We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.43*
and up
Private Tour to Bayeux, Honfleur and Pays d' Auge from Caen
More Info
US$100.95*
and up
Private Tour to Bayeux, Honfleur and Pays d' Auge from Bayeux
More Info
US$593.84*
and up
Private Tour Rouen Bayeux and Falaise Day Trip from Rouen
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum houses the famous Bayeux Tapestry, a 70-m long piece of embroidery that graphically tells the story of the 1066 Battle of Hastings.Listed UNESCO Memory of the World. Duration of visit about 1h30.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had read about the tapestry in history and in French class. I was impressed by the detail on the tapestry. The audio guide added to the experience of understanding the different panels on the tapestry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,044
    1,400
    230
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a pleasant surprise. We went because the weather wasn't great, and it's inside, and I'm so glad we did. On arrival you got a handset in a choice of languages which talked you through the story of the battle of hastings scene by scene as depicted by the tapestry. It was very clear and interesting. There was a really informative museum and a short video presentation.
The town of Bayeux and its lovely Cathedral were also worth a visit. Very pretty with a large variety of shops, cafes and restaurants.
I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljgreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den Haag
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Embroidery with a difference”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I dragged four boys to this world famous monument to recording history. They skipped out of there happy..and interested, thanks to the great kids audio. My seven year old said "that was great mummy and I whined that it 'd be really boring!" MY ten year old and his friend also loved it thanks to Horrible Histories. My husband commented .."So, the English WERE conquered"...my nine year old loved the heads being chopped off . So History and embroideries CAN be interesting!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapestry Visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have wanted to visit the Bayeux Tapestry for a number of years. I was surprised at the high quality of the exhibition and museum. Well worth the trip from Australia.
Kerry Fisher

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was not initially interested at looking at some old sewing. but as the weather was not great, and this was indoors we gave it a go.. For your entry fee you get a audio guide that will take you along the tapestry step by step explaining hat was going on. I didn't expect this and was impressed. It is also good that you can get within 1 foot of the tapestry so can really inspect the handiwork.

The down side was that the audio guide cannot be paused or stopped. We have a young child who required our attention at times and the audio guide would just carry on and we missed sections.

Worth a look on a rainy day, but that's an opinion of someone who had no initial interest in tapestry, we were in the area for D day stuff. I am sure some people would really love this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux also viewed

 
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 

Been to Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing