We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay mid week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“short stay mid week”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Home from home staff friendly and efficient lovely and good sized room we choose to have dinner first night and enjoyed it and opted to have it again second night.the garden was romantic with moat full with ducks and swans.was a short walk to town centre will go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank nogobzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    166
    76
    28
    9
See reviews for
107
226
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here recently as part of the Brittany Ferries three nights for the price of two deal.
Very good value for money. Some previous reviews have been unnecessarily harsh and critial.
Our room was spcaious and comfortable. The setting as previous reviewers have said is delightful, calm and peaceful. The walk into Bayeux is an easy one and takes about 15 to 20 mins. We ate in Bayeux each evening, walking both there and back. However as others have said, breakfast was a bit chaotic but somehow added to the charm of the place !!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14 which had a view of the rear grounds. Nice and quiet. Bed comfortable, but two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CymroSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a total of 3 nights, which was one day longer than the original plan because we liked the property so much. The grounds are lovely and the rooms are very well-appointed and comfortable. We were in a Traditional Room with a lovely view at the back of the main building. Although we did not eat dinner in the restaurant, we did partake of the optional breakfast and it was very well done. The bathroom was spacious with a roomy tub and a spray wand, but not a traditional shower.

The swans and ducks were fun to watch. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It is hard to conceive of a better place to stay in Bayeux than the CBF. Driving through the wrought iron gates and seeing the chateau for the first time one cannot help but exclaim: "Wow, we're really in France!' The setting of the chateau, surrounded by gardens and water fowl filled ponds, seems straight out of a movie shoot. The rooms are large and filled with some really nice amenities. There is also a large modern elevator. The staff went out of their way to accommodate-even putting up with my childish attempt to make myself understood in French. They have a restaurant-which we did not use-and a service bar-which we did. Having draft beer("a la pression") was a nice treat. The location is just ever so slightly outside of the town center. Close enough for easy, quick access but just far enough to give the place a serene, pleasant, country side atmosphere. One could even walk to town if one had the time.( a little less than a mile). We considered the cost modest considering all the many things the Chateau de Bellefontaine has going for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I am very sorry to be writing a poor review and maybe our high expectations let this establishment down but I don't think so.

I had booked this chateau as a highlight on a week long driving trip around Normandy with our other accommodation venues being B&Bs. We had hoped this would be the highlight. Could not have been so wrong, the B&Bs at half the price left this establishment for dead for quality and service.

Initial reaction is a pleasant location and nice room looking out over the stream and gardens. However, the room despite a huge bath only had a hand held shower over the bath, filthy stained carpets, pathetic hair dryer and paint work running down the windows. For the price not really acceptable.

Thinking the chateau was out of town when we arrived, we booked for dinner at the chateau. Wrong - the chateau is only a short 15 minute walk into town. Dinner was terrible - the worst in a whole month of travelling - the wine service was something that makes Basil Fawlty look like an expert. Wine (expensive) was delivered to our table, uncorked, no tasting - fine for a cheap eats but at a restaurant in a chateau the wine should have been uncorked at the table and the opportunity to taste before serving provided. Then the food was served - dried out roast chicken which made KFC look good!

The service on checking out was at best disinterested (the dead goldfish in the fishbowl probably a reflection of their attention to detail) so we settled up and got out of there, glad it was only one night and would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Château de Bellefontaine is waiting for you...
you cannot imagine what you will discover there: A very beautiful castle very well decorated, very clean with beautiful and large rooms. Arriving at the hotel you are immediately welcomed at the desk with a smiling staff. rooms are spacious with a lot of amenities. we have reserved a wheelchair accessible room which was... fully accessible. I've never seen a bathroom so lage with a huge roll-in and all the space you could need for three persons using a wheelchair in the same time in the bathroom. My wife was saying: the bahtroom is so large that we could sleep there... :)

Breakfast are served every morning in a very charming room near the lobby. This is something like a huge buffet with all you could desire. We had diner at the restaurant of the hotel which provides very good food at a reasonable prize.

We have loved the hotel, not only for what we found inside the hotel but also about the gorgeous gardens where you can see beautiful flowers (mostly roses of all colors) and so many kind of ducks. this was fantastic to observe them, having a drink outside in the garden. beautiful place to take pictures that will become among the best of your collection. Nothing less. forget other hotels in Bayeux. If you compare the rate ask by Chateau De Bellefontaine you will always return there for your future stay in Basse Normandie. I only can highly and warmly recommend this hotel. You will appreciate it for sure. This is like the hidden secret of Bayeux. But today with this review this will become less secret :)

Room Tip: If there is availibility ask for a room with view on the garden. you will appreciate to se ducks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at chateau de bellefontaine. Food very nice, breakfast excellent, hardworking staff does an excellent job. We were on the top floor in a triple which had more room and the largest bath I have ever seen in France.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annflans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Property: Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing