We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, gracious hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Particulier Poppa
Ranked #1 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, gracious hosts”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had tried to book this B&B for our entire visit, but it was unavailable. Staying in Bayeux an extra night gave us an opportunity, and we are so glad we did. The entire house is beautifully decorated, and our room, "Violet de Bayeux" and its blue bathroom, was simply gorgeous. Breakfast (additional charge but worth it) was generous, with fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt in addition to the traditional French fare. Served in a sunny room looking out on the lovely garden started our day in the best way, and we also enjoyed sitting in the garden with its resident cat. Even a basket of blankets to ward off the chill. Be sure to peek into the tiny "WC" halfway up the stairs. Philippe and Sophie were welcoming and extremely helpful in making additional arrangements for our trip. We would love the opportunity to stay here longer in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Hotel Particulier Poppa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for this opinion, Mr. and Mrs. Fox. We remember you very well because it was a pleasure to welcome a couple enjoyable. Just a note: the price of breakfast is included in the room rate and is not a additional charge, as is indicated on our website.. Perhaps this is a confusion with another place of accommodation? Sophie et Philippe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
169
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow, Wow, Wow, What a find, A beautiful little Hotel overlooking a pretty Park in the center of Bayeux.Wonderful spacious rooms with fantastic interiors (we had rooms one and two) and a lovely breakfast in the dining area looking into the tranquil garden.We came in late from our meal and made use of the cozy guests private lounge for a nightcap. Sophie and Phillipe ( English speaking) are amazing hosts who even built a special Cycle storage facility in their garage just before our arrival as we came by bike! We would have liked another night in this lovely Hotel (we only stayed overnight as we were on a cycling weekend.) Thank you Sophie and Phillipe, this is probably the best Hotel we have stayed in. We will be back!

P.S.Eat in the P'tit Resto restaurant just down the road. Amazing innovative menu, delicious food, very good value and the best meal by far on our various trips to France. Do book to avoid disappointment as its only a tiny Restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are huge, with massive bathrooms and views over the Cathedral and Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had such an enjoyable experience staying in Sophie and Phillippe's beautiful B & B. We had booked Room 3, as we had our daughter with us and that room has a sitting room that can be used as a second bedroom. The "suite" was very spacious, sparkling clean, with fabulous plumbing fixtures and electrical service. (It might sound strange to comment on the plumbing and electrical systems, but having such modern systems is no small feat in a 17th century building with super thick stone walls!) Our room overlooked the park.

The owners handled our reservations smoothly, and we felt very warmly welcomed when we arrived at the house. The building is lovely, and the garden was a gem. There was free wifi in the lounge and breakfast room. Breakfast itself was delicious, and set us up for our day exploring the Normandy World War II sights. We also made a side trip to Mont St. Michel, which was only about 1 1/2 hours away.

Bayeux is a lovely little historic town. It is small, with extremely narrow streets that are best explored by foot. There is a huge cathedral there which rivals Notre Dame in size. The town was not touched during the war, so the buildings are ancient, with lots of charm. There are lots of restaurants and bars.

This B & B was perfect in every way, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Normandy area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandLeslie935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
red banks wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights while visiting the DDay Normandy area. We could not have been more pleased! Though built in the 18th century, our room was totally updated and comfortable. The ceilings were high and the windows huge, but the drapes were easy to use for light reduction and the hotel and street outside were very quiet. The bottled water on the mantle was much appreciated and complimentary. A Flat screen TV with separate stereo speakers and new outlets and electrical fixtures were very helpful to stay connected (if you desire) and keep your devices recharged.The bathroom was huge and the fixtures wonderful right down to the towel warmer and hairdryer and bright lighting.
Phillipe and Sophie were gracious hosts during our stay, even with our midnight arrival the first night. Breakfast was delicious in the sunny little red tiled breakfast room, and provided whenever we wanted. There is a delightful little garden area with a little table and chairs where we had tea in the afternoon with the resident marmalade cat, Biscuit.
The hotel is centrally located for easy walking to the retail area, and faces the Charles Degaulle Square. We had dinner twice at a delightful little restaurant called La Marsala two blocks from the hotel, and there were many other dining choices nearby.
I would highly recommend the Hotel Poppa. Thankyou Sophie and Phillipe (and Biscuit)!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina MN
Level Contributor
180 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our traveling group had 3 of the 4 rooms at this lovely B&B and everything was top notch. The owners were charming and welcoming. Bayeux makes a perfect base for exploring Normandy. The rooms were large, comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide selection of breads, cheeses, yogurt and drinks. The lounge was a great place to relax and enjoy being in a beautiful part of France.

The price is a little high for a B&B, but the comfort, quality and friendliness is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed with Sophie and Phillippe for several days, along with another couple, and couldn't have had a better experience. The rooms (1 and 2) were beautifully decorated, elegant and comfortable, with a great mix of old and modern decor. The bathrooms were huge! Breakfast was delightful in the breakfast room facing a charming garden (we were there in October, too cold to eat outside). Our view at night of the lighted Cathedral was superb and the location was perfect for walking around town and visiting the museums (don't miss the spectacular art and history museum as well as the famous Tapestry museum). All in all, a place we hope to return to many times. Sophie and Phillippe have got it exactly right.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank asravello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I endorse the other excellent reviews of this property. The owners really want to make every guest welcome and they succeed. The location is a couple of minutes north of the cathedral and if you're lucky there is free parking outside around the square outside. It is about ten minutes walk to the museum in which the tapestry is displayed.

If we return to Bayeux, we will make sure we stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was lovely. It is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Particulier Poppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Particulier Poppa

Property: Hotel Particulier Poppa
Address: Place de Gaulle | 32, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast Hotel particulier Poppa (XVIII) offers four charming guest rooms. The high windows all offer exceptional views of the beautiful garden, the place Charles de Gaulle, the statue of Poppa and the facade of the cathedral. Sophie and Philippe will welcome you in the lounge and they will be available to help you have a great time in Bayeux. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing