We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel!”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on an unexpected trip to Bayeux. The man at the desk was so nice and helpful and even spoke English which was such a relief after days of struggling to communicate. The hotel is small and charming and very well located. After one night I wished I could stay here longer instead of continuing on my journey. I will definitely plan to stay here on my next trip to France.

Room Tip: We were right by the courtyard and thought it might be noisy but it was not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here during a short trip from Paris for a D-Day tour. We came by train. The hotel was an easy 10 minute walk from the train station. We had a triple room which was clean and comfortable. Bathroom clean and modern and functional. Location could not be better, right in middle of downtown and next to the excursion departure point in Place de Quebec. Breakfast choices were limited but good. Staff was very friendly and professional. For a short stay in Normandy this place cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FLAGator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a fabulous hotel, run by a splendid chap called Eric who meets you at check-in and makes you feel very welcome. The hotel is beautiful inside & out and is situated in the heart of Bayeux - minutes to walk to several great bars/restaurants and of course the Cathedral. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizctscpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We loved this historical hotel, but it is need of an update. The carpets are worn and the room had a musty smell. I mentioned it at checkout and suggested they check the air conditioner, perhaps it needed a new filter? They told me the air conditioner was new, which surprised me. Also, the bedspread needed to be cleaned as I found stains on mine when I rolled it down before bed. I also mentioned this at checkout, and they thanked me and said they would clean it. The people in the hotel are lovely and the WWII memorabilia is wonderful to look at. Hotel is also located in a prime location for the Normandy beaches, which is why we were there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice and helpful service. Great value for money. Clean, quite and authentic. Great location and extremely charming interior. Lots of WW2 pictures and always stories to follow by the staff - true memory lane feeling. Easy access to the D-Day activities. Was here 70 years after the D-Day, the City was celebrating and the hotel was right in the centre ville. Highly recommendable - if you're interested in World War 2 or just seeing a charming part of France.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank didi1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Bayeux is a town in serious need of more good hotels!

The pro's:
-The location of the Hotel Churchill can't be beat -- right in the center of beautiful Bayeux, between the cathedral square and the business street.
-The breakfast is nicely served in a pretty room (although perhaps a bit on the stingy side).
-Some of the rooms are quite gracious.

The con's:
-While some people here laud the older man and the younger man who work the desk I found them to be amateurish and (in the case of the older gentleman) really patronizing.
-No elevator, with rooms going up to the fourth floor (American).
-Everything is dated and in need of refurbishment.

Having stayed here twice and at the Novotel once I much prefer the Novotel. The staff there is more professional and helpful. The location is not as good but the rooms are much nicer at Novotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibbieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while doing tours of the D Day landings in Normandy.
Very helpful staff, comfy bedroom with adequate bathroom. Only drawback no elevator, but that was not a problem in this 1850 building. Continental breakfast served, no restaurant, but right on the square where tours take of from and close to Bayeux tapestry and cathedral and dozens of restaurants.
Really enjoyed my stay in this lovely town undamaged during the war..

Room Tip: All rooms quit, mine was on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Essenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 22 in Bayeux
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean | Place de Québec en voiture, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. And since June 2018, the hotel has built 14 new beautiful rooms in new part, with Privilege rooms and Junior suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing