We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Bayeux”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2006

Spent three nights here with my family in September '06 and was pleased that this was our home-base in Normandy.

The hotel is located in the heart of Bayeux, a ten-minute walk from the train station. Signage for the hotel is clearly evident upon leaving the station area, so you know exactly where to head immediately.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the hotel owner, who was most gracious and welcoming. He offered to have our bags brought up to our room (no elevator), but we enjoyed bounding up the stairs and viewing all of the b&w photos of allied troops in Bayeux ca. 1944.

Continental breakfast is a good deal here, served with flair by attentive waiters.

The hotel's parking lot is convenient to be picked up by D-Day Tour Groups, all of which seem to offer the same general program.

A great benefit is the hotel's central location - to the left and right restaurants and shops, five minute walk to the Tapistry and Cathedral, and right next door to a Super Market, where you can stock up on wine, picnic items or in-room snacks.

If you stay anywhere else in Bayeux, you'll pass the Churchill Hotel and wished you had stayed there. We're glad we did and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2006

We spent 2 wonderful nights in this hotel last august. The room was clean, comfortable and very well equipped (there is even flat TV screen !), . We a lot appreciated the location of the hotel, next to tourism office, the tapisserie de Bayeux and a lot of good restaurants. At last, the owners, who speak English, welcomed us very well, recommanding us all the "to do" places around. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vasantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

My son and I stayed there on a recent visit to the Normandy D-Day sights.We were originally going to stay in Caen foor this, but were much happier with our deciion to be in bayeau. It is much prettier and has more "French Flavor".
This was a most charming hotel, very clean with friendly staff. We were delighted to discover a main street behind the hotel, close enough to visist, far enough not to be noisy. It was a colorful place on Wedneday market and Staurday market. It has many interesting places too eat.
Bayeux is small, but it is close to everything. A brief walk to the (amazing) cathedral, to the Tapestry, market, even to the British war cemetery.
Breakfasts were the typical petite desjeunier, a nice way to begin the day.
Rooms were clean and hotel was quiet.
I reccomend it and would return if I went back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Just recnetly returned from a trip to Normandy, France where we stayed at the Hotel Churchill in Bayeaux. The owners, Rima and Francoise Hebert, were the most gracious hosts I've encountered (and this comes from someone who travels extensively for business). They were very accomodating and their restaurant recommendations were right on the mark. Everyone on the staff was equally as nice.

The location is perfrect for touring the Normandy beaches and yet it's located in the quaint section of Bayeaux on a pedistrian street lined with gorgeous flowers and loaded with nice shops and fabulous restaurants. You can walk through their parking lot to the famous Tapestry and the cathedrale is also nearby.

The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. The hotel provides a continental breakfast for their guests and they have one of the best hotel gift shops I've ever seen with nice gifts and not junky souvenirs.

Take a look - you'll love the place and the hospitality.

15  Thank texascajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank exploradora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Twoesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 22 in Bayeux
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 22 in Bayeux
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 22 in Bayeux
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean | Place de Québec en voiture, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: £65 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. And since June 2018, the hotel has built 14 new beautiful rooms in new part, with Privilege rooms and Junior suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing