We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, but needs an update.”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, but needs an update.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this historical hotel, but it is need of an update. The carpets are worn and the room had a musty smell. I mentioned it at checkout and suggested they check the air conditioner, perhaps it needed a new filter? They told me the air conditioner was new, which surprised me. Also, the bedspread needed to be cleaned as I found stains on mine when I rolled it down before bed. I also mentioned this at checkout, and they thanked me and said they would clean it. The people in the hotel are lovely and the WWII memorabilia is wonderful to look at. Hotel is also located in a prime location for the Normandy beaches, which is why we were there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    377
    82
    18
    7
See reviews for
310
523
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice and helpful service. Great value for money. Clean, quite and authentic. Great location and extremely charming interior. Lots of WW2 pictures and always stories to follow by the staff - true memory lane feeling. Easy access to the D-Day activities. Was here 70 years after the D-Day, the City was celebrating and the hotel was right in the centre ville. Highly recommendable - if you're interested in World War 2 or just seeing a charming part of France.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank didi1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Bayeux is a town in serious need of more good hotels!

The pro's:
-The location of the Hotel Churchill can't be beat -- right in the center of beautiful Bayeux, between the cathedral square and the business street.
-The breakfast is nicely served in a pretty room (although perhaps a bit on the stingy side).
-Some of the rooms are quite gracious.

The con's:
-While some people here laud the older man and the younger man who work the desk I found them to be amateurish and (in the case of the older gentleman) really patronizing.
-No elevator, with rooms going up to the fourth floor (American).
-Everything is dated and in need of refurbishment.

Having stayed here twice and at the Novotel once I much prefer the Novotel. The staff there is more professional and helpful. The location is not as good but the rooms are much nicer at Novotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibbieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while doing tours of the D Day landings in Normandy.
Very helpful staff, comfy bedroom with adequate bathroom. Only drawback no elevator, but that was not a problem in this 1850 building. Continental breakfast served, no restaurant, but right on the square where tours take of from and close to Bayeux tapestry and cathedral and dozens of restaurants.
Really enjoyed my stay in this lovely town undamaged during the war..

Room Tip: All rooms quit, mine was on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Got here on a Thursday afternoon and there was only one room left, a cozy, romantic loft room at a very reasonable price, including a great breakfast. The location is perhaps the best in Bayeux, and the staff was extremely pleasant (in particular the night receptionist/bartender/concierge) :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our family of 5 recently stayed at the Churchill. We were able to stay in one room which is unusual in Europe. Our room had a lofted area. The hotel is old but, charming and quaint and full of character and although old, it was clean. It is located centrally in town as well as perfectly situated to sight see the D-Day beaches or head to Mont-St- Michel. Breakfast is available, the staff it friendly and helpful. You have to pay a small fee for parking with the exception of Sunday. And something new for us, you need to leave your key when you go out, hung on a vintage key rack. This was a little unsettling, not sure how they keep track of whose is whose and it is not behind the desk. With that being said it was a great experience, we loved the history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently returned from a trip to Bayeux and had booked the Churchill due to TripAdvisor reviews. What a disappointment. Here is the good: Wonderful young man and older gentleman at front desk were very nice and accomodating. For them, I would give 5 stars! (and the only reason this hotel got 2 stars) Location is good - however Bayeux is small and there were many hotels close by. Now for the room- old and tired looking, musty, drapes hanging off of window, and carpet needed to be vaccummed. We had come to Bayeux from Paris specifically for a Normandy tour which was leaving the following morning. Our tour started at 8:30am so we paid for our room the night before and also bought their breakfast as it was a Sunday and we didn't know what was open and how long it would take us. We got up early Sunday morning to shower but that was not to be. I ran water in the tub and realized the water was not going down. My husband immediately went downstairs to get help. A man came up and tried to fix the drain as it was stuck. He apologized and said he could not fix it. He also stated that they had had this same problem the week before. (Really? Why wasn't it fixed? ) We asked if another room was available but he said they were full. He also told us the owner knew how to fix it but was busy downstairs getting breakfast ready and could not be disturbed and would not come up. We immediately started washing up in the sink as by now 1/2 hour had gone by and we needed to make our tour bus on time. Naturally, while washing in the sink, water spilled on the floor. I went to wipe it up and was shocked at how dirty the towel was! Finally, the owner or woman - don't know who she was comes upstairs. By this time, we are dressed. They go into the bathroom, work on it awhile, and finally fix it. When she came out she told me it was fixed. I told her we didn't have time to shower as we had to be on time for our tour- she just looked at me and said "Sorry!" very nastily.
We went down for breakfast - if you could call it that. Rolls, cereal, and what looked like canned fruit. We ate very little as we were rushing to get to our tour.
There was no offer to refund the money we spent for this room. When I rent a room, I expect to have a working shower- not a bath in the sink! Find another hotel in Bayeux - you will be much happier!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank counselor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Propriétaire at Hotel Churchill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We apologize for the problem you had with the bath water that did not drain
The lady of the staff and the night clerk went to faster than it was 7 02 am, it was enough to turn the discharge button and it worked well
this is a problem that customers often because it is a system they do not know how to use but it works very well, you just turn in the right direction
You say that you took your shower in the sink but this is not possible because there was water in the tub
the lady told she was sorry while being polite but just a little upset because she was very busy with breakfast
your husband was more understanding and friendly and when you check out, you have not reported and did not complain
We are listening to our reviews clents to improve our service and maintain our good reputation
We prefer as you say that clients in bad faith staying in other hotels and not at churchill.
Eric PEAN The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing