We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Particulier Poppa
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$449
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Lion d'Or(Bayeux)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Le Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile De Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reine Mathilde(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
267
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostshomemade jamscharles de gaullebreadthree nightsbeautiful parkrecommend this b b to anyonehost and hostesshard boiled eggsplace to staylovely gardenblock walksitting roomsmallest roombreakfast was deliciouscould not have been moretrain station
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Eleven five star reviews, two four stars, and not a bad word from anyone. Well, add another five star review to the mix.

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL. We traveled from Paris to Bayeux to Mont-St-Michel to Chamonix to Annecy to Beune...This was our favorite stay of the entire trip. Great location, wonderful modern rooms with great decor, and a free French breakfast. There's on site parking, and the two owners were incredibly nice and accommodating. We loved it, and wish every other place had been so great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatifitworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

What a gem!!! Philippe and Sophie have transformed this 18th century building into the most fantastic B & B. The love and care that they put into their B & B truly shows, not only in the de core but in the hospitality. They greeted us at the door upon arrival and when it came time for us to leave Philippe offered to give us a ride to the train station that was only a 15 minute walk. The location is perfect, a block or so away from Notre Dome and the Tapestry. We stayed in #1, and when you first walk in your greeted by 12+ ft ceilings with plenty of space and huge windows that look out to a beautiful park. The separate bathroom is huge enough to sport a chandelier in the middle. Thats right a huge chandelier...Breakfast was included and it was fit for a king. There is a picturesque garden in the back that you can enjoy as well. The three nights that we spent there made our 13th wedding anniversary unforgettable. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulc1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

One word: phenomenal!
I have stayed at every type of accommodation imaginable in Europe over the last few years (high-end hotels, boutique hotels, bed & breakfasts), but they all pale in camparison to Hotel Particulier Poppa.
From the moment we arrived, Sophie and Philippe went out of their way to make us feel welcome. No question seemed too much of a bother. Philippe even offered to drive us to the rental car depot one morning and helped translate the rental instructions! On our last day, he kindly drove us (and our increasing number of bags) to the train station. Their hospitality went above and beyond, and we felt like family, not just guests.
The property itself is stunning. The rooms are immaculately clean and gorgeously decorated (we rented rooms 2 & 4). They are nicer than most 4 star hotel rooms! There is free WiFi in the beautiful main floor sitting room, and a lovely garden in the back. The location of the hotel is perfect, it's only a short (3 minute) walk to the heart of old Bayeux.
If looking to stay in Bayeux, definitely book Hotel Poppa. I know that if I am ever back in Normandy, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TilSummerComesAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September and could not be more pleased. The room we had (#4) was clean and well appointed. A friend commented that the room had the perfect 50/50 balance of classic decor and new furnishings. The bathroom was spotless and the shower luxurious. The bed was absolutely perfect and the Internet was fast.

Breakfast was a simple,but elegant continental spread. Coffee was strong and the baguette crispy. Croissants with home-made jam, good lord what more could you want. Sophie and Phillipe are the most gracious and helpful, cheery hosts.

The location of Hotel Poppa was perfect, close-enough to the cathedral, tapestry museum and restaurants to walk, yet far enough so it's quiet. There's a park across the street which helps with the quiet and parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEdwardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed recently at this lovely Hotel / B and B with friends and could not have been happier. It is situated by a small tree lined park within easy walking distance ( about 5 min) to shops, restaurants and the Cathedral. The bedrooms are decorated in a boutique style offering high quality furnishings. Bathrooms are delightful. Toiletries are provided (shampoo, liquid soap) and a hairdryer can be requested. There is the use of a cosy lounge and the courtyard garden to the rear of the property is very nice. There is parking for two cars if requested, which is accessed via gates to the side of the property. The owners speak English and are both helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seday23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews