We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank little_emma_100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Beautiful house and grounds. Great location if you have a vehicle. Very friendly and helpful owners. Small and apparently family run, so it was a little awkward when we drug one of the owners out of bed around 6:30 one morning when we were checking out. Wish we had thought that through beforehand. Nonetheless, it was a great stay and I would give it 5 out of 5 if our room had A/C. Pretty much perfect otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossbjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family stayed at Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine for two nights. The setting is beautiful. Contrary to everything I had read about France before visiting, we had found everyone that we met up to this point to be very warm and helpful. The staff at the hotel was a little cool and this was the only time in our vacation where we experienced this in France. We chose not to eat at the hotel as it was a bit pricey and we preferred eating in Bayeux. Unfortunately, these were the hottest days of our trip and the rooms are not air conditioned so for several of my family, it made sleeping a little uncomfortable. They ended up buying a fan to try to cool off. Despite these things, the rooms and the grounds are lovely....very peaceful and if that is what you are looking for, then this is the place. We probably would not stay there again but are glad we experienced it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeElizabeth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place was a find. My wife and daughters graciously agreed to trek out to Normandy as part of our trip to Paris, even though they had no interest in seeing the WWII locales at all. Fortunately, although they were about as impressed with the sites as expected, my wife proclaimed that the chateau made it all worthwhile. There are two buildings - the main chateau and a separate annex that houses the family suites. I booked one of those through booking.com, only to have the property email me the next day that they had none of those rooms available. To their credit, they gave us adjoining rooms in the main chateau for the same price, which was probably better anyway. Those rooms are kind of old, nothing spectacular, but the old windows open up and we had the best view of a very serene stream in the back of the place. The only downside to the rooms is the shower, or lack thereof. They have a tub with the shower attachment - so no standup shower stall.

The location is amazing. Bayeaux is a quaint little town, but the real benefit is being closer to Omaha Beach, Pont du Hoc and the other sites. I would strongly recommend staying in Bayeaux over staying in Caen, which is another 15-20 miles away. The chateau is located just off one of the main roads, so easy access to everything, and as some have said, within walking distance of the main part of Bayeaux (although not a short walk, per se).

The grounds are the best part of the place. Our girls (10 and 8) thoroughly enjoyed every part (and they tried it all) - played tennis, ping pong, rode in the row boat... and the other kids there with other families were equally active. The thing was, though, that the grounds are like a slice of heaven - quiet, lush, lots of flowers, and a wonderful stream/pond with swans (who had just had cygnets 2 days prior), ducks, fish, etc. I have some wonderful photos that I may upload when I return home.

The ONLY negative that I have is the breakfast. European-style (some meats,cheeses, an egg boiler, bread, etc) which would be fine if included in the price, but they charge 14 euros each for it. It's not worth that. Maybe half of that. Anyway, not a big deal, and definitely would not affect my glowing recommendation.

Room Tip: If possible, stay in the main chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayhawkIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Beautiful grounds for sure but the room is just average. We didn't rent a car and the walk into the city is a bit tricky with no sidewalks but doable. You can walk from the train station although we didn't know this upon arrival and cabs are few and far between so plan accordingly. The main lodge was pretty and charming and the food was good. Staff were ok but not too helpful or overly friendly - we had such amazing experiences in the other places we stayed in France in similar remote settings that they just were not in the same ballpark unfortunately. Rooms were clean but not nearly as charming as the property - oddly didn't match the outside at all.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We arrived in the middle of the day, were greeted by two charming ladies and an adorable dog (tethered) and then shown to our magnificent bedroom. It is featured in the brochure and it surpassed expectation. The bathroom was spacious, double washbasins, Villeroy & Boch designer bath with hand held shower and a semi private loo. The heated towel rail was welcome even though it was June. The bed was large, comfortable and the bed linen was supreme.
We had pre-dinner drinks in front of the chateaux with other guests and we soaked in the tranquility and grandeur of this beautiful place. There were swans nesting in the trees at the bottom of the garden and ducks resting by the waterside.
Dinner was excellent and the service was good. They even have an up-market burger on the menu which proved very popular with the North American guests. The cost of dinner and wine was very reasonable and less than many other places we visited on this touring trip. It was lovely not to have to drive into Bayeux which we would have done had the menu been poor or too pricey.
Sadly breakfast was a letdown. We wondered if the chef had not turned up! There was a boiled egg machine with hardly any water in it, when we asked for more water the waiter brought an expensive bottle of cold water to top it up - needless to say we had to wait for a long time to be able to cook our eggs. There was bacon but no scrambled eggs or any eggs apart from the fifteen minute boiled ones. There was no ham left and very little cheese. I had to take cutlery from another table and the waiter didn't seem to be aware that he was supposed to keep checking for guests and their requirements. The buffet table was groaning with self-service equipment but badly spaced, ie controls at the side and nudging against another piece of machinery. Breakfast needs a good manager to sort it out.
Despite the paltry breakfast we loved the Chateau very much and will certainly give it another chance.
On leaving I went in search of Madame Verdier who had greeted us warmly the day before. I really wanted to steal her lovely dog! Neither was in reception but as we were driving off she rushed out to say "au revoir". We shall certainly be staying there again; it makes a good starting point for touring or in our case our last night on French soil for now.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 overlooking a large lawn and trees. No separate shower, just the hand held one ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in a 'Privilege' double room, and, although large, light bulbs were not working in all the lampshades, and the tea and coffee making facilities were without 'coffee' sachets ..... The bathroom, although huge, had a toilet which emitted a rather unfortunate smell seemingly as a result of a faulty extractor fan. However, the worst part of our experience at this hotel was undoubtedly the breakfast (extra at 14 euros per person) which was virtually non-existent when we arrived at approximately 09.10 am, the times for breakfast being 7.30 to 10.00. There was no table laid for us, and we were about to walk out and take breakfast in Bayeux (we should have done this!) when a waiter appeared and laid a table for us so we had to stay. Tthe breakfast buffet was decidedly poor, with very little to choose from, apart from a few rolls and some tiny cartons of preserves, including honey. Unfortunately, when I came to use my pot of honey it was evident that it had already been opened and used by a previous guest, a quite unacceptable state of affairs. We certainly did not stay for breakfast the next morning, and enjoyed a superb breakfast at a small cafe in Bayeux for far less than the price paid at this hotel! The staff were generally not particularly interested in us, and there was little evidence of friendliness or helpfulness from anyone, including the receptionist. We paid 348 euros for the 'privilege' of staying two nights at this hotel which we regard as massively over-priced for the services which we did not receive. This is definitely one to be avoided, particularly as there are many other reasonably priced B&B's in the area. I was seduced by the on-line presentation of the hotel and the grounds were good, especially in sunny weather. Our main 'bleat' is that the price we paid was far, far too high for the standard of service received.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 22 in Bayeux
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 22 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £45 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing