We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but better to stay in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A beautiful setting but out of town thus limiting dining options unless you drive. Public areas (restaurant, bar) are attractive but a bit formal.

Large and comfortable room (ours was in the main Chateau), large and comfortable bed, large and comfortable bathroom! Towels rather miserably thin.

Didn't eat breakfast, which seemed quite expensive, and there are plenty of other options in Bayeux. Ate in the restaurant both nights as we didn't fancy driving into town after long days of sightseeing and feet not up to a 20 minute walk! Table d'hote is decent value but doesn't change on a daily basis, a la carte expensive. Wine expensive. Service in the restaurant varied between acceptable on the first night and dreadful on the second - over an hour for the starter to arrive (1 soup and 1 salad!).

I found front desk staff helpful despite comments from other reviewers but I speak good French and the staff speak very little English. My husband, who speaks only a little French, says he would have struggled on his own. Rather a shortcoming in a hotel that accommodates mostly English speaking guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

While often visiting Bayeux we had not heard of this hotel until recently. However we are happy that our usual hotel was full and we found this delightful place. The location is lovely and although very close to the town it seems miles away. The lake and gardens make it very peaceful.
The hotel is classic old French and well presented. The staff were very pleasant and helpful which was a surprise after reading some of the negative comments!
The food was excellent and would have been worth a visit for dinner alone; served very proficiently by a single waiter!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Staff was wonderful rooms were huge bathrooms bigger. Could not have had a better stay. My parents had a handicapped room that met their needs perfectly. Was a great base for Normandy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: When needing a handicap room email prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lido2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had rooms in the main building, up in the roof space, very nice our room had loads of the old beams visible. Room was very comfortable and nice and quiet. Hotel has a lift to all floors so no problem there. Hotel is out of town in a very nice country setting, not far to walk into town, but as one of our party had mobility problems we ate in. I think that the hotel was let down a bit with the dinner menu, it seems it's the same menu all week. The breakfast however was very good and taken in a very nice breakfast room. If you do stay here, take time to look at the great selection of ducks on the river, there is a book in the lounge to help identifying them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John from sunny Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The main historical building is nice and has some big and pleasant rooms. The main building has the typical French charm. Not the most contemporary rooms but pleasant enough. We were first booked in the separate annex but we didn't want to stay there and asked for a change of rooms which was granted without any problems. The annex is definitely not the place where you want to stay as this is a colorless building with rooms devoid of any atmosphere. The hotel restaurant is good and also the breakfast is fine. There is wifi but only for one device which is a bit cumbersome. It is a 20 minute walk to the old center of Bayeux and it is not a particularly interesting walk. The next day we drove. Staff was friendly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a terrific small hotel, located about 15 minutes walk from central Bayeux. It has plenty of parking and easy access to the main roads, but is very quiet and charming. The grounds are lovely - ponds, geese/ducks, flowers. The staff is friendly and very welcoming. There's a very nice restaurant if you don't feel like driving or walking to town, and all the expected conveniences (WiFi, breakfast). The location is about half an hour from the D-Day beaches, and no more than two hours from most other major Normandy sites. And of course Bayeux itself is a good destination with plenty of restaurants and its own sights to see.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GottaLottaMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights while visiting Normandy area. It is about a 10 minute walk into town or to the train station. We had a large room with a seating area which definitely needed updating. The beds pushed together to make a king size bed seemed old and were uncomfortable. The bedding also seemed dated. The rug needed replacing. While everything was clean, it just seemed old. The bathroom on the other hand was updated, spacious and nice. The room itself had nice amenities to include wine, calvados, snacks, and nice bath products. Don't even think of using the hairdryer!!! I tried to dry my hair, but gave up the airflow was so weak. Avoid washing hair if you need a hairdryer.

Breakfast was fine, not great, but fine. No, it was not included and seemed a bit pricey at 14 euro per person, but it had eggs (you boil yourself), pancakes (you make yourself), yogurts, meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, juices, cereal, bacon and potatoes. Basically everything you need.

Dinner in the dining room however was delicious!!!! We didn't even know they served dinner. When we checked in they asked if we would like to have a table for dinner. The first night we ate in town, but the second night at the Chateau. Make sure you let them know early you want a table...don't think you can just walk in last minute. We didn't know what to expect, but we walked into a beautifully elegant dining room with formally set tables. Every table was occupied. The food was excellent as was the service. There was one young man waiting on the 8-10 tables and he was working extremely hard. Sometimes had to ask for things twice, but he had his hands full so it was okay. I don't know if the dinner is only for hotel guests as I don't see it listed in the Bayeux restaurants, but it was great!!!!

The Chateau public areas and grounds were beautiful. Just the room we had needed updating, not sure about other rooms. I read about the "not too friendly woman"...I know exactly who they are referring to. Please know she was fine, but not overly friendly and outgoing...think it's just her personality. Everyone else was very nice.

Personally I would have preferred to stay right in town for convenience, but this was a nice alternative and I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £50 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing