We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Superb location near the tapestry cathedral. ( well worth the guided tour by Sorbonne student ), and restaurants. Great room with cathedral view, good internet and complimentary soft drinks in the fridge, free secure parking. Pricy but worth it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

ended up here by accident; could not get any rooms anywhere else in the region! we got the suite at half the price and a breakfast thrown in. the room turned out to be fantastic and the breakfast very nice. the service personnels were all really very nice. the location is really nice, at a quiet corner yet just off the main street with loads of restaurants and shops, and very close to the Tapestry museum. it is rather pricey, even if we did get a discount, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WengKeeLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel common areas and rooms are clean, beautiful, modern, and fantastic in every way. The bathroom is spotless, beautiful tile everywhere. Huge walk in showers. Free parking for my car. The room has modern and comfortable central air conditioning. Location is a 1 minute walk from main Bayeux road and cathedral. The bedrooms are quite large. Service fantastic. I called to report a poorly working tv remote, they had someone up in here in 5 minutes to fix it. Also, the woman at the front desk got up out of her seat and walked to the front of the hotel with me to show me where the free private car parking was.

If you are coming to Bayeux, this is the place to stay.

5 star hotel in Bayeux.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GiovanniMinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Villa Lara is a luxury hotel in Bayeux (Normandy) FRANCE. My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.

Everything about this hotel lived up to its high billing.

The rooms were top notch. And, the service from the hotel staff was exceptional. The staff went out of their way to do whatever needed done for you. My wife and I had the continental breakfast, which is an option. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDonnieDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rated a four star Hotel, the Hotel Villa Lara must not get the fifth star only due to the smaller size, because everything was absolutely top notch. Beautiful, well run with excellent service and and the middle of everything that someone visiting Bayeux would want. It is basically across the street from the Bayeux Tapestry, less than a half block from the middle of town and a wide selection of restaurants, stores and a short drive to the "fifty yard line" of the Normandy Beaches.

Bayeux is a town that "welcomes their liberators" (a sign seen all around town) and given that this is the 70th anniversary of the D Day invasion, this "liberator" sign were accompanied by signs that read "we are all 70 years old". At least one area of the world has not forgotten.

If you want to visit the Normandy Beach Area, this is the five star place to stay on a four star price.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and quiet. They also provide very nice and safe gated parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Immaculate new building in the heart of historic Bayeux. Privately owned and run by Francois & Rima the service is excellent and they are great hosts. Food and wine of the best quality and well equipped rooms and private secure car park. Can't recommend highly enough - we were returning from the Le Mans Classic and Francois who is a car enthusiast took a particular interest in our car.
Will return - and cannot think there can be better in Bayeux.
Mark & Teri

Room Tip: Lovely views to the Cathedral from rooms on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I scheduled a trip from the USA to visit the Normandy beaches and Mont St Michele. Our travel agent selected Villa Lara since we did not have time to analyze all of the available hotels. "Stay at the Villa Lara" she said, "and you won't be disappointed." Well, we did and we weren't. It's a brand new hotel built in the local style and perfectly placed to enjoy the attributes of Bayeux and the historical features of the area. All of the accolades are spot on, so we won't repeat the obvious. And oh, there's a flat LCD TV that announces your arrival as well.
Some other points are the nearby train station that connects to Caen and Paris, the shuttles to the Normandy beaches, Mont Ste. Michele, and the Bayeux Discover Walks Tour (ask for Christele). There also is a good arrangement of stores and restaurants in town.
The bathroom has a tub and shower, the bed clothes are sumptuous and the room was tastefully decorated.
Breakfast is available each morning (20 euros), and by the way, Villa Lara lodging is not inexpensive, but we believe the location, comfort and management are the best for the money spent.

Room Tip: Our room that viewed the cathedral on the second floor as excellent. There is no significant traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandsomeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: £131 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing