We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Particulier Poppa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
260
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsb bhomemade jamscharles de gaullebreadthree nightsbeautiful parkhost and hostesshard boiled eggsmoment you arriveyogurtplace to staylovely gardenblock walksitting roomsmallest roomthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed with Sophie and Phillippe for several days, along with another couple, and couldn't have had a better experience. The rooms (1 and 2) were beautifully decorated, elegant and comfortable, with a great mix of old and modern decor. The bathrooms were huge! Breakfast was delightful in the breakfast room facing a charming garden (we were there in October, too cold to eat outside). Our view at night of the lighted Cathedral was superb and the location was perfect for walking around town and visiting the museums (don't miss the spectacular art and history museum as well as the famous Tapestry museum). All in all, a place we hope to return to many times. Sophie and Phillippe have got it exactly right.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank asravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I endorse the other excellent reviews of this property. The owners really want to make every guest welcome and they succeed. The location is a couple of minutes north of the cathedral and if you're lucky there is free parking outside around the square outside. It is about ten minutes walk to the museum in which the tapestry is displayed.

If we return to Bayeux, we will make sure we stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was lovely. It is on the second floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this this excellent B and B and can recommend it highly. Phillippe and Sophie are excellent hosts. We stayed in Room 3 which has a small sitting room in addition to the bedroom and excellent bathroom.
The decoration and furnishings throughout the house are of a very high standard and the buffet breakfast perfect there is a very attractive garden.
It is only a few minutes walk to the cathedral and many restaurants.
This is one highest quality B and Bs that we have stayed in anywhere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I cannot recommend this B&B more. It is a 15 min walk from the train station and right in the center of town. My husband and I stayed in Room 4 last month (the smallest of all the rooms) and it was more than perfect. The room was beautifully kept, laid out to maximize the space (which was more than enough). It was clean and tastefully decorated. Five-star quality. Sophie and Philippe, the proprietors, couldn't have been more hospitable. Check-in was easy and breakfast was a traditional French spread of baguette, jams, fruit, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and juice. All the food was fresh and tasty. The breakfast area overlooks a beautiful little courtyard as well- perfect to read/relax in, which we would have done if we had more time. Sophie and Philippe also recommended a fabulous restaurant in town that anyone who visits Bayeux must try: L'Assiette Normande. My husband and I ate there both nights during our stay- it was that good. Overall, we cannot wait to visit Normandy again, just so we can stay at the Hotel Poppa!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, any room would do just fine. We stayed in the smallest room and it was more than enough for us and was much bigger than typical European hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyGannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in Room #4 which is the smallest room in the house but still the biggest we stayed in, in France.
The hosts Sophie and Phillipe are very welcoming and helpful and the house is beautiful.
The room is renovated and more contemporary than you'll find in most B&B's in historic homes.
Sophie puts out a great continental breakfast in a roomy breakfast room with tables for 2 or 4 and Phillipe is great for restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feener65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews