We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Churchill”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just returned from our first trip to France which included Bayeux. My interpretation of the Hotel Churchill is that it is the quintessential French hotel in the Normandy region. We had a fantastic stay and the location, staff, comfort, cleanliness, and breakfast could not have been any better. There was some confusion on our reservation and they couldn't have been any nicer about it. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Also, the pick up location for a lot of the tours are right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjd8331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

As the name may imply this hotel is decorated with a lot of WWII memorablia.
We had a nice stay and enjoyed both the breakfast buffe and an afternoon drink in the sunny backyard very much.
There are a public parking lot in the back where you have to feed the meters 9-12 and 14-19.
Excellent wifi

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our family (8 of us) from the United States did a night at the Hotel Churchill. Very charming Hotel right in the middle of Bayeux! Very clean! Staff was very accommodating and friendly. If you are going to do Bayeux, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I had a delightful 2-night stay this past week. After an easy walk from the train station, we received a warm welcome and a were shown to a clean and comfortable room with excellent free wifi. The room itself was in very good condition; nicely decorated and fresh. The bathroom was small, but just fine, bright and modern, with a corner enclosed shower, good water pressure, a strong hair dryer, and a separate small heater which we didn't need to use, but it did work. My husband did mention that he was glad the shower wasn't any smaller. The hotel is in a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring every inch of the neighborhood. We were also happy to discover that our D-Day tour met just down the street. Make sure to set aside some time to look at all of the photographs on the walls. We were on the 1st floor and did not hear any noise at night during our stay. We liked the character and atmosphere at the Churchill and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter, son and I had great time the Churchhill Hotel. Eric is friendly, knowledgable, has a good sense of humor, and his English is excellent. Our room was immaculate, spacious, with an area to sit outside and enjoy the local wine. Location was excellent where you can walk to restaurants, shopping and a laundromat across from a wine bar. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Three nights at the Churchill Hotel and we would certainly book it again. The location is perfect for walking to the Bayeux Cathedral, the Tapestry Museum, grocery store, restaurants, shops and the pick up place for all tours. All of these were within 3 blocks of the hotel. The train station is a short walk or you can get a cab. If we had not been so tired and the wind so nippy, we would have walked from the train station to the hotel. We booked tours to Mont Saint Michel and the D-Day beaches from home but the hotel offers these tours as well. Our stay was March 27- March 30, 2014. The weather was sunny and 60's.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank PhyllisNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Patricia, who turned out to be an owner, was very accommodating in wisking us to our room and assuring us that they would keep an eye on the gentleman who had wanted to share a cab, or when we decided we would just walk - decided he would walk with us to the hotel...at which point we decided we needed to wander inside awhile until he left. Maybe it was nothing and the movie "TAKEN" was too fresh in our minds. Anyway, we were quite comfortable in our room. Decent size, particularly for Paris. Only a couple English speaking channels on the TV, but free internet and decent size, clean bathroom. In the current bone chilling rain and cold, the very responsive heating systems with in room control was much appreciated. There are robes in the room, also a welcoming touch. We have been travelling for awhile and this felt like the first comfortable home base we've had in some time. Good lighting in room from tall windows.

Very pleased that the Normandy Tour comes to pick us up from the lobby http://www.normandy-sightseeing-tours.com/en/

Further, you can schedule a trip on the hotel's shuttle to Mont Saint Michel - that trip is an experience I had wanted to do, but wasn't clear how to do on my own. Very convenient option.

Staff very patient in helping me with not only restaurant recommendations and directions (I have no sense of direction), but also in finalizing travel plans to take the ferry from Caen to Portsmouth in order to get to London, instead of having to take the Rail back to Paris, and then all the way back to London (backtracking the 2 hours by train into Paris, and taking another train back to London). He suggested the overnight journey, which seems a good idea - and with a room on the ferry, is cheaper than what I'd spend for a hotel night.

I can hear a bit of noise when the people are in their room above me (they got in and were rumbling around between midnight and 1 a.m. last night - floor creaking - but other than that, no noise issues that I've noticed. Comfortable beds worth mentioning more than once - and the room is very clean. Draperies, bedding, carpet, furniture, all in good condition. Very pleasant here. I am here with my daughter, but would find this a romantic spot as well if my husband would ever take off work. :) Its a nice hotel in a very quaint, lovely old city. I'm told Bayeux is one of the few towns not bombed so if you enjoy old towns, you will be charmed by Bayeux.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kri o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing