvious that the owners want those staying at their property to have a top-notch experience -- and we did. We shall return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in this excellent hotel during our tour of Normandy. We had a very nice suite overlooking the Cathedral. It was well-appointed and provided easy walking access to the Bayeux Tapestry (2 minutes) and Cathedral (5 minutes). The staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. It was easy to get to the hotel and park in their grounds which was very convenient. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite was really excellent - if you can run to the extra cost I'd go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a wonderful headquarters for our visit to Normandy in advance of the 70th Anniversary of D-day. Renee and staff couldn't have been nicer, more helpful and gracious. Their staff was excellent, thoughtful, courteous and very knowledgeable. Every staff person seemed to want all of us to enjoy ourselves, experience the town of Bayeux and enjoy the wonderful ambiance of their beautiful city. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and plentiful. Even the freshly made hot chocolate after 10 p.m. was provided with a smile and graciousness. We recommend the Villa Lara to all future guests. We look forward to another visit in the coming year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonPettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Property: Villa Lara Hotel
Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing