We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, chateau life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at chateau de bellefontaine. Food very nice, breakfast excellent, hardworking staff does an excellent job. We were on the top floor in a triple which had more room and the largest bath I have ever seen in France.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Annflans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Booked 1 night here, wish it was more. Stayed in a duplex room in the annex and was not disappointed. Great room, spacious and loads of windows for the lovely views. Cleanliness was very good. Everything worked. The shower was great.
The grounds are very quaint, with swans and ducks swimming in the ponds. Breakfast was very good. All staff friendly and attentive. Bayeux within 10 minutes walk. The hotel is in a nice quiet area just on edge of town.

one of the best hotels I've stayed at for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel123190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel looks very nice, in an idyllic setting with swans and ducks in a small lake, roses and big trees all around. Be aware that the birds go ashore at night - do not walk barefoot on the lawn unless you are willing to keep a sharp eye out for their droppings.
We had a room in the annex, three stories, no ventilation, lots of sharp edges, amply described by some other reviewers. And they feature my pet hate item in hotels: cheap plastic hangers on those ridiculous "anti theft" plastic hooks. They probably cost about one euro - for a dozen. You have to go outside to get to the main bulding (and breakfast), the hotel has a good supply of umbrellas for rainy days.
The food is variable, with a very nice breakfast buffet. Unfortunately the dinner looked very much like, and probably was, heated in a microwave oven. Meat which has obviously been cooked but is served cold inside is not up to the standard a hotel like this should strive for. Until the cooking has been substantially improved one should stick to breakfast. Fortunately Bayeux center is only a leisurely 15 minute walk away and has several very good restaurants.
The staff is friendly, helpful and always present and secure the third star for this reviewer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobben_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I just returned from France and stayed the first week of the trip at the chateau. It's as lovely as it looks; the house is grand but cozy and it's very quiet. We had a car so I can't honestly say it's an easy walk into Bayeaux. However, it is very close. We booked a triple room and after receiving a confirmation were told that the room was unavailable. They offered us the duplex in the annex which we accepted as there wasn't anything available in town. Although the duplex is open and large it is very awkwardly designed. The toilet and one queen bed is on the first floor. You walk up an open staircase to the middle level where the shower is located and then up another flight to the loft where there is a twin and a sleeper sofa. So during the night, anyone who needs the w.c. has to come down two flights of stairs. The only way to illuminate the stairs is to leave a light on in the bathroom and the w.c. as the landing has no light. The only storage are two closets, one on the first floor and one in the loft. We had a total of six hangers in the suite. I basically lived out of my suitcase. The only way to get fresh air was to open the front door and the french door near the bed, which you couldn't really do at night or while you were gone. The loft had only a skylight which didn't open. It was like a sauna. There were lots of "angles" everywhere; platforms, staircase edges and risers that you had to keep an eye on. This room had too many accidents waiting to happen for a family with kids. The room was very clean though and the bathroom with shower was very nice with a double sink, big shower, and towel warmer. The owners were always very helpful and the buffet breakfast was very good. If you want to stay in a quiet, elegant place, check out their site. I can't vouch for the rooms in "the big house" but I would avoid the duplex unless you are just one couple and you don't mind going up and down scary stairs to the bathroom. I would have preferred staying in Bayeaux with it's great restaurants and shops. It's busy during the day but quiets down in the evening and has so many things to see and do that it would have been much more fun to stay right there. Unfortunately, even though we starting looking three months ahead of our trip, everything in town was booked.

Room Tip: Avoid the duplex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 71_AndreaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Chateau Bellefontaine is a 15 minute walk from the center of Bayeux, but it seems to be out in the country. The grounds are beautiful and include a small lake with swans and ducks. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is fully renovated and in excellent condition. The amenities are generally very good, but there is no shower. (There is a bath.) They have facilities for playing pool and tennis. They also have good WiFi. The staff is helpful. Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander18539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A great location, easy walk into the centre of Bayeux. On the whole peaceful although the train line is nearby. The main house is lovely, we had a two story room in part of the adjacent block. Very nice room. NOTE, wifi only available in the main house not in our room. Service was very French, food not quite up to the standard we expected in a 4 star hotel but adequate.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is beautiful and in a wonderful location. However the dinner was simply awful. We did not expect to be served chips, ratatouille and frozen mange tout and peas with both of our meals, mine a steak and my wife's monkfish. Neither did the lady having the house speciality burger next to us. At 28€ for a main course it was simply shocking. By all means stay at the hotel, just don't eat there. Starters from 12€, the soupe de poisson to 40€. 50cl beer in the garden 10€.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paulnpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £50 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing