We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.85*
and up
Private Tour to Bayeux, Honfleur and Pays d' Auge from Caen
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum houses the famous Bayeux Tapestry, a 70-m long piece of embroidery that graphically tells the story of the 1066 Battle of Hastings.Listed UNESCO Memory of the World. Duration of visit about 1h30.
Maryland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Having just watched a TV special on the tapestry, I was unprepared for it. It is soooo long and the colors are so bright and the detail is so sharp! The audio guided tour included in the admission is very good for understanding and following the action, while it also keeps everyone moving along
I would say the Tapestry really is a #1 must see attraction in this town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,868
    1,354
    224
    34
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“well organised glimpse into the past”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

well organised, could spend an hour or two learning about the conquest. It could have been more detailed but getting people past the tapestry was obviously a key part of the visitor experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrIanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

UNESCO world heritage does not let any old piece of needlework onto its list. You do not need to be a fan of cross-stitch to find this tapestry simply extraordinary. Nor do you need to be a history devotee.

All you need to be is human.

Even the crotchety old man my husband turned into when he learned we were going here before we went to Omaha Beach was overwhelmed by this.

You have lots of options and we chose to see the tapestry only. There are audio guides for free in multiple language and while the man doing the voice over sounds like a BBC History Chanel reject from the 1970's, the information transforms the tapestry into something that lives and breathes.

It is, in a word, an extraordinary piece of human culture that is over 1,000 years old. It is beautiful. And so is Bayeux.

Well. Worth. The. Visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Devious_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are a family of 4 - 2 children 11 and 13 who all thought this was outstanding. The audio guide takes you through the tapestry and is fabulous

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 99happy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The boys liked it more than they thought they would.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Such and amazing tapestry. I enjoyed how they gave you a recording of the story on the tapestry. The rest of the museum is excellent as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux also viewed

 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Musee de la Tapisserie de Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing